local weather Click for Sun Valley, Idaho Forecast
 front page
 public meetings

 previous edition

 express jobs
 about us
 advertising info
 classifieds info
 internet info
 sun valley central
 sun valley guide
 real estate guide
 sv catalogs
Produced & Maintained by Idaho Mountain Express, Box 1013, Ketchum, ID 83340-1013 
208.726.8060 Voice
208.726.2329 Fax

Copyright © 2003 Express Publishing Inc.
All Rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Express Publishing Inc. is prohibited. 

Wednesday, March 3, 2004


Monroe, Basolo Cups bring 203 to Baldy

Hemingway slaloms, GS

Baldy’s Hemingway ski run was the place to be for 203 of the Intermountain Division’s most promising and eager junior alpine ski racers ages 13-and-under last weekend.

There, the Sun Valley Ski Education Foundation staged Saturday’s Monroe Cup slalom and the Hailey Ski Team put on Sunday’s Lonnie Basolo Memorial giant slalom races.

Harlan Collins rips down Hemingway in Sunday’s Basolo Memorial giant slalom. Collins placed second among J5 boys. Express photo by Willy Cook

The Basolo Memorial is named for the young Hailey alpine ski racer who died in an 1986 ski accident on Baldy. It has been held by the Hailey Ski Team since the late 1980s.

And, for one of the few times in the Basolo Memorial’s annals, a Hailey Ski Team racer came away with an overall title. She was Jasmine Campbell, who marched to the top of the podium Sunday along with Boise racer Jared Goldberg.

Campbell (1:55.34) clocked the fastest second GS run and came from behind to beat Park City’s J5 hopeful Sydney Staples (1:56.18) by .84 seconds. Staples won Saturday’s Monroe Cup slalom by 2.06 seconds.

Men’s winners were Derek Strand (SL) and Goldberg (GS).

Sun Valley and Hailey swept the J4 women’s GS podium with Campbell, Hanna Curran and Bailey Ireland.

Harlan Collins of Sun Valley placed second in J5 boys Sunday. Miles Sweek of Hailey and Tanner Farrow of Sun Valley finished 2-3 in J5 boys during Saturday’s Monroe Cup SL.

Marlow Mizer won J6 girls both days, as did Kipling Weisel in J6 boys.

Here are last weekend’s top placings for the 71 Hailey and Sun Valley Ski Team racers in the Monroe Cup and Basolo races. In all, there were 203 racers, 124 boys and 79 girls:



J4 boys: 5—Chase Caulkins. 8—Riley Berman. 11—Ryan Foster. 14—Bergen Palmer. 18—Tyler Davis. 20—Willie Adicoff. 24—Scott Smith. 26—Chance McCroskey. 27—Eric Fitzpatrick. 28—Colter Brehmer. 31—Jake Freeman. 38—Nick Bowen. 44—Jacob Korobkin.

J4 girls: 6—Bailey Ireland. 14—Emily O’Reilly. 15—Delaney Willey. 16—Madeleine duPont. 17—Gracie Brown. 18—Hanna Curran. 20—Nina Hirner. 22—Jasmine Campbell. 24—Jessie Jarvis. 25—Erica Eshman. 31—Hannah Rudolph. 34—Karlee Stagg. 41—Erin Murphy. 42—Hannah Lynch.

J5 boys: 2—Miles Sweek. 3—Tanner Farrow. 7—Harlan Collins. 8—Jordan Levin. 10—Conner Bennett. 11—Connor Farrow. 12—Tim Kanellitsas. 13—Christopher Preucil. 15—Dustin Rutkowski. 17—Zack Freeman. 18—Christopher Nalen. 19—Brandon Barry. 25—Zachary Israel. 28—Blake Jarvis. 29—Karl Wilander. 30—Gardner Cord. 31—Hunter Weaver. 32—William Nero. 33—Cassidy Carson. 37—Cooper Hanley.

J5 girls: 5—Amanda Stelling. 7—Alexi Fitch. 8—Teagen Palmer. 10—Nicole Roos. 11—Grace Weaver. 12—Ali Levy. 13—Sloan Storey. 15—Grace Eagan. 16—Marly Morgus.

J6 boys: 1—Kipling Weisel. 2—Cole Caulkins. 3—KJ Savaria. 5—Ben Kanellitsas.

J6 girls: 1—Marlow Mizer. 4—Morgan Jones.



J4 boys: 7—Colter Brehmer. 8—Tanner Flanigan. 11—Gregory Roos. 14—Chase Caulkins. 22—Ryan Foster. 27—Chance McCroskey. 30—Mark Beck. 31—Scott Smith. 36—William Eagan. 38—Tyler Davis. 43—August Danielson. 46—Willie Adicoff. 49—Bergen Palmer. 53—Nick Bowen. 59—Jacob Korobkin. 60—Matthew Teears. 61—Eric Fitzpatrick.

J4 girls: 1—Jasmine Campbell. 2—Hanna Curran. 3—Bailey Ireland. 8—Emily O’Reilly. 11—Madeleine duPont. 14—Nina Hirner. 21—Jessie Jarvis. 22—Delaney Willey. 23—Erica Eshman. 26—Halsey Pierce. 30—Gracie Brown. 31—Karlee Stagg. 36—Hannah Lynch.

J5 boys: 2—Harlan Collins. 6—Conner Bennett. 7—Connor Farrow. 13—Tim Kanellitsas. 18—Cooper Hanley. 20—Christopher Nalen. 21—Hunter Weaver. 23—Zack Freeman. 24—Blake Jarvis. 25—Dustin Rutkowski. 26—Christopher Preucil. 27—Zachary Israel. 30—Colin Waycott. 31—Karl Wilander. 32—William Nero.

J5 girls: 4—Alexi Fitch. 5—Amanda Stelling. 8—Teagen Palmer. 9—Nicole Roos. 10—Ali Levy. 12—Erin Murphy.

J6 boys: 1—Kipling Weisel. 2—KJ Savaria. 3—Cole Caulkins. 4—Ben Kanellitsas.

J6 girls: 1—Marlow Mizer. 4—Morgan Jones.


City of Ketchum

Formula Sports


Edmark GM Superstore : Nampa, Idaho

Premier Resorts Sun Valley

High Country Property Rentals

The Idaho Mountain Express is distributed free to residents and guests throughout the Sun Valley, Idaho resort area community. Subscribers to the Idaho Mountain Express will read these stories and others in this week's issue.