local weather Click for Sun Valley, Idaho Forecast
 front page
 last week
 express jobs
 about us
 advertising info

 sun valley guide
 real estate guide
 sv catalogs



Produced & Maintained by Idaho Mountain Express, Box 1013, Ketchum, ID 83340-1013 
208.726.8060 Voice
208.726.2329 Fax

Copyright © 2002 Express Publishing Inc.
All Rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Express Publishing Inc. is prohibited. 

For the week of April 23 - 29, 2003


SVSEF teams
give awards

At season-ending banquets

As the ski season came to a close, the Sun Valley Ski Education Foundation honored members of its various teams over the past week.

Be sure to check today’s Local Life section for photos of Hobson Memorial winners.


Alpine teams

The SVSEF alpine team feted many of its athletes at River Run Lodge last Tuesday.

The Engl Award was given to A-team racers Sean Higgins and Charlotte Gourlay, B-team racers Corey Bellinger and Lauren Eder, and Tanner Flanigan and Karlee Stagg on the C-Travel team.

Leif Odmark recipients were Zac Brown and Amy Alexander (A-team), Kristian Timmons and Lauren Parsons (B-team), and Chase Caulkins and Gretchen Heath (C-team).

Hard work paid off for Most Improved honorees Zac Brown, Tracy Chubb, Taylor Stoecklein, Katie Rothgeb, Nick Carnes and McKeanna Collins.

Voted "Most Valuable" were Wes Powell and Tracy Chubb, Willi Cannell and Charlie Baser, Travis Stone and Ali Maricich.

Honored by their teammates as "Most Inspirational" were Zac Brown, Tracy Chubb, Corey Bellinger, Charlie Baser, Chase Caulkins and Ali Maricich.


Freestyle team

The Sun Valley Freestyle Team took over Rico’s Pizza and Pasta last Thursday.

Coach John Zuck extended a huge thank-you to Ron Von Hagen, Cathy and Lee Fieguth and all the parents who supported the program throughout the season.

Ross Falcone was singled out for pulling off the first ten-eighty ever done by an athlete on the freestyle team.

The "Stepping It Up" award went to Kate Zuck, Katie Fieguth, Sophia Schwartz and Kylie Douglas for learning how to do a three-sixty on the mogul course.

Douglas was also named Most Inspirational.

Collin Collins and Corey Warren qualifying for Junior Nationals was named "Biggest Surprise."

Marc Coury, Kali Phillips and Sierra Brand were awarded Most Improved.

Outstanding Achievement went to Nic Hanscom.

Britt Van Paepeghem, Austen Moses, Aunika Phillips, Trevor Brand and Nathan Moses were given the Coaches Award.

Austin Bourret was given the Most Questions Ever Asked award. Giving Back the Coaches Line award went Lauren Phillips.


Snowboard awards

Members of the snowboard team know how to have a good time. They took over the Ketchum American Legion Hall Saturday to do just that.

Head coach Andy Gilbert said, "It was a good way to wrap up the season. Everybody was stoked." About 100 people attended the awards fete.

The four "Dark Horse," awards given for surprising results went to:

Bobby Flanigan (32nd in the halfpipe at nationals); Tami Harrison (four 2nds in the pipe); Austen Butler (the Hullabaloo winner at Rotarun); and Ryan McCarthy (for making it into the heats in boardercross at nationals).

Spencer Cordovano won Most Valuable Player for excellence in competition, training and attitude.

The prestigious Platinum Egg Beater awards were given to Yancy Caldwell and David Kunz, who had spectacular crashes on the same weekend.

Junior Gold Team recipients were Liz Shanklin, Yancy Caldwell and David Kunz, who will attend summer camps.


Ski Reports


City of Ketchum

Formula Sports

Idaho Conservation League



Edmark GM Superstore : Nampa, Idaho

Premier Resorts Sun Valley

High Country Property Rentals

The Idaho Mountain Express is distributed free to residents and guests throughout the Sun Valley, Idaho resort area community. Subscribers to the Idaho Mountain Express will read these stories and others in this week's issue.