Wednesday, November 5, 2008

High Desert names All-Star soccer teams

Cutthroats take 2008 honors

Six Community School soccer players have been named to 2008 High Desert Soccer Conference All-Star boys' and girls' teams, as voted upon by coaches Wednesday, Oct. 29.

Cutthroat All-Star girls' were senior Marin Shepardson, sophomores Kelly Hennessy and Emma Wilander, and freshman Teagen Palmer. Boys were senior Alex Conn and junior Tanner Flanigan.

Here is the list:

High Desert All-Star girls

Community School: Marin Shepardson, Kelly Hennessy, Emma Wilander (12 goals) and Teagen Palmer (25 goals).

Bliss: Alex Campos, Ariel Burk, Alma Rosales and Carla Diaz.

Buhl: Autumn Yturbe, Mercedes Pearson, Kristin Fahrenwald and Aleigh Hunsaker.

Declo: Monica Gillette.

Filer: Ari Wright, Amber Humphrey and Katie Williams.

Gooding: Amanda Bento.

Wendell: Whitney Sams and Jaci Lancaster.

Both High Desert champion Buhl (14-3-1) and conference runner-up Community School (12-8-1) went 0-2 in the State 3A girls' soccer tournament Oct. 23-24 in Caldwell.

High Desert All-Star boys

Community School: Alex Conn (a record 73 varsity starts) and Tanner Flanigan (11 goals, 48 career).

Bliss: JJ Barroso, Cole Erkins, Erik Guttierez and Alex Cortez.

Buhl: Cade Baugh, Juan Hernandez and Santiago Moreno.

Declo: Erik Henrickson.

Filer: Anthony Hafliger and Jesus Mejia.

Gooding: Danny Lopez, Andres Valdez and Scott Zarate.

Wendell: Rafael Alvarez, Victor Gonzalez, Miguel Orozco and Miguel Sarabia.

High Desert runner-up Bliss (13-6-1) won the State 3A consolation title over High Desert king Wendell (12-3-2). The Cutthroats were 4-8-5.

JV soccer players get awards

Wood River High School's girls' junior varsity soccer team held its team awards banquet recently to celebrate an 11-2-1 season during which the Wolverines outscored opponents 59-5, with 10 shutouts.

Here are the awards:

Leadership Award—Meagan Carey. Purple Heart—Brenda Barriga. Timex—EmmaJane Dilley. Top Gun Award (most goals, 12)—Shaylee Foley.

Cannon Award—Sierra Fox. Marathon Award—Mia Jefferson. Energizer Bunny—Karlie Jeneson. MasterCard—Hannah Lynch. Survivor Award—Hunter Thompson.

Most Valuable Player—Maddie Bates. Lifesaver—Emmalie Dion. Playdoh Award—Noe Garing. Gladiator—Hannah Haupt. Magician—Erin Murphy.

Most Improved Player—Isabelle Thornton. Mia Hamm Award—Sheridan Velazquez. Velcro Award—Lucy Paisley. Red Cross Award—Nicole Roos. Road Runner—Amanda Stelling. The Wall Award—Cheyenne Swanson. Prudential Rock—Hayley Thompson.

Could WRHS, CSchool soccer rivalry be over?

One of the most durable high school soccer rivalries in Idaho could be over, a victim of changing student enrollments and shifting conferences.

Wood River High School athletic director John Rade contacted Community School athletic director John Remington on Oct. 31, informing Remington that Wood River will have to drop The Community School in girls' and boys' soccer for the 2009 fall season.

Rade said the reason was Wood River will participate in a new six-team Great Basin West Conference starting in 2009 with the addition of two 4A schools from Twin Falls.

Such a conference alignment would mean that 10 of the maximum 18 regular-season games would be league games, compared to six now.

The Community School competes in the seven-school 3A High Desert Soccer Conference featuring schools with considerably fewer students than 4A Wood River. So the Cutthroats have 12 league games, home-and-home, out of the 18 maximum.

This fall, there were bad feelings between the Hailey public school and Sun Valley independent school after a vandalism incident at Browning Field in Elkhorn that coincided with Wood River's girls' and boy's soccer games against the host Cutthroats.

Dating to 1983, the Wood River-Community School boys' soccer series has featured 55 games over 25 seasons and has been played yearly except for 2004—Wood River holding a 32-20-3 edge. The girls' series of 23 games over 12 seasons started in 1993, Wood River dominating recently and now up 15-3-5.

 Local Weather 
Search archives:

Copyright © 2019 Express Publishing Inc.   Terms of Use   Privacy Policy
All Rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Express Publishing Inc. is prohibited. 

The Idaho Mountain Express is distributed free to residents and guests throughout the Sun Valley, Idaho resort area community. Subscribers to the Idaho Mountain Express will read these stories and others in this week's issue.