Wednesday, March 19, 2014

Film Festival puts on a show

Sun Valley Film Festival announces winners

     The third annual Sun Valley Film Festival wrapped up a successful, fun-packed festival over the weekend with a jumping Saturday night awards party hosted by actor Michael Weaver and a rousing set by Nashville rockers Those Darlins entertained the crowd with the winners pogoing and moshing their way into the night. Sunday saw a final Coffee Talk with filmmaker Kevin Smith on hand to delight a packed house at the nexStage Theater, as well present an encore 20th anniversary screening of his landmark film “Clerks.”

     “I am so pleased with this year’s fest,” said festival programming director Laura Mehlhaff. “The audiences came out in droves and the attending filmmakers all had a spectacular time viewing each others’ works and interacting with all the great industry guests.”

     This year saw the launch of a new initiative at the SVFF in partnership with Nat Geo WILD and the African Wildlife Foundation. The first WILD to INSPIRE prize was awarded to Dan Duran, Sam Price-Waldman, and Brendan Nahmias for “Wolf Mountain.” Director Dan Duran will receive an opportunity to study filmmaking and wildlife in the Maasai Steppe landscape in Tanzania, Africa with Emmy Award winning cinematographer, Bob Poole.

     Nat Geo WILD and Sun Valley Film Festival also announced they will be doing a second competition. More details to follow in the coming months.

     The SVFF features a diverse list of awards, including two cash prizes designated specifically for Idaho filmmakers and one for student filmmakers under 18 years old. In addition to two audience awards (narrative and documentary), the festival’s juried awards include:

• The Vision Award: Recognizes a producer’s ability to keep a dramatic, feature length film in focus during the journey of the project. Winner: “Little Accidents,” Jason Berman, Anne Carey, Tom Fore, and Summer Shelton, producers.

• The “One-In-A-Million” Awards: One narrative and one documentary for feature length films made for under $1,000,000. Winners: Jeremy Saulnier for “Blue Ruin” and Anthony Powell for “Antarctica: A Year on Ice.”

• The Audience award: Winner: Mike Myers for “Supermensch.”

• The Gem State Award: Presented by festival sponsor Zions Bank, is a $1,000 juried prize that recognizes an Idaho filmmaker whose work best reflects the beauty and diversity of the Gem State. Winner: Andrew Garcia and Nathan Garcia for “The Lighthouse.”

• The Gem State Junior Award: Recognizes the best short film made by an Idaho student aged 18 or younger along with a prize of $250.  Winner: Ethan Holt for “The Mind Absent of Silence.”

• The Hot Shot Award: Presented to the best film helmed by a student filmmaker under 18 years old along with a $500 cash reward, sponsored by the Marshall Frankel Foundation. Winner: Malone Lumarda for “Black Rock Creek.”

• The Shorty Award: Presented to the best short story film, no matter the genre or aesthetic. Winner: Elliot Thomson for “Le Refuge.”

• The Focus Award: Celebrates the cinematographer who most brings the film’s vision into focus.Winner: Zack Spiger for “Run.”

About Comments

Comments with content that seeks to incite or inflame may be removed.

Comments that are in ALL CAPS may be removed.

Comments that are off-topic or that include profanity or personal attacks, libelous or other inappropriate material may be removed from the site. Entries that are unsigned or contain signatures by someone other than the actual author may be removed. We will take steps to block users who violate any of our posting standards, terms of use or any other policies governing this site. Use of this system denotes full acceptance of these conditions. Please review the full rules governing commentaries and discussions. You are fully responsible for the content that you post.

The comments below are from the readers of and in no way represent the views of Express Publishing, Inc.

You may flag individual comments. You may also report an inappropriate or offensive comment by clicking here.

Flagging Comments: Flagging a comment tells a site administrator that a comment is inappropriate. You can find the flag option by pointing the mouse over the comment and clicking the 'Flag' link.

Flagging a comment is only counted once per person, and you won't need to do it multiple times.

Proper Flagging Guidelines: Every site has a different commenting policy - be sure to review the policy for this site before flagging comments. In general these types of comments should be flagged:

  • Spam
  • Ones violating this site's commenting policy
  • Clearly unrelated
  • Personal attacks on others
Comments should not be flagged for:
  • Disagreeing with the content
  • Being in a dispute with the commenter

Popular Comment Threads

 Local Weather 
Search archives:

Copyright © 2020 Express Publishing Inc.   Terms of Use   Privacy Policy
All Rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Express Publishing Inc. is prohibited. 

The Idaho Mountain Express is distributed free to residents and guests throughout the Sun Valley, Idaho resort area community. Subscribers to the Idaho Mountain Express will read these stories and others in this week's issue.