Wednesday, November 27, 2013

Dies, Watts make All-State girls’ soccer

Voted by coaches’ group

Community School senior Hannah Dies made the All-State girls’ soccer team for a second straight year. Photo by Roland Lane

    Community School senior Hannah Dies and Boise High School sophomore Maddy Watts were two of 14 players chosen for the 2013 Girls’ Idaho High School All-State Soccer Team by the Idaho High School Soccer Coaches Association.
    Dies and Watts, both raised in the Wood River Valley, were prominent members of the All-State teams dominated by State 5A boys’ and girls’ team cham-pion Boise High School and its “Coaches of the Year” Mike Darrow (boys) and Chris Siegenthaler (girls).
    The only small-school player chosen for All-State for a sec-ond straight year, Dies (34 goals as a senior) ended her four-year Community School career with a school-record 105 goals in-cluding 15 hat tricks. She scored in 51 of 78 varsity games and sparked coach Kelly Feld-man’s Cutthroats to two straight State 3A tournament runner-up finishes.
    Before leaving the valley to attend school in Boise, Watts led the Sawtooth United F.C. U-14 girls to the 2011 Canyon Rim Classic tournament champion-ship in Twin Falls.
    The Boise girls (18-2-1) de-feated Centennial 1-0 in the State 5A tournament title game Oct. 26 for Siegenthaler’s sixth state championship. The Boise boys (18-1-2) drubbed Centen-nial 4-0 in the final for the Braves’ fourth state crown.
    Boise High placed nine boys and girls on the All-State team out of 27 selections made by the Meridian-based IHSSCA.
    Here is a complete list of the All-State soccer players:

    Player of the Year—Raimee Scherle, Rocky Mountain sophomore forward.
    Forwards—Rikki Fix, Boise senior; Allegra Weeks, Timber-line junior; Emma Bailey, Ea-gle freshman; and Hannah Dies, Community School sen-ior.
    Midfielders—Maggie Saras, Timberline senior; Akina Fu-jimoto, Mountain View senior; Maddy Watts, Boise sopho-more; and Hailey Boyd, Boise senior.
    Defenders—Jenna Clubb, Timberline senior; Calle Belo-doff, Boise senior; Sarah Toney, Rocky Mountain senior; and Hailey Woods, Meridian senior.
    Goalkeeper—Hannah Grif-fin, Timberline senior.
    Coach of the Year—Chris Siegenthaler, Boise High School.

    Player of the Year—Tyson Fox, Rocky Mountain senior.
    Forwards—Timmy Mueller, Post Falls senior; Carter Perry, Boise senior; and Garrett Hardesty, Boise senior.
    Midfielders—Robert Madril, Centennial junior; Tyler Smith, Eagle senior; Brett Becia, Capi-tal junior; and Ryan Miles, Madison senior.
    Defenders—Richard Ridlon, Boise senior; Eric Bambic, Timberline sophomore; Jaeden Stevens, Centennial senior; and Reagan Phillips, Boise junior.
    Goalkeeper—Grant Billings, Boise senior.
    Coach of the Year—Mike Darrow, Boise High School.

About Comments

Comments with content that seeks to incite or inflame may be removed.

Comments that are in ALL CAPS may be removed.

Comments that are off-topic or that include profanity or personal attacks, libelous or other inappropriate material may be removed from the site. Entries that are unsigned or contain signatures by someone other than the actual author may be removed. We will take steps to block users who violate any of our posting standards, terms of use or any other policies governing this site. Use of this system denotes full acceptance of these conditions. Please review the full rules governing commentaries and discussions. You are fully responsible for the content that you post.

The comments below are from the readers of and in no way represent the views of Express Publishing, Inc.

You may flag individual comments. You may also report an inappropriate or offensive comment by clicking here.

Flagging Comments: Flagging a comment tells a site administrator that a comment is inappropriate. You can find the flag option by pointing the mouse over the comment and clicking the 'Flag' link.

Flagging a comment is only counted once per person, and you won't need to do it multiple times.

Proper Flagging Guidelines: Every site has a different commenting policy - be sure to review the policy for this site before flagging comments. In general these types of comments should be flagged:

  • Spam
  • Ones violating this site's commenting policy
  • Clearly unrelated
  • Personal attacks on others
Comments should not be flagged for:
  • Disagreeing with the content
  • Being in a dispute with the commenter

Popular Comment Threads

 Local Weather 
Search archives:

Copyright © 2020 Express Publishing Inc.   Terms of Use   Privacy Policy
All Rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Express Publishing Inc. is prohibited. 

The Idaho Mountain Express is distributed free to residents and guests throughout the Sun Valley, Idaho resort area community. Subscribers to the Idaho Mountain Express will read these stories and others in this week's issue.