local weather Click for Sun Valley, Idaho Forecast
 front page
 last week
 express jobs
 about us
 advertising info

 sun valley guide
 real estate guide
 sv catalogs



Produced & Maintained by Idaho Mountain Express, Box 1013, Ketchum, ID 83340-1013 
208.726.8060 Voice
208.726.2329 Fax

Copyright © 2002 Express Publishing Inc.
All Rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Express Publishing Inc. is prohibited. 

For the week of March 19 - 25, 2003


SG, moguls are Lane Parrish tests

Glenne, McNeal take away combined honors

Racing in tough weather, Olin Glenne repeated as the combined champion of last weekend’s Lane Parrish Memorial and was joined on the top step by a new female winner, Hailey’s Langely McNeal.

The 11th annual Lane Parrish Memorial super giant slalom was held Saturday on Baldy’s Greyhawk ski run. The mogul races were then staged Sunday, March 16 on Baldy’s Roundhouse Slope.

Matt Murphy motors down Greyhawk in Saturday’s Lane Parrish SG. Express photo by Willy Cook

The visibility was near zero for two Saturday’s SG runs. The first heat was the official Parrish Memorial for 89 racers. It narrowed the field to the top 16 racers for the second heat which was called the 12th annual New Diamond Sun SG.

Hailey’s Zach Latham (80.78) had the best run by .05 seconds over Glenne in the Parrish. Glenne bettered Latham by 1.01 seconds in the New Diamond Sun. Langely McNeal was far and away the fastest woman in both runs.

Langely McNeal and Olin Glenne celebrate their Lane Parrish combined wins. Express photo by Willy Cook

With rain on the bottom of the course, dumping snow at the top and a strange mix with minimal visibility in the middle, the weather was, as one onlooker described "brutal and a huge factor. These people were just proud of themselves to finish—they should be."

Funds raised from the Parrish went to the Hailey Ski Team and Sun Valley Freestyle ski team. Parrish was a famed local skier and stuntman who died in 1990 at age 33.

Top results by event:



Men over 40: 1—John Reagle. 2—Tim Marsano. 3—Curtis Bacca. 4—Scott Levy. Men under 40: 1—Justin Peterson. 2—Josh Zuck. 3—Olin Glenne. 4—Pat Revallier.

Men under 18: 1—Kurtis Fieguth. 2—Ross Falcone. 3—Chase Englehart. 4—Collin Collins. Women under 18: 1—Katie Zuck. 2—Sophia Schwartz. 3—Kaylie Sheffield. 4—Lauren Phillips.

Women over 40: 1—Joanne Zwingenberg. 2—Jane Hoopes. 3—Becky Reitinger. Women under 40: 1—Debbie Page. 2—Langely McNeal. 3—Jan Hegenwald. 4—Sonja Mandeville.

12th New Diamond Sun Super G

Women: 1—Langely McNeal 91.91. 2—Sonja Mandeville 97.35. 3—Joanne Zwingenberg 100.18. 4—Nicole Ramey 101.22. 5—Lilly Davies 103.29.

Men: 1—Olin Glenne 80.42. 2—Zach Latham 81.43. 3—Tyler Ferris 82.09. 4—Eric Carlson 82.37. 5—Hank Minor 82.53. 6—Matt Murphy 82.58. 7—Tyler Roos 82.60. 8—Scott Curtis 83.22. 9—Griffin Post 83.33. 10—William McNeal 85.78. 11—Victor Roy 87.39.

Past winners: 2002—Skip Merrick and Sonja Mandeville. 2001—Taryn Palmer and Justin Stevenson. 2000—Jessica Hamilton and Carl Rixon Jr. 1999—Skip Merrick and Amber Acker. 1998—Skip Merrick and Julie Bell. 1997—Reggie Crist and Amber Acker.

1996—Reggie Crist and Heidi Shelton. 1995—Zach Crist and Danielle Crist. 1994—Matt Luhn and Heidi Haller. 1993—Mike Makar and Abbi Fisher. 1992—Reggie Crist and Abbi Fisher.


11th Lane Parrish Super G

Women over 60: 1—Ellen James 132.27.

Women over 40: 1—Joanne Zwingenberg 93.77. 2—Julie Bell 98.74. 3—Rebecca Bundy 106.28. 4—Becky Reitinger 110.69. 5—Debbie Page 123.82. 6—Jane Hoopes 125.21. 7—Heidi Flood 130.77. 8—Randi Dubois 131.97.

Women under 40: 1—Langely McNeal 85.97. 2—Claire Currie 90.48. 3—Sonja Mandeville 94.77. 4—Nicole Ramey 97.42. 5—Lilly Davies 104.21. 6—Megan Thomas 119.06. 7—Jen Campbell 179.17.

Women under 18: 1—Charlie Baser 107.09. 2—Sophia Schwartz 110.40. 3—Kroger Schwartz 116.93. 4—Lauren Phillips 122.56. 5—Kali Phillips 129.52. DNF—Maggie Flood and Tracy Chubb.

Men over 60: 1—Marvin Melville 103.60.

Men over 40: 1—Matt Murphy 81.19. 2—Scott Curtis 83.17. 3—Victor Roy 86.17. 4—Baird Gourlay 87.21. 5—Tim Marsano 87.387. 6—Scott Levy 87.389. 7—Curtis Bacca 87.96. 8—Bob Dreyer 88.27. 9—Tom Moss 88.32. 10—Sean Murphy 90.11. 11—John Reagle 92.13. 12—John Summers 93.55. 13—Tom West 94.07. 14—Mark Masur 95.77. 15—Jeff Page 99.85. 16—Tommy Richardson 100.20. 17—Chris Key 103.56. 18—Jim Parris 106.74. 19—Morgan Brown 107.40. 20—Charlie Evans 111.33. 21—Harry Bolton 111.44. 22—Loren Anderson 114.73. 23—Stuart Campbell 126.32.

Men under 40: 1—Zach Latham 80.78. 2—Olin Glenne 80.83. 3—Tyler Ferris 81.31. 4—Eric Carlson 81.54. 5—Hank Minor 81.88. 6—Biche Rudigoz 82.57. 7—William McNeal 83.03. 8—Tyler Roos 83.22. 9—Pat Revallier 83.89. 10—Mark Bucknall 84.27. 11—Griffin Post 85.01. 12—Brett Jacobson 85.72. 13—Deeder Petersen 85.75. 14—Dave Harrison 87.90. 15—John Maxfield 88.86. 16—John Andonian 91.64. 17—Ben Flandro 91.91. 18—Jim Hart 94.49. 19—Josh Zuck 97.58. 20—Chris Edwards 100.22. 21—Greg Knutson 103.29. DNF—J.J. Hanley, Steven Masur, Mike Shanks, Chris Maxwell. DSQ—Dan McGregor (Best Crash winner).

Men under 18: 1—Bryce Newcomb 89.04. 2—Tyler Chandler 89.81. 3—Teton Brown 91.72. 4—Ben Luck 92.62. 5—Liam Corcoran 95.30. 6—Reed Boeger 96.74. 7—Derek Blash 98.36. 8—Ryan Campbell 99.15. 9—Karl Fostvedt 99.20. 10—North Parker 99.99. 11—Ross Campbell 104.50. 12—Jake Kaiser 106.00. 13—Austin Bourret 107.34. 14—Brian McGinnis 110.85. 15—Kipling Weisel 142.21.


Parrish combined results

Women over 40: 1—Joanne Zwingenberg. 2—Becky Reitinger and Jane Hoopes (tie). Women under 40: 1—Langely McNeal. 2—Debbie Page. 3—Sonja Mandeville.

Women under 18: 1—Sophia Schwartz. 2—Lauren Phillips. 3—Kroger Schwartz.

Men over 40: 1—Tim Marsano. 2—(four-way tie) Scott Levy, Baird Gourlay, Curtis Bacca, John Reagle.

Men under 40: 1—Olin Glenne. 2—Zach Latham. 3—Pat Revallier.

Men under 18: 1—Teton Brown. 2—Karl Fostvedt. 3—North Parker.


Ski Reports


City of Ketchum

Formula Sports

Idaho Conservation League



Edmark GM Superstore : Nampa, Idaho

Premier Resorts Sun Valley

High Country Property Rentals

The Idaho Mountain Express is distributed free to residents and guests throughout the Sun Valley, Idaho resort area community. Subscribers to the Idaho Mountain Express will read these stories and others in this week's issue.