Wednesday, April 23, 2014

SVSEF freestyle program holds awards banquet

Successful 2013-14 season

     “I am not ready for the season to be over,” said Sun Valley Ski Education Foundation’s Andy Ware during Wednesday’s season-ending awards banquet of the Freestyle/Freeski program.

     Ware’s enthusiasm for his team was on display as 200 athletes, families, coaches and friends packed Whiskey Jacques in Ketchum, said SVSEF communications director Jody Zarkos.

     She said the SVSEF freestyle and freeski program attracted the most athletes in its history with 113, an upswing of 30 percent.

     Ware extended thanks to the SVSEF administrative staff especially Katrina Collins, event assistants Jennifer Diehl, Julie LaFleur, Penelope Murray and Sandy Kelly along with these coaches:

     Joey Cordeau, Shane Cordeau, Ross Falcone, Clint Lightner, Josh Zuck, Reed Snyderman, Murray, Chris Rybak, Kurtis Fieguth, Collin Collins, Diehl, Conor Davis, Brandon Doan, Alden Carter, Joe Marx, Mike Sheehan, Jamie Collins, Todd Bracher, Corey Warren and Justine Kaiser.

     Nine of the team’s 21 high school athletes attained grade point averages of 3.5 or higher during the winter, including Tobias Verheijen, Renee Shapiro, Jack Rizzo, Alysha Herich, Trevor Hattabaugh, Claire Siderman, Parker Nance, Cutter Grathwohl and Justin Kennedy.

     Coaches Award recipients were: Claire Siderman, Tobias Verheijen and Justin Kennedy (Comp Travel Team); Addie Rafford and Hunter Diehl (Comp Home Team); Sam Ware and Tripp Benners (Prep Team); Sammy Smith and Gage Wilson (Devo Team).

     Earning the Ron Van Hagen “Defining Success” honors were Eliza Marks and Jacob Beebe.

     Most Inspirational was Wilson Dunn.

     Giving Senior Speeches Wednesday were Wyatt Wilson and Trevor Hattabaugh.

About Comments

Comments with content that seeks to incite or inflame may be removed.

Comments that are in ALL CAPS may be removed.

Comments that are off-topic or that include profanity or personal attacks, libelous or other inappropriate material may be removed from the site. Entries that are unsigned or contain signatures by someone other than the actual author may be removed. We will take steps to block users who violate any of our posting standards, terms of use or any other policies governing this site. Use of this system denotes full acceptance of these conditions. Please review the full rules governing commentaries and discussions. You are fully responsible for the content that you post.

The comments below are from the readers of and in no way represent the views of Express Publishing, Inc.

You may flag individual comments. You may also report an inappropriate or offensive comment by clicking here.

Flagging Comments: Flagging a comment tells a site administrator that a comment is inappropriate. You can find the flag option by pointing the mouse over the comment and clicking the 'Flag' link.

Flagging a comment is only counted once per person, and you won't need to do it multiple times.

Proper Flagging Guidelines: Every site has a different commenting policy - be sure to review the policy for this site before flagging comments. In general these types of comments should be flagged:

  • Spam
  • Ones violating this site's commenting policy
  • Clearly unrelated
  • Personal attacks on others
Comments should not be flagged for:
  • Disagreeing with the content
  • Being in a dispute with the commenter

Popular Comment Threads

 Local Weather 
Search archives:

Copyright © 2020 Express Publishing Inc.   Terms of Use   Privacy Policy
All Rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Express Publishing Inc. is prohibited. 

The Idaho Mountain Express is distributed free to residents and guests throughout the Sun Valley, Idaho resort area community. Subscribers to the Idaho Mountain Express will read these stories and others in this week's issue.