Wednesday, May 28, 2014

All-League baseball, softball players are picked

Two first-teamers from WRHS

Wood River junior catcher Cameron Benson (right), helping drag the Founders Field infield with teammate Dylan Broman, earned second-team Great Basin Conference mention for the 2014 season. Photo by Roland Lane

     The 4A Great Basin Conference prep baseball and softball leagues announced their 2014 All-Conference teams last week following the May 17 completion of the 4A state tourneys.

     Hailey’s Wood River High School put two players on the first teams—junior Ciceley Peavey as catcher in softball and senior Finn Isaacson as pitcher in baseball.

     A second-teamer last year, Isaacson (3-3 as Hailey’s pitching ace) led the Wolverines to a much-improved 10-12 season record including a 6-5 homefield mark and a GBC tournament win over the Canyon Ridge Riverhawks.

     Peavey, a Great Basin honorable mention pick last year, batted .329 for the season with 27 hits and 30 runs scored. She ranks ninth overall on the all-time Wood River on-base percentage list at .405. She was a workhorse leading Hailey to a 16-9 record behind the plate.

     Underclassmen from Wood River on GBC second teams were senior Shelby Cooper (infield); juniors Cameron Benson (catcher), Brittney Bradley (pitcher), Lacy Harrington (outfield) and Ashley Hicks (designated hitter); and sophomore Reide Whitehead (DH).

     Making honorable mention from Wood River were senior Cassidy Cooper, sophomore Adrian Rojas and freshman Blair Radford.

     Dominating the selections were State 4A baseball and softball championship teams from Twin Falls High School.

     The Twin Falls boys won their second state baseball title in four years 4-1 over Lakeland of Rathdrum. The Twin Falls girls captured their first-ever state title with a 26-2 season record including 4-0 and a 40-9 scoring advantage at state.

     Here are the selections:


     Coach of the Year—Tim Stadelmeir (Twin Falls).

     Player of the Year—Danny Freiburger (Minico junior).

     Pitcher of the Year—Dom Baker (Jerome senior).

     Catcher—First team: Tanner Harper (Minico junior). Second team: Cameron Benson (Wood River junior).

     Pitchers—First team: Kaleb Jones (Twin Falls junior), Chandler Greenfield (Twin Falls junior) and Finn Isaacson (Wood River senior). Second team: Gaige Kepner (Canyon Ridge senior), Braden Stutzman (Twin Falls junior) and Ethan Bragg (Jerome senior).

     First base—First team: Hunter Breshears (Burley senior). Second team: Mateo Arteaga (Burley junior).

     Second base—First team: Tyler Walters (Twin Falls senior). Second team: Trever Ostler (Jerome junior).

     Third base—First team: Austin Bobrowski (Jerome senior). Second team: Austin Frank (Minico sophomore).

     Shortstop—First team: Braden Stutzman (Twin Falls junior). Second team: Mario Del Bosque (Burley junior).

     Outfield—First team: Ethan Bragg (Jerome senior), Sterling Duggan (Twin Falls senior) and Michael Cantrell (Minico junior). Second team: R.J. Neveraz (Burley senior), Treyson Thomas (Jerome senior) and Braden Griffith (Canyon Ridge senior).

     Designated hitter—First team: Zach Thibault (Jerome senior). Second team: Reide Whitehead (Wood River sophomore).

     Utility—First team: Tyler Rojas (Canyon Ridge junior). Second team: Chris Chapman (Canyon Ridge junior).

     Honorable mention—Adrian Rojas (Wood River sophomore); Richard Hall (Jerome senior); Wyatt Doyle (Twin Falls senior) and Aaron Brann (Twin Falls freshman); Gunner Gridley (Jerome senior) and Nathan Suitter (Jerome senior); and Davis Gibbons (Burley sophomore).



     Coach of the Year—Jessica Pistole (Twin Falls) for a second straight year.

     Player of the Year—Cortney Nolan (Twin Falls senior).

     Pitcher of the Year—Rainey Dyreson (Twin Falls senior).

     Catcher—First team: Ciceley Peavey (Wood River junior). Second team: Jenna Gray (Canyon Ridge freshman).

     Pitcher—First team: Megan Hinojos (Twin Falls senior). Second team: Brittney Bradley (WRHS junior).

     Infield—First team: Brooke Swafford, Skylar Call and Jordan Henley (Twin Falls sophomores), and Jessica Praegitzer (Jerome senior).

     Second team: Shelby Cooper (Wood River senior), Keeley-Shea Salazar (Minico sophomore), Kassadie Brooks (Canyon Ridge freshman) and Lynsey Hudelson (Canyon Ridge sophomore).

     Outfield—First team: Courtney Ellis and Makenzie Swafford (Twin Falls seniors), and Tayla Sayer (Minico freshman).

     Second team: Lacy Harrington (Wood River junior), Taylor Deboard (Twin Falls senior) and Maddie Bauman (Canyon Ridge freshman).

     Designated hitter—First team: Morgan Harshbarger (Twin Falls senior). Second team: Ashley Hicks (Wood River junior).

     Utility—First team: Kayler Detmer (Canyon Ridge sophomore). Second team: Taylor Harrison (Jerome sophomore).

     Honorable mention—Blair Radford (Wood River freshman) and Cassidy Cooper (Wood River senior); Bailey Somerset (Jerome sophomore); Katie Tolbert and Samantha Beverly (Canyon Ridge freshmen); Jayme Schenk and Danica Asher (Burley seniors), and Zoe Ferrin (Burley junior).

About Comments

Comments with content that seeks to incite or inflame may be removed.

Comments that are in ALL CAPS may be removed.

Comments that are off-topic or that include profanity or personal attacks, libelous or other inappropriate material may be removed from the site. Entries that are unsigned or contain signatures by someone other than the actual author may be removed. We will take steps to block users who violate any of our posting standards, terms of use or any other policies governing this site. Use of this system denotes full acceptance of these conditions. Please review the full rules governing commentaries and discussions. You are fully responsible for the content that you post.

The comments below are from the readers of and in no way represent the views of Express Publishing, Inc.

You may flag individual comments. You may also report an inappropriate or offensive comment by clicking here.

Flagging Comments: Flagging a comment tells a site administrator that a comment is inappropriate. You can find the flag option by pointing the mouse over the comment and clicking the 'Flag' link.

Flagging a comment is only counted once per person, and you won't need to do it multiple times.

Proper Flagging Guidelines: Every site has a different commenting policy - be sure to review the policy for this site before flagging comments. In general these types of comments should be flagged:

  • Spam
  • Ones violating this site's commenting policy
  • Clearly unrelated
  • Personal attacks on others
Comments should not be flagged for:
  • Disagreeing with the content
  • Being in a dispute with the commenter

Popular Comment Threads

 Local Weather 
Search archives:

Copyright © 2019 Express Publishing Inc.   Terms of Use   Privacy Policy
All Rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Express Publishing Inc. is prohibited. 

The Idaho Mountain Express is distributed free to residents and guests throughout the Sun Valley, Idaho resort area community. Subscribers to the Idaho Mountain Express will read these stories and others in this week's issue.