local weather Click for Sun Valley, Idaho Forecast
 front page
 last week
 express jobs
 about us
 advertising info

 sun valley guide
 real estate guide
 sv catalogs



Produced & Maintained by Idaho Mountain Express, Box 1013, Ketchum, ID 83340-1013 
208.726.8065 Voice
208.726.2329 Fax

Copyright © 2002 Express Publishing Inc.
All Rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Express Publishing Inc. is prohibited. 

ski and snow reports


Mountain Jobs

Formula Sports

Idaho Conservation League



Gary Carr...The Carr Man!

Edmark GM Superstore : Nampa, Idaho

Premier Resorts Sun Valley

High Country Property Rentals

For the week of April 17 - 23, 2002


Hobson Memorial marks 25 years

A little ducky on Cozy

The rainy weather was real ducky, but spring skiing and fun were still on the minds of 125 youngsters who converged on Baldy’s Cozy ski run Sunday for the 25th edition of the Hobson Memorial Ski Race.

From left, Dixon Mooseau, Mrs. Dorothy Hobson and Jessica Hamilton at Sunday’s Hobson Memorial awards ceremony. Express photo by Willy Cook

Having refined their racing and learned more over a winter of skiing for the Sun Valley Ski Education Foundation’s Sun Valley Ski Team and Hailey Ski Team, the kids ages 8-18 showed their stuff.

Mrs. Dorothy Hobson sponsors the race each year. Winners in each age class have their names engraved on the perpetual trophies that are displayed in Sun Valley Lodge.

About 300 people joined in for the barbecue at Warm Springs Lodge.

Special spirit and dedication awards were presented to:

·  Engl Award—Jordan Levin and Karlee Stagg from the "C" home team; Nick Bowen and Teagen Palmer from Sun Valley’s "D’ team.

·  Leif Odmark Sportsmanship Award—Tess Dahlgren and Luke Henry from the Hailey A/JO team; Jasmine Campbell and Conor Davis from Hailey’s A team (the SV team awards this at a banquet next week).

·  The Howard Dean Award—Will Spiller and Kali Phillips of the SV development team.

More photos of the Hobson awards in the May 1 Local Life.

Race results follow by class:

J1 girls

1—Jessica Hamilton 18.43.

J2 girls

1—Laura Durkheimer 18.86.

J2 boys

1—Matt Job 18.62. 2—Alex Nelson 18.77. 3—Luke Henry 20.08. 4—J.P. McNeal 20.32.

J3 girls

1—Lauren Rust 19.53. 2—Alexa Turzian 20.39. 3—Sara Berman 21.43. 4—Tess Dahlgren 22.51. 5—Mandy Alexander 22.54. 6—Elitsa Storey 25.29.

J3 boys

1—Dixon Mooseau 17.80. 2—John D. Anderson 18.21. 3—Corey Bellinger 18.52. 4—Luke Chaney 18.83. 5—Ben Luck 19.10. 6—Tyler Chandler 19.16. 7—Matthew Preucil 19.52. 8—Ken Mauro 19.84. 9—Ryan Thomas 20.46. 10—Derek Blash 21.61. 11—Ross Campbell 21.78.

J4 girls

1—Shanny Cohen 19.41. 2—Calley Brown 19.54. 3—Ali Maricich 20.04. 4—Alexis duPont 20.45. 5—Grayson Palmer 20.56. 6—Alisa Durkheimer 20.80. 7—Katie Rothgeb 21.04. 8—McKeanna Collins 21.10. 9—Allison Rust 21.12. and Meghan Luck 21.12. 11—Jessie Curran 21.15. 12—Cody Curran 21.43. 13—Louisa Waycott 21.54. 14—Arielle Mulenos 22.07. 15—Kami Doan 22.48. 16—Ainsley Gourlay 22.57. 17—Alexandra Neeley 22.61. 18—Chyna Karterman 22.87. 19—Lauren Prentice 22.96. 20—Sydney Spiller 23.86. 21—Inca Dieterich 24.05. 22—Sarah Adicoff 24.13. 23—Marin Shepardson 24.19. 24—Amy Buchanan 25.69. 25—Merrill Heinrich 27.08.

J4 boys

1—Barrett Cincotta 18.03. 2—Ryon Campbell 19.18. 3—Axel Peterson 19.22. 4—Teton Brown 19.44. 5—Karl Fostvedt 19.48. 6—Tyler Stagg 20.12. 7—Travis Stone 20.19. 8—Conor Davis 20.32. 9—Ross Parsons 20.40. 10—Casey Bennett 20.47. 11—Zach Thornton 20.62. 12—Jeremy Lato 20.84. 13—Nick Peterson 21.06. 14—Scott Isaacs 21.10. 15—Wiley Chubb 21.23. 16—Max Monahan 21.27. 17—Geoffrey Ruppert 21.97. 18—Phillip Ruppert 22.02. 19—Nick Carnes 25.42.

J5 girls

1—Hannah Curran 20.90. 2—Jasmine Campbell 21.19. 3—Emily O’Reilly 21.57. 4—Madeleine duPont 21.60. 5—Nina Hirner 21.83. 6—Delaney Willey 22.16. 7—Karlee Stagg 22.26. 8—Hannah Rudolph 23.31. 9—Daniela Stokes 23.91. 10—Halsey Pierce 24.30. 11—Gracie Brown 25.58. 12—Hannah Lynch 26.65.

J5 boys

1—Bergen Palmer 19.19. 2—Riley Berman 20.18. 3—Chase Caulkins 20.65. 4—Colter Brehmer 20.81. 5—Scott Smith 21.72. 6—Colby Stoecklein 21.78. 7—Tyler Davis 21.87. 8—Willie Adicoff 21.98. 9—Tommy Heinrich 22.09. 10—Jake Kaiser 22.46. 11—Gregory Roos 22.60. 12—Parker Brown 22.61. 13—Alec England 22.99. 14—Jordan Levin 23.02. 15—August Danielson 23.53. 16—William Spiller 23.79. 17—Rory Lynch 23.98. 18—Wolfie Dieterich 24.00. 19—Christopher Isaacs 24.02. 20—Austin Moses 24.03. 21—Mark Beck 24.05. 22—Nick Bowen 25.07. 23—Cary Reinemann 26.15. 24—Gene Fairbrother 32.32.

J6 girls

1—Alexi Fitch 21.60. 2—Taylor Gove 23.85. 3—Madison Gove 24.15. 4—Teagen Palmer 26.31. 5—Amanda Stelling 26.91. 6—Nicole Roos 27.30. 7—Sloan Storey 27.38. 8—Matea Heinrich 27.40.

J6 boys

1—Harlan Collins 20.53. 2—Tanner Farrow 21.51. 3—Miles Sweek 22.03. 4—Conner Bennett 23.23. 5—Christopher Preucil 24.07. 6—Connor Farrow 24.14. 7—Davis Matthews 25.59. 8—Wayne Poulson 26.25. 9—Chris Carnes 26.32. 10—Reed Matthews 26.88. 11—Quinn Matthews 27.78. 12—Nathan Moses 30.41. 13—Colin Waycott 33.80. 14—Paul Conn 34.98.


The Idaho Mountain Express is distributed free to residents and guests throughout the Sun Valley, Idaho resort area community. Subscribers to the Idaho Mountain Express will read these stories and others in this week's issue.