local weather Click for Sun Valley, Idaho Forecast
 front page
 public meetings

 previous edition

 express jobs
 about us
 advertising info
 classifieds info
 internet info
 sun valley central
 sun valley guide
 real estate guide
 sv catalogs
Produced & Maintained by Idaho Mountain Express, Box 1013, Ketchum, ID 83340-1013 
208.726.8060 Voice
208.726.2329 Fax

Copyright © 2003 Express Publishing Inc.
All Rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Express Publishing Inc. is prohibited. 

Wednesday, April 28, 2004


Engl, Odmark awards and more

Alpine team honors athletes

Nearly 200 athletes, coaches and family members filled the Sun Valley Inn Limelight Room April 15 for the Sun Valley Ski Education Foundation’s alpine team awards banquet for the 2003-04 winter season.

One highlight was a series of speeches given by seven seniors that were highlights of their personal experiences with the ski team over the years. They saluted all the people who made it possible.

Fellow Sun Valley “B” team girls present balloons to Elitsa Storey during the recent SVSEF awards banquet, in honor of Elitsa qualifying for the U.S. Disabled Ski Team. Pictured, left to right, are Lauren Rust, Kate Sawicz, Elitsa Storey, Laura Speck, Lauren Parsons and Charlie Baser. Courtesy photo by Janis Storey

The Sigi and Peggy Engl Award, first presented in 1984 and the most prestigious award given by the SVSEF, went to: "A" team, Amy Alexander and Kristian Timmons; "B" team, Lauren Parsons and Corey Bellinger; and "C" travel team, Allison Rust and Willie Adicoff.

Recipients of the Leif Odmark Award for Good Sportsmanship, given since 1998, were: "A" team, Lauren Eder and Dixon Mooseau; "B" team, Laura Speck and Travis Stone; and "C" travel team, Allison Rust and Chase Caulkins.

Coaches MVP awards for those with great attitudes went to: "A" team, Charlotte Gourlay and Hunter Storey; "B" team, Elitsa Storey and Willi Cannell; and "C" team, Emily O’Reilly and Tanner Farrow.

Most Improved chosen by coaches were: "A" team, Cassidy Doucette and Cam Minor; "B" team, Natalie Hague and Michael Greer; and "C" travel team, Jessie Jarvis and Chance McCroskey.

Voted by teammates and coaches as Most Inspirational were: "A" team, Charlotte Gourlay and Hunter Storey; "B" team, Laura Speck and Corey Bellinger; and "C" travel team, Maddie duPont and Bergen Palmer.

Tanner Farrow was the recipient of the Howard Dean Scholarship.

Also announced at the banquet were racers who have qualified to move from the "B" to the "A" team. They were Lauren Parsons, Elitsa Storey and Willi Cannell. Marissa Dreyer will move from the "C" Travel Team to the "B" Team.


City of Ketchum

Formula Sports


Edmark GM Superstore : Nampa, Idaho

Premier Resorts Sun Valley

High Country Property Rentals

The Idaho Mountain Express is distributed free to residents and guests throughout the Sun Valley, Idaho resort area community. Subscribers to the Idaho Mountain Express will read these stories and others in this week's issue.