local weather Click for Sun Valley, Idaho Forecast
 front page
 public meetings

 previous edition

 express jobs
 about us
 advertising info
 classifieds info
 internet info
 sun valley central
 sun valley guide
 real estate guide
 sv catalogs
Produced & Maintained by Idaho Mountain Express, Box 1013, Ketchum, ID 83340-1013 
208.726.8060 Voice
208.726.2329 Fax

Copyright © 2003 Express Publishing Inc.
All Rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Express Publishing Inc. is prohibited. 

Wednesday, March 17, 2004


Rixon, Parsons shine in New Diamond Sun

During Lane Parrish Memorial weekend

Carl Rixon Jr. and Lauren Parsons, children of Sun Valley ski patrolmen, won Sunday’s New Diamond Sun super giant slalom race that served as the culmination of the 12th annual Lane Parrish Memorial race weekend on the Warm Springs side of Baldy.

New Diamond Sun men’s winner Carl Rixon Jr. tears down the course Sunday. Express photo by Willy Cook

Rixon (1:29:90) outdistanced runner-up J.J. Hanley (1.31:81) and third-place Matt Murphy (1.32:75) in the men’s race. Women’s champ Parsons (1:39.13) was faster than runner-up and last year’s Parrish Memorial overall winner Langely McNeal (1:39.96).

The Parrish Memorial was a fundraiser for the Hailey Ski Team and Sun Valley Freestyle Team. It is named for the famed skier and stuntman who died in 1990 at the age of 33.

The top 10 men and top five women from Sunday’s Lane Parrish SG raced later in the day for cash prizes in the New Diamond Sun "Dash for Cash." And that’s what Rixon and Parsons won.

Lauren Parsons, New Diamond Sun women’s winner. Express photo by Willy Cook

Mogul skiing on Roundhouse Slope kicked off the weekend Saturday. The super giant slalom Sunday started from the top of the Upper Greyhawk cat track and ran along Cozy, through Hemingway and down to the Lower Greyhawk finish line.


Here are the Lane Parrish combined winners from last weekend:

Men: Austin Bourret and North Parker (J2), Tim Marsano (Veterans), Hank Minor, Justin Peterson and Josh Zuck (Middles), Sam Colesworthy (J1) and Danny Walton (telemark).

Combined silver medalists were Deeder Petersen, Tyler Chandler, Ben Luck and John David Davidson. Bronze medalists in combined were Austin Moses, Neil Jessen, Tom West and Jeff Page.

Women: Sierra Brand (J2), Gretchen Flint (Veterans), Christine Cordeau (Middles), Lauren Phillips and McKeanna Collins (J1).

Combined silver medalists were Camille Bourret, Joanne Zwingenberg and Sonja Mandeville. Bronze medalists in combined were Alexandra Haupt, Aunika Phillips, Hannah Haupt, Jane Reynolds, Langely McNeal and Meghan Luck.



Men: 1—Carl Rixon Jr. 1:29.90. 2—J.J. Hanley 1:31.81. 3—Matt Murphy 1:32.75. 4—Dewey Moss 1:32.82. 5—Sean Higgins 1:33.05. 6—Tyler Chandler 1:33.81. 7—Hank Minor 1:33.98. 8—Slater Storey 1:34.09. 9—Miles Fink-Debray 1:34.58. 10—Biche Rudigoz 1:35.81.

Women: 1—Lauren Parsons 1:39.13. 2—Langely McNeal 1:39.96. 3—Amy Alexander 1:40.31. 4—Natalie Hague 1:42.10. DSQ—Katie Rothgeb.



Men (top 20): 1—Carl Rixon Jr. 1:29.63. 2—Matt Murphy 1:31.07. 3—J.J. Hanley 1:31.77. 4—Sean Higgins 1:31.82. 5—Biche Rudigoz 1:32.90. 6—Hank Minor 1:33.78. 7—Dewey Moss 1:34.93. 8—Tyler Chandler 1:34.94. 9—Miles Fink-Debray 1:35.03. 10—Slater Storey 1:35.47.

11—Ben Luck 1:36.54. 12—Jan Hegewald 1:36.85. 13—Griffin Post 1:36.95. 14—Colby Grantstrom 1:37.16. 15—Ken Dreyer 1:37.41. 16—Deeder Petersen 1:37.71. 17—Dillon Witmer 1:37.91. 18—John Anderson 1:38.56. 19—Sean Murphy 1:38.70. 20—Nick Maricich 1:39.16.

Women (top 10): 1—Lauren Parsons 1:38.60. 2—Langely McNeal 1:39.60. 3—Amy Alexander 1:40.39. 4—Natalie Hague 1:40.75. 5—Katie Rothgeb 1:42.26. 6—Sonja Mandeville 1:42.92. 7—Christine Cordeau 1:42.99. 8—Meghan Luck 1:43.89. 9—Joanne Zwingenberg 1:44.56. 10—Alexis duPont 1:46.06.

Telemarkers: 1—Buck Cobb 1:55.02. 2—Danny Walton 2:04.11. Retirees: 1—Ben Harwell 2:06.96.



Men (top 30): 1—Daimon Bushi 22.54 points. 2—Kurtis Fieguth 22.41. 3—Nic Hanscom 20.47. 4—Justin Peterson 20.26. 5—North Parker 18.98. 6—Josh Zuck 18.52. 7—Reed Boeger 18.49. 8—Collin Collins 18.31. 9—Matt Carlson 18.12. 10—Chase Engelhardt 17.91.

11—Hank Minor 16.61. 12—Austin Bourret 16.48. 13—Jeff Page 15.87. 14—Luke Chaney 15.05. 15—Tom Kennedy 14.34. 16—J.J. Hanley 13.80. 17—Trace Page 12.74. 18—Alex Conn 12.70. 19—Sam Colesworthy 12.51. 20—Tim Marsano 12.50.

21—Tom West 12.33. 22—Neil Jessen 12.20. 23—Scott Isaacs 12.18. 24—John Davidson 12.16. 25—Ben Luck 11.88. 26—Austin Moses 11.29. 27—Grant Gager 10.88. 28—Tyler Chandler 10.77. 29—Nathan Moses 10.55. 30—Jamie Bourret 9.30.

Women: 1—Christine Cordeau 23.08 points. 2—Katie Fieguth 21.48. 3—Britt VanPaepeghem 19.54. 4—Debbie Page 18.83. 5—Joanne Zwingenberg 15.72. 6—Jane Reynolds 15.05. 7—Sonja Mandeville 14.59. 8—Gretchen Flint 14.05. 9—Kaylie Sheffield 13.58. 10—Lauren Phillips 13.27.

11—Sierra Brand 13.19. 12—Bailey Malarkey 11.75. 13—Megan Thomas 11.03. 14—Aunika Phillips 10.85. 15—Chloe Gordon 10.63. 16—McKeanna Collins 10.52. 17—Hannah Haupt 9.66. 18—Langely McNeal 9.13. 19—Marcia Page 8.40. 20—Alexandra Haupt 8.22. 21—Camille Bourret 6.97. 22—Louisa Waycott 6.31. 23—Randi DuBois 6.29.


City of Ketchum

Formula Sports


Edmark GM Superstore : Nampa, Idaho

Premier Resorts Sun Valley

High Country Property Rentals

The Idaho Mountain Express is distributed free to residents and guests throughout the Sun Valley, Idaho resort area community. Subscribers to the Idaho Mountain Express will read these stories and others in this week's issue.