Friday, December 27, 2013

2013-14 Local Nordic and Junior Team Schedule


                For the 2013-14 racing season. Intermountain Division qualifying races for Junior Nationals are denoted with asterisks (*). Age classes are U-20 ages 18-19; U-18 ages 16-17; U-16 ages 14-15; U-14 ages 12-13; U-12 ages 10-11; U-10 ages 8-9; and U-8 ages 6-7. ASMS refers to 2014 American Ski Marathon Series. Major local events in bold.

 

DATES EVENT LOCATION
Thursday-Friday, Jan. 2-10 World Jr./U-23/Scandinavian Cup Trials Soldier Hollow, Utah
Thursday-Friday, Jan. 2-10 2014 U.S. Cross Country Championships Soldier Hollow, Utah
Saturday, Jan. 4, 2014 Prairie Creek Snowmaker Classic Baker Creek start, 11:00
Saturday, Jan. 4 Idaho Parks & Rec Ski Free Day Wood River trail system
Saturday, Jan. 11 11th annual Teton Ridge Classic Driggs (tetonridgeclass.com), 10:00
Sunday, Jan. 12 Ski the Boulder Clinic Galena Lodge, 10-11:30
Saturday, Jan. 18 Billy Goat Loppet SVSC Championship, 10k Billy’s Bridge
Sunday, Jan. 19 Ski the Boulder Clinic Galena Lodge, 10-11:30
Saturday, Jan. 25 Intermountain Open JN qualifier, skate* Lake Creek, Ketchum
Sunday, Jan. 26 Intermountain Open JN qualifier, classic* Lake Creek, Ketchum

 2014 SV NORDIC FESTIVAL

Saturday-Sunday, Jan. 25-Feb. 2 5th annual Sun Valley Nordic Festival Sun Valley, svnordicfestival.com
Saturday, Jan. 25 Intermountain Open JN qualifier, skate* Lake Creek, Ketchum
Saturday, Jan. 25 BCRD Ski the Rails Wood River trail system, 10 a.m.
Saturday, Jan. 25 18th annual Galena/Ski Trails Winter Benefit SV Inn Limelight, 5:30 p.m.
Sunday, Jan. 26 Intermountain Open JN qualifier, classic* Lake Creek, Ketchum
Sunday, Jan. 26 “Skin It to Win It” Randonee Race Dollar Mountain, 11 a.m.
Sunday, Jan. 26 29th Annual Paw ‘n Pole Croy Nordic Trails, 12:00
Wednesday, Jan. 29 Sun Valley Ski Hall of Fame induction nexStage Theatre, Ketchum, 5:00
Thursday, Jan. 30 Downtown Ketchum Jam and Sprints SV Center field, Ketchum, 4 p.m.
Friday, Jan. 31 Boulder Mountain Ski Tour Expo Wood River YMCA, 10 a.m.
Saturday, Feb. 1 39th Boulder Mountain Ski Tour/Half Boulder Galena Lodge, 10 a.m.
Sunday, Feb. 2 SWIX Boulder Ski Tour Demo Sun Valley Nordic, 10 a.m.
Wednesday-Saturday, Feb. 5-8 Soldier Hollow JN qualifier* Soldier Hollow, Midway, Utah
Thursday-Sunday, Feb. 6-23 2014 Winter Olympics Sochi, Russia
Saturday, Feb. 8 Intermountain JN team named After Soldier Hollow JN races
Saturday, Feb. 8 Leif’s Combined Alpine/Nordic Baldy/SV Nordic
Saturday, Feb. 8 2nd annual McCall Re-Mastered Ponderosa State Park, 45/30/15k skate
Sunday, Feb. 9 McCall Re-Mastered Classic 10k/5k Jug Mt. Ranch (mccallremastered.com)
Saturday, Feb. 15 Papoose Club Croy Cup (citizens/Devo kids) Croy Creek Nordic, Hailey
Sunday, Feb. 16 Boulder Backwards Classic Ski Tour Galena Lodge/Elephant’s Perch
Friday-Sunday, Feb. 21-23 Intermountain Division Youth Ski Festival Park City, Utah
Saturday, Feb. 22 42nd ASMS American Birkebeiner Hayward, Wisc., mass start 52k
Thursday-Sunday, Feb. 27-March 2 B.C. Nordic Championships Kelowna, B.C., Canada
Thursday-Sunday, Feb. 27-March 2 AXCS Masters Nationals Anchorage, Ak.
Sunday, March 2 ASMS Tour of Anchorage Anchorage, Ak.
Sunday-Saturday, March 2-8 2014 USSA Cross Country Junior Nationals Stowe, Vermont
Saturday, March 8 35th annual ASMS Yellowstone Rendezvous West Yellowstone, Mt.
Thursday-Saturday, March 6-8 61st NCAA Nordic Ski Championships Soldier Hollow, Midway, Utah
Friday-Sunday, March 7-9 2014 TD Bank U.S. J2 National Championships Ripton, Vermont
Friday-Sunday, March 7-16 2014 Paralympic Winter Games Sochi, Russia
Saturday, March 8 Devo Nordic triathlon/End of Year Party SVSEF Devo, Lake Creek
Thursday, March 13 Annual X-C Team Comp/Prep Awards Banquet TBA
Sunday, March 16 ASMS California Gold Rush Royal Gorge, Ca.
Thursday-Sunday, March 20-23 Western Cross Country Ski Club Championships TBA
Sunday-Saturday, March 23-29 USSA Super Tour Finals Anchorage, Ak.
Sunday-Saturday, March 23-29 USSA Long Course Nationals (50k/30k) Anchorage, Ak.
Thursday-Saturday, April 3-5 SVSEF Bill Janss Pro-Am Sun Valley
Sunday, April 6 Ride/Stride/Glide & Winter Closing Day Galena Lodge

NOTES—The schedule for the 2014 U.S. Cross Country Championships (short distance) at Soldier Hollow near Midway, Utah: On Saturday, Jan. 4, classic individual start (women 10k/men 15k); on Sunday, Jan. 5, freestyle sprint qualifications and final heats; on Wednesday, Jan. 8, mass start freestyle men’s 30k/women’s 20k (10k/5k juniors); and on Friday, Jan. 10, classic sprint qualifications and final heats ……Soldier Hollow in Midway, Utah is hosting the Nordic events of the 2014 NCAA Ski Championships. The women’s 5k classic and men’s 10k classic races are Thursday, March 6. The men’s 20k mass start and women’s 15k mass start freestyle races are Saturday, March 8. Alpine racing events are March 5 (GS) and March 7 (SL) at Park City Mountain Resort.……Here is the schedule for the 2014 USSA Cross Country Junior Nationals March 2-8 at Trapp Family Lodge in Stowe, Vt.: Monday, March 3, classic interval start; on Wednesday, March 15, classic sprints; on Friday, March 7, mass start freestyle; on Saturday, March 8, freestyle relay and final banquet/awards. For more details visit www.jn2014stowe.com.…..This is the 15th season for the Bend (Ore.)-based American Ski Marathon Series (541-382-3503).




About Comments

Comments with content that seeks to incite or inflame may be removed.

Comments that are in ALL CAPS may be removed.

Comments that are off-topic or that include profanity or personal attacks, libelous or other inappropriate material may be removed from the site. Entries that are unsigned or contain signatures by someone other than the actual author may be removed. We will take steps to block users who violate any of our posting standards, terms of use or any other policies governing this site. Use of this system denotes full acceptance of these conditions. Please review the full rules governing commentaries and discussions. You are fully responsible for the content that you post.

The comments below are from the readers of mtexpress.com and in no way represent the views of Express Publishing, Inc.

You may flag individual comments. You may also report an inappropriate or offensive comment by clicking here.

Flagging Comments: Flagging a comment tells a site administrator that a comment is inappropriate. You can find the flag option by pointing the mouse over the comment and clicking the 'Flag' link.

Flagging a comment is only counted once per person, and you won't need to do it multiple times.

Proper Flagging Guidelines: Every site has a different commenting policy - be sure to review the policy for this site before flagging comments. In general these types of comments should be flagged:

  • Spam
  • Ones violating this site's commenting policy
  • Clearly unrelated
  • Personal attacks on others
Comments should not be flagged for:
  • Disagreeing with the content
  • Being in a dispute with the commenter

Popular Comment Threads



 Local Weather 
Search archives:


Copyright © 2020 Express Publishing Inc.   Terms of Use   Privacy Policy
All Rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Express Publishing Inc. is prohibited. 

The Idaho Mountain Express is distributed free to residents and guests throughout the Sun Valley, Idaho resort area community. Subscribers to the Idaho Mountain Express will read these stories and others in this week's issue.