Friday, October 3, 2014

High school runners race through the canyon

At Wednesday’s Dani Bates meet in Twin

     The early-October running meet called the Dani Bates Invitational attracted 746 boys and girls from southern Idaho and northern Nevada high schools Wednesday.

     Brilliant fall weather greeted cross country runners from 35 schools including Hailey’s Wood River High School and the Community School of Sun Valley who tackled the Canyon Springs Golf Course.

     Junior Ashlyn Dyer of Idaho Falls (19:19) and senior D’Artagnan Kilgore from Highland of Pocatello (16:37) were the varsity winners on the 3.1-mile course.

     Wood River freshman Kirsys Campbell (20:55) finished 12th of 144 girls in the varsity 5-kilometer event. Wolverine senior Sara Lichtenberg (21:51) improved her season-best time by 45 seconds to finish in 31st place.

     Community School freshman Henry Raff was the fastest valley boy in the varsity race at 18:01, his season best by 16 seconds. He placed 32nd of 163. Next best in 53rd was Wood River junior Nelson Cantrell with a season-best 18:31.

     Junior Kristin Helland-Hansen of the Community School placed second of 183 girls in the junior varsity event at 21:33. And Wood River junior Wyatt Smith clocked a best-of-career result of 18:58 in junior varsity running for ninth place overall.

     There were 41 Wood River runners and 12 from the Community School Wednesday.

     Varsity team winners were Idaho Falls (girls) and Highland (boys).

     Wood River’s girls finished eighth and the Community School 13th of 20 teams in the girls’ varsity event.

     In middle school results, Wood River competed Sept. 25 at the O’Leary Middle School Invitational in Twin Falls on the College of Southern Idaho campus. The Hailey boys moved up to a second-place team finish, their best of the year. O’Leary placings:

     Boys: 5—Christian Bothell. 14—Aiden Burchmore. 17—Liam McGonigal. 18—Jose Gonzalez. 30—Anthony Corrales. 39—Daniel Pearson. 54—Colby Nance.

     Girls: 7—Lauren Roberts. 21—Paige Deshields. 23—Malaunie Gerard. 49—Sofia Kinney. 62—Juliette Rollins. 66—Sammie Soares. 67—Alexandra Brooks.

     Wood River competes next at the Canyon Ridge Invitational on Wednesday, Oct. 8 in Twin Falls. Results from the Dani Bates:

     Varsity boys, 5k: 1—D’Artagnan Kilgore (Highland) 16:37. 32—Henry Raff (CS) 18:01. 53—Nelson Cantrell (WRHS) 18:31. 66—Irvin Gonzalez (WRHS) 18:43. 67—Sam Burns (WRHS) 18:44. 78—Landon Nurge (WRHS) 18:55. 84—Ryan Anderson (WRHS) 19:01. 87—Cameron Bingham (WRHS) 19:10.1. 88—Alexis Gonzalez (WRHS) 19:10.4. 118—Peter Wolter (CS) 20:40. 119—Landon Schley (CS) 20:42 (163 runners).

     Team: 1—Highland of Pocatello 71. 12—WRHS 338 (24 teams).

     Varsity girls, 5k: 1—Ashlyn Dyer (Idaho Falls) 19:19. 12—Kirsys Campbell (WRHS) 20:55. 31—Sara Lichtenberg (WRHS) 21:51. 53-Grace Gorham (WRHS) 22:39. 65—Tara Burchmore (CS) 23:01. 67—Amy Cantrell (WRHS) 23:11. 74—Ava Mazzoni (CS) 23:29. 78—Alyssa Diamond (CS) 23:44. 81—Amanda Passey (WRHS) 23:55. 83—Loni Unser (WRHS) 24:01. 92—Annika Landis (CS) 24:25. 97—Brooke Sundholm (WRHS) 24:33. 103—Sienna Polk (CS) 24:50 (144 runners).

     Team: 1—Idaho Falls 44. 8—WRHS 231. 13—Community School 391 (20 teams).

     Boys’ junior varsity, 5k: 1—John Tokle (Century) 17:56. 9—Wyatt Smith (WRHS) 18:58. 17—Nathan Stouffer (WRHS) 19:24. 103—Kenny Pratt (WRHS) 21:33.0. 106—Joseph Anderson (WRHS) 21:33.9. 117—Jacob Truxal (WRHS) 21:43. 118—Kegan Lupton (WRHS) 21:47. 119—Beckett Dykhouse (WRHS) 21:48. 131—Sam McGonigal (WRHS) 22:05. 135—Victor Saldivia (WRHS) 22:10. 137—Easton Beck (WRHS) 22:11. 141—Cooper Dean (WRHS) 22:16. 142—Carter Gerringa (WRHS) 22:20. 145—Leo Corrales (WRHS) 22:29. 153—Jorgen Lawrence (WRHS) 22:43. 157—Colby Castle (WRHS) 22:50. 171—Kiran Merchant (CS) 23:19. 195—Cormac Heneghan (WRHS) 24:06. 201—Asher Loomis (WRHS) 24:20. 221—Ryan Halopoff (WRHS) 25:07. 239—Zack Olenick (WRHS) 26:13.1. 240—Sam Fauth (WRHS) 26:13.9 (256 runners).

     Team: 1—Highland of Pocatello 65. 11—WRHS 277 (19 teams).

     Girls’ junior varsity, 5k: 1—Burkleigh Yost (Century) 20:43. 2—Kristin Helland-Hansen (CS) 21:33. 71—Avery Closser (WRHS) 25:48. 95—Hallie MacPherson (WRHS) 26:52. 114—Benedetta Fontanarosa (WRHS) 27:37. 119—Ali Barney (WRHS) 28:01. 126—Yisel Reigle (WRHS) 28:11. 164—Lena DeKlotz (CS) 31:11. 167—Hanna Leinonnen (WRHS) 31:19. 173—Tess Burchmore (CS) 33:02. 183—Josie Koeplin (WRHS) 36:40 (183 runners).

     Team: 1—Century of Pocatello 72. 12—WRHS 384 (14 teams).

About Comments

Comments with content that seeks to incite or inflame may be removed.

Comments that are in ALL CAPS may be removed.

Comments that are off-topic or that include profanity or personal attacks, libelous or other inappropriate material may be removed from the site. Entries that are unsigned or contain signatures by someone other than the actual author may be removed. We will take steps to block users who violate any of our posting standards, terms of use or any other policies governing this site. Use of this system denotes full acceptance of these conditions. Please review the full rules governing commentaries and discussions. You are fully responsible for the content that you post.

The comments below are from the readers of and in no way represent the views of Express Publishing, Inc.

You may flag individual comments. You may also report an inappropriate or offensive comment by clicking here.

Flagging Comments: Flagging a comment tells a site administrator that a comment is inappropriate. You can find the flag option by pointing the mouse over the comment and clicking the 'Flag' link.

Flagging a comment is only counted once per person, and you won't need to do it multiple times.

Proper Flagging Guidelines: Every site has a different commenting policy - be sure to review the policy for this site before flagging comments. In general these types of comments should be flagged:

  • Spam
  • Ones violating this site's commenting policy
  • Clearly unrelated
  • Personal attacks on others
Comments should not be flagged for:
  • Disagreeing with the content
  • Being in a dispute with the commenter

Popular Comment Threads

 Local Weather 
Search archives:

Copyright © 2020 Express Publishing Inc.   Terms of Use   Privacy Policy
All Rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Express Publishing Inc. is prohibited. 

The Idaho Mountain Express is distributed free to residents and guests throughout the Sun Valley, Idaho resort area community. Subscribers to the Idaho Mountain Express will read these stories and others in this week's issue.