Wednesday, October 1, 2014

Bob Firman footrace draws record field

Over 50 Wolverines at Eagle Island

     It was a record-breaking field of over 3,500 high school and middle school runners for the 40th annual Bob Firman Invitational cross country meet on Saturday at Eagle Island State Park west of Boise.

     Wood River High School traveled with over 50 runners.

     Hailey leaders at the 5-kilometer (3.1-mile) distance were freshman Kirsys Campbell 20:05 for 30th of 275 runners in Girls’ Division 1 varsity and senior Alexis Gonzalez 17:52 for 103rd place of 293 in Division 1 boys’.

     Junior Brooke Sundholm and sophomore Nathan Stouffer clocked Wood River’s best junior varsity times, while Landon Nurge and Ellie Gorham were the fastest Wolverines in the freshman race.

     Wood River coach Monte Brothwell said, “We dodged the rain since most of it came Friday night. There was a little drizzle for the freshman races, but good temperatures.

     “Almost everyone ran season bests with the weather we had. It’s the first time we’ve been able to compete in three different races since I’ve coached—with 53 athletes going in the freshman, junior varsity and varsity races.”

     The Community School of Sun Valley had one runner at the Bob Firman, senior Tara Burchmore (23:12) for 88th place of 275 finishers in the Girls’ Division 2 varsity race.

     Also, Wood River Middle School eighth-grader Christian Bothell placed 20th of 274 boys in the 3,000-meter middle school race. His 11:21 time was just 1:10 back of the winner.

     Fastest male and female Bob Firman times Saturday went to Elite class runners Conner Mantz from Sky View High School of Smithfield, Utah 14:51—second fastest time in Firman history—and Makena Morley of Bigfork (Mt.) High School in 17:24. She set a new girls’ course record.

     Top Idaho runners were Pocatello senior Elijah Armstrong 15:06 for third in Men’s Elite, and Boise High School senior Emily Hamlin 18:02 for fifth in Women’s Elite.

     Dominant high school was Davis of Kaysville, Utah—winning both the Elite boys’ and girls’ team titles.

     Wood River travels today, Wednesday to the Dani Bates Invitational at Canyon Springs Golf Course in Twin Falls.

     Results from Bob Firman:

     Division 1 varsity boys, 5k: 1—Will Eddy (Hillcrest) 16:16. 103—Alexis Gonzalez (WRHS) 17:52. 145—Cameron Bingham (WRHS) 18:12. 177—Irvin Gonzalez (WRHS) 18:32. 183—Sam Burns (WRHS) 18:35. 191—Nelson Cantrell (WRHS) 18:42. 193—Ryan Anderson (WRHS) 18:43. 276—Wyatt Smith (WRHS) 21:11 (293 runners).

     Team: 1—Davis HS of Kaysville, Utah 110. 27—WRHS 771 (39 teams).

     Division 1 varsity girls, 5k: 1—Miranda O’Very (Mountain Crest) 18:29. 30—Kirsys Campbell (WRHS) 20:05. 119-Grace Gorham (WRHS) 21:56. 143—Amy Cantrell (WRHS) 22:20. 162—Sara Lichtenberg (WRHS) 22:36. 201—Amanda Passey (WRHS) 23:27. 227—Loni Unser (WRHS) 24:26. 247—Hallie MacPherson (WRHS) 25:42 (275 runners).

     Team: 1—Mountain Crest HS of Hyrum, Utah 63. 22—WRHS 587 (33 teams).

     Section 2 boys’ junior varsity, 5k: 1—Kimball Allowitz (Madison) 17:24. 68—Nathan Stouffer (WRHS) 19:24. 107—Connor Hayes (WRHS) 19:54. 132—Kenny Pratt (WRHS) 20:25. 174 (tie)—Beckett Dykhouse (WRHS) 21:15 and Carter Gerringa (WRHS) 21:15. 176—Jacob Truxal (WRHS) 21:16. 177—Cooper Dean (WRHS) 21:17. 181—Leo Corrales (WRHS) 21:21. 191—Joseph Anderson (WRHS) 21:32. 193—Colby Castle (WRHS) 21:33. 221—Asher Loomis (WRHS) 22:17. 243—Cormac Heneghan (WRHS) 23:04. 252—Xavier Haemmerle (WRHS) 23:35. 284—Sam Fauth (WRHS) 26:37. 285—Zack Olenick (WRHS) 26:47 (289 runners).

     Team: 1—Mountain View of Meridian 42. 16—WRHS 460 (23 teams).

     Section 2 girls’ junior varsity, 5k: 1—Natalie Mace (Timpanogos) 21:12. 90—Brooke Sundholm (WRHS) 25:03. 98—Avery Closser (WRHS) 25:13. 134—Benedetta Fontanarosa (WRHS) 26:26. 180—Yisel Reigle (WRHS) 28:31. 194—Hanna Leinonnen (WRHS) 30:15. 196—Penny Hope (WRHS) 30:37. 197—Emily Stone (WRHS) 30:59 (214 runners).

     Team: 1—Timpanogos HS of Orem, Utah 46-47 over Mountain Crest of Hyrum, Utah. 16—WRHS 423 (17 teams).

     Freshman boys, 5k: 1—Joey Perez (Lewiston) 16:46. 40—Landon Nurge (WRHS) 19:01. 48—Dane Thompson (WRHS) 19:19. 122—Kegan Lupton (WRHS) 21:08. 142—Easton Beck (WRHS) 21:56. 151—Victor Saldivia (WRHS) 22:12. 177—Jorgen Lawrence (WRHS) 23:53. 179—Liam Jones (WRHS) 24:07 (191 runners).

     Team: 1—Timpanogos 74. 13—WRHS 362 (20 teams).

     Freshman girls, 5k: 1—Anna Sanford (Highland of Pocatello) 20:16. 96—Ellie Gorham (WRHS) 26:25. 102—Alyson Rogers (WRHS) 27:00. 103—Karsyn Gerringa (WRHS) 27:00.6. 108—Emma Flolo (WRHS) 28:22. 112—Ali Barney (WRHS) 29:38. 116—Josie Koeplin (WRHS) 32:32 (119 runners).

     Team: 1—Timpanogos 61. 12—WRHS 314.

About Comments

Comments with content that seeks to incite or inflame may be removed.

Comments that are in ALL CAPS may be removed.

Comments that are off-topic or that include profanity or personal attacks, libelous or other inappropriate material may be removed from the site. Entries that are unsigned or contain signatures by someone other than the actual author may be removed. We will take steps to block users who violate any of our posting standards, terms of use or any other policies governing this site. Use of this system denotes full acceptance of these conditions. Please review the full rules governing commentaries and discussions. You are fully responsible for the content that you post.

The comments below are from the readers of and in no way represent the views of Express Publishing, Inc.

You may flag individual comments. You may also report an inappropriate or offensive comment by clicking here.

Flagging Comments: Flagging a comment tells a site administrator that a comment is inappropriate. You can find the flag option by pointing the mouse over the comment and clicking the 'Flag' link.

Flagging a comment is only counted once per person, and you won't need to do it multiple times.

Proper Flagging Guidelines: Every site has a different commenting policy - be sure to review the policy for this site before flagging comments. In general these types of comments should be flagged:

  • Spam
  • Ones violating this site's commenting policy
  • Clearly unrelated
  • Personal attacks on others
Comments should not be flagged for:
  • Disagreeing with the content
  • Being in a dispute with the commenter

Popular Comment Threads

 Local Weather 
Search archives:

Copyright © 2019 Express Publishing Inc.   Terms of Use   Privacy Policy
All Rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Express Publishing Inc. is prohibited. 

The Idaho Mountain Express is distributed free to residents and guests throughout the Sun Valley, Idaho resort area community. Subscribers to the Idaho Mountain Express will read these stories and others in this week's issue.