Friday, October 31, 2014

Thinclads head to Eagle Island for state footrace

WRHS, Community School runners are entered

Wood River High School cross country boys pose at the Great Basin Conference meet in Twin Falls. Front row, from left, Jorgen Lawrence, Landon Nurge, Ryan Halopoff, Cooper Dean, Kegan Lupton, Nathan Stouffer, Cormac Heneghan, Cameron Bingham, Alexis Gonzalez, Irvin Gonzalez, Jacob Truxal and Carter Gerringa. Back row, from left, Colby Castle, Easton Beck, Brady Delgadillo, Beckett Dykhouse, Xavier Haemmerle, Leo Corrales, Ryan Anderson, Joseph Anderson, Kenny Pratt, Wyatt Smith, Nelson Cantrell, Dane Thompson, Connor Hayes, Sam Burns, Asher Loomis and Victor Saldivia.
Courtesy photo

     Twenty-five Wood River Valley prep cross country runners are headed to the Boise area Saturday, Nov. 1 for the Idaho High School Activities Association’s 2014 State Cross Country meet at Eagle Island State Park.

     Wood River High School coach Monte Brothwell will accompany 14 Wolverines who qualified for the State 4A footrace by placing third as boys’ and girls’ teams behind Jerome and Twin Falls at the 4A Great Basin Conference footrace Oct. 22 at Twin Falls Golf Club.

     Competing in the 4A boys’ field of 88 runners are Hailey seniors Alexis Gonzalez, Sam Burns and Cameron Bingham, juniors Nelson Cantrell, Wyatt Smith and Ryan Anderson, and sophomore Irvin Gonzalez.

     In the field of 90 4A girls are Wolverine freshman Kirsys Campbell—showing the eighth-best time—along with seniors Grace Gorham and Alexandra Begley, juniors Sara Lichtenberg, Amanda Passey and Loni Unser, and sophomore Amy Cantrell.

     Pocatello is the three-time defending 4A boys’ team champion, and Sandpoint led the girls last year at Freeman Park in Idaho Falls. Last year’s individual champions were Preston senior Caitlin Elgan and Pocatello’s Elijah Armstrong, who will be shooting for his fourth straight 4A boys’ title Saturday.

     The 4A races are the final ones Saturday at Eagle Island, 4A girls at 1:30 p.m. and 4A boys at 2:30 p.m. The awards ceremonies will be held after the finish of the boys’ races in each of the four classifications.

     Coach Rick Kapala’s Community School girls are the reigning 4th District 1A team champions. They and the Cutthroat boys will compete in the 2A girls’ and boys’ races starting at 11:30 a.m. and 12:30 p.m. Saturday at Eagle Island. There will be a $5 vehicle parking fee (state park fee).

     The seven Cutthroat girls in the field of 109 state runners are seniors Tara Burchmore, Alyssa Diamond and Sophie DeKlotz, juniors Ava Mazzoni and Annika Landis, sophomore Tess Burchmore, and freshman Lena DeKlotz.

     Five Cutthroat boys among the 143 State 2A runners are juniors Max Polito, Gil Viesturs and Max Tanous, sophomore Peter Wolter, and freshman Henry Raff.

     Last year’s 2A individual champions were senior Kelsey Yamauchi of Soda Springs and senior W. Leif Fredericks of Coeur d’Alene Charter. The team winners were the Soda Springs girls for an eighth consecutive year, and the Soda Springs boys for a second straight state meet and fourth in six years.

Posing at Twin Falls Golf Course are the Wolverine cross country girls, from left, Kirsys Campbell, Emily Stone, Bene-detta Fontanarosa, Josie Koeplin, Hallie MacPherson, Avery Closser, Loni Unser, Brooke Sundholm, Amanda Passey, Amy Cantrell, Grace Gorham, Sara Lichtenberg, Hanna Leinnonen, Yisel Reigle, Alexandra Begley, Ellie Gorham, Alex Rogers, Alise Barney, Karsyn Gerringa and Emma Flolo.
Courtesy photo

About Comments

Comments with content that seeks to incite or inflame may be removed.

Comments that are in ALL CAPS may be removed.

Comments that are off-topic or that include profanity or personal attacks, libelous or other inappropriate material may be removed from the site. Entries that are unsigned or contain signatures by someone other than the actual author may be removed. We will take steps to block users who violate any of our posting standards, terms of use or any other policies governing this site. Use of this system denotes full acceptance of these conditions. Please review the full rules governing commentaries and discussions. You are fully responsible for the content that you post.

The comments below are from the readers of and in no way represent the views of Express Publishing, Inc.

You may flag individual comments. You may also report an inappropriate or offensive comment by clicking here.

Flagging Comments: Flagging a comment tells a site administrator that a comment is inappropriate. You can find the flag option by pointing the mouse over the comment and clicking the 'Flag' link.

Flagging a comment is only counted once per person, and you won't need to do it multiple times.

Proper Flagging Guidelines: Every site has a different commenting policy - be sure to review the policy for this site before flagging comments. In general these types of comments should be flagged:

  • Spam
  • Ones violating this site's commenting policy
  • Clearly unrelated
  • Personal attacks on others
Comments should not be flagged for:
  • Disagreeing with the content
  • Being in a dispute with the commenter

Popular Comment Threads

 Local Weather 
Search archives:

Copyright © 2019 Express Publishing Inc.   Terms of Use   Privacy Policy
All Rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Express Publishing Inc. is prohibited. 

The Idaho Mountain Express is distributed free to residents and guests throughout the Sun Valley, Idaho resort area community. Subscribers to the Idaho Mountain Express will read these stories and others in this week's issue.