Wednesday, June 4, 2014

Golfers tour Sun Valley, Elkhorn in Pro-Ams

Sandersonís foursome takes Elkhorn win

    Sun Valley and Elkhorn golf courses were the sites of the Rocky Mountain Section PGA Snake River Chapter Pro-Am golf tournament on Tuesday and Wednesday, May 27-28.
    The two-day, 36-hole tour-nament featured one round at Sun Valley (Tuesday) and one round at Elkhorn (Wednesday).
    Winning the 36-hole Pro Sweeps competition among 22 PGA pros was Ryan Nielson of Falcon Crest Golf Course in Kuna with scores of 72-68 for 140. Tying for second place were former Sun Valley Direc-tor of Golf Doyle Corbett (72-76 for 148) and Idaho Falls Coun-try Club assistant professional Sean Thomsen (75-73 for 148).
    Corbett, 65, holds the Elk-horn Golf Course 18-hole record of 11-under-par 61 set Sept. 23, 1998 during a RMSPGA Pro-Am. He had 11 birdies and seven pars in that round.
    Fourth place among pros went to Preston Otte of Buhl’s Clear Lakes Country Club (73-76 for 149). Other local profes-sionals were Sun Valley’s Dominick Conti of 81-78 for 159 and Tyler Jones 87-80 for 167.
    Valley Club director of in-struction Tommy Sanderson (72-74 for 146) tied for second place in Senior Pro Sweeps with Crane Creek Country Club head pro Ron Rawls (74-72 for 146). Senior Pro Sweeps winner was John Graham (74-70 for 144), head pro at Sand Creek in Idaho Falls.
    There were two separate Pro-Am team competitions.
    Sanderson’s Pro-Am team with Corky Federico, Ken Boer and Lane Monroe captured Wednesday’s Elkhorn Pro-Am at 128. Sun Valley Director of Golf Tyler Jones tied for second out of 28 foursomes scoring 129 with amateurs Craig Kiefer, Kevin Cincotta and Chris Maz-zola.
    Winning $1,011.96 for placing first among nine teams Tues-day at Sun Valley was Sean Thomsen’s foursome with Curt Thomsen, Brent Thompson and Michael DeBattista (127). Sanderson’s team with Fede-rico, Boer and Monroe placed third for $562.
    Here’s a breakdown of top Pro-Am and Amateur Sweeps scores from separate Tuesday and Wednesday competitions:

At Sun Valley
    Pro-Am teams: 1—Pro Sean Thomsen (Idaho Falls CC) with Curt Thomsen, Brent Thomp-son and Michael DiBattista 127 for $1,011.96. 2—Pro Ryan Niel-son (Falcon Crest CC) with Garth Quigley, Tristram Coffin and Joe Estrada 131 for $768.34.
    3—Pro Tommy Sanderson (Valley Club) with Corky Fede-rico, Ken Boer and Lane Monroe 132 for $562. 4—Pro Doyle Corbett (Sun Valley) with Mike Pirzynski, Phil Do-erflein and David Lipman 133 for $412.
    6 (tie)—Pro Dominick Conti (Sun Valley) with Chris Abbott, Hunter Storey and Rich Fabi-ano 135 for $163. 6 (tie)—Pro Tyler Jones (Sun Valley) with Craig Kiefer, Kevin Cincotta and Chris Mazzola 135 for $163.
    Championship Flight—Gross: 1—Dave Hendrickson 73 for $311. 2—Philip Kennedy 75 for $259. 3—Kevin Cincotta 76 for $186. 4 (tie)—Andrew Elam 77 for $109 and Millan Batra 77 for $109. 6—Calvin Fillmore 79 for $62.
    Championship Flight—Net: 1—Brent Thompson 64 for $311. 2—Craig Redden 68 for $259. 3—Phil Doerflein 71 for $186. 4 (tie)—Corky Federico 72 for $70, Brett Comstock 72 for $70, Don Breding 72 for $70 and Mike Bosma 72 for $70.
    First Flight—Gross: 1—Rich Fabiano 83 for $311. 2 (tie)—Kirk Bybee 85 for $223 and Don Reagle 85 for $223. 4—Brian Herbert 86 for $135. 5—Rob Lane 87 for $83. 6—Tom Dahlquist 88 for $62.
    First Flight—Net: 1—Clay Bingham 66 for $311. 2 (tie)—Buddy Wendel 68 for $223 and Joe Estrada 68 for $223. 4—Hunter Storey 72 for $135. 5 (tie)—Jim Johnson 73 for $48, Stuart Shoemaker 73 for $48 and Adam Vanderham 73 for $48.

Elkhorn scores
    Pro-Am teams: 1—Pro Tommy Sanderson (Valley Club) with Corky Federico, Ken Boer and Lane Monroe 128. for $562.
    2 (tie)—Pro Tyler Jones (Sun Valley) with Craig Kiefer, Kevin Cincotta and Chris Maz-zola 129. 2 (tie)—Pro Ryan Niel-son (Falcon Crest CC) with Garth Quigley, Tristram Coffin and Joe Estrada 129. 2 (tie)—Pro Brett Nagel (The Club at Spur Wing, Meridian) with Chad Graves, Tony Tseng and Stuart Shoemaker 129.
    5 (tie)—Pro Dominick Conti (Sun Valley) with Chris Abbott, Hunter Storey and Rich Fabi-ano 131. 5 (tie)—Pro Zach Abels (Canyon Springs GC) with Buddy Wendel, Gary Burkett and Robin Sarchett 131.
    Championship Flight—Gross: 1—Ken Boer 75. 2 (tie)—Millan Batra 77, Philip Kennedy 77 and Calvin Fillmore 77.
    Championship Flight—Net: 1—Corky Federico 67. 2—Gary Burkett 69. 3—Stan Kolby 70.
    First Flight—Gross: 1—Josh Garner 82. 2—Hunter Storey 85. 3—Dan Reagle 87. 4 (tie)—Lane Monroe 90.
    First Flight—Net: 1—Vince Esposito 67. 2—Steve Wybenga 68. 3—Chris Mazzola 69. 4—Clay Bingham 71.

About Comments

Comments with content that seeks to incite or inflame may be removed.

Comments that are in ALL CAPS may be removed.

Comments that are off-topic or that include profanity or personal attacks, libelous or other inappropriate material may be removed from the site. Entries that are unsigned or contain signatures by someone other than the actual author may be removed. We will take steps to block users who violate any of our posting standards, terms of use or any other policies governing this site. Use of this system denotes full acceptance of these conditions. Please review the full rules governing commentaries and discussions. You are fully responsible for the content that you post.

The comments below are from the readers of and in no way represent the views of Express Publishing, Inc.

You may flag individual comments. You may also report an inappropriate or offensive comment by clicking here.

Flagging Comments: Flagging a comment tells a site administrator that a comment is inappropriate. You can find the flag option by pointing the mouse over the comment and clicking the 'Flag' link.

Flagging a comment is only counted once per person, and you won't need to do it multiple times.

Proper Flagging Guidelines: Every site has a different commenting policy - be sure to review the policy for this site before flagging comments. In general these types of comments should be flagged:

  • Spam
  • Ones violating this site's commenting policy
  • Clearly unrelated
  • Personal attacks on others
Comments should not be flagged for:
  • Disagreeing with the content
  • Being in a dispute with the commenter

Popular Comment Threads

 Local Weather 
Search archives:

Copyright © 2020 Express Publishing Inc.   Terms of Use   Privacy Policy
All Rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Express Publishing Inc. is prohibited. 

The Idaho Mountain Express is distributed free to residents and guests throughout the Sun Valley, Idaho resort area community. Subscribers to the Idaho Mountain Express will read these stories and others in this week's issue.