Friday, November 1, 2013

WRHS soccer players make All-Great Basin teams

Monjaras shares top coach, Kelly tops on defense

Express Staff Writer

Wood River junior Samantha Sutton, taking a corner kick here, was one of 14 Wolverines named Wednesday to Great Basin Conference All-League teams for 2013. Photo by Roland Lane

     In a fitting award, Wood River High School boys’ varsity soccer coach Luis Monjaras and Jerome High School boys’ coach Robert Garcia shared “Coach of the Year” honors when the Great Basin Conference 2013 All-Conference teams were announced Wednesday.

     Fifth-year Hailey coach Monjaras guided Wood River (12-4-4) to its first-ever State 4A championship game appearance and a runner-up finish, while 10th-year Jerome coach Garcia took the Tigers (17-4-0) to their first-ever State 4A tournament title with a thrilling 3-1 win over Wood River Saturday in Middleton.

     On the Great Basin girls’ side, Wood River junior Timber Kelly was voted as “Defensive Player of the Year.” The girls’ “Coach of the Year” was Katie Kauffman of the three-time GBC tournament winner Twin Falls Bruins, and senior Maddie Watkins of Twin Falls was “Offensive Player of the Year.”

     The boys’ “Player of the Year” was Canyon Ridge senior goalkeeper Josh Clark.

     In all, seven Wood River boys and seven Wolverine girls were singled out, with first-team honors going to Eron Bates, Jose Ortiz, Lucy Brannon, Jesse Cole and Olivia Thornton.

     Meanwhile, Wood River and Community School players participated in the second annual All-Star Senior Soccer Game Tuesday at Wendell High School.

     In the girls’ game, the South won 5-2 over the North with South goals by Jenna Jarolimek of Filer, Ellie Packham (2) and Liz Guzman of Canyon Ridge and Darby Robertson of Filer. Scoring for the North that included Community School players were Yesenia Martinez and Ashley Cox, both from Jerome.

     Scoring by three Wood River boys—Jose Ortiz, Andrew Graves and Eron Bates—led the North boys that included Community School players to a 4-1 win over the South. Jesse Cardenas of Gooding also scored for the North. The lone South goal came from David Geske of Twin Falls.

     Here are the GBC selections:

       GBC boys’ first team: Edgar Juarez (Jerome senior); Eron Bates and Jose Ortiz (WR seniors); Christian Mahoney (Burley senior); Taylor Haman and David Geske (Twin Falls seniors); Eric Tapia and Giovanni Saldana (Minico juniors); Yovani Martinez and Freddy Gonzalez (Jerome juniors); and Oscar Delatorre (Canyon Ridge senior).

       GBC girls’ first team: Ellie Packham (Canyon Ridge senior); Ashley Cox and Yesenia Martinez (Jerome seniors); Aracely Cuevas (Burley senior); Lucy Brannon and Olivia Thornton (WR juniors); Jesse Cole (WR freshman); Carolyn Hernandez (Twin Falls senior); Mehli Marcellus, Kylie Greenawald and Hannah Greenawald (Twin Falls juniors).

       GBC boys’ second team: Zac Miczulski and Miguel Velasco (WR seniors); Jackson Greener (Burley senior); Axel Pihl and Tanner Rawson (Twin Falls seniors); Daniel Coats (Minico junior); Antonio Grandos and Jose Vidaca (Jerome soph, junior); Rodrigo Perez (Twin Falls soph); Keion Peterson and Om Basnet (Canyon Ridge junior, senior).

       GBC girls’ second team: Tate Morell and Samantha Sutton (WR juniors); Griselda Arevalo (Minico senior); Allison Simmons (Twin Falls senior); Sabrina Tarchione and Peyton Karl (Twin Falls juniors); Gaby Cerrantes (Jerome soph); Kestle Mosoner (Burley soph); Courtney Stenger and Kennedy Stenger (Canyon Ridge juniors); and Lindsey Williams (Twin Falls soph).

       GBC boys’ honorable mention: Stephen Pfeiffer and Andrew Graves (WR seniors); Jon Scott (WR junior); Karsten Hinckley (Burley senior); Carlos Juarez (Minico senior); Jorge Baeza (Jerome senior); Brian Quiterio (Canyon Ridge senior); and Ryan Walters (Twin Falls soph).

       GBC girls’ honorable mention: Laurel Gaeddert (WR senior); Taylor Hill, Melissa Valencia and Arley Alaya (Jerome seniors); Rebecca Behrens (Twin Falls senior); Lupe Saldana (Minico senior); Maria Mojica and Ivonne Guaddarama (Burley seniors); Jackie Hamblin (Burley junior); Alexandra Kamossa (Canyon Ridge soph); and Victoria Vasquez (Minico senior).



About Comments

Comments with content that seeks to incite or inflame may be removed.

Comments that are in ALL CAPS may be removed.

Comments that are off-topic or that include profanity or personal attacks, libelous or other inappropriate material may be removed from the site. Entries that are unsigned or contain signatures by someone other than the actual author may be removed. We will take steps to block users who violate any of our posting standards, terms of use or any other policies governing this site. Use of this system denotes full acceptance of these conditions. Please review the full rules governing commentaries and discussions. You are fully responsible for the content that you post.

The comments below are from the readers of and in no way represent the views of Express Publishing, Inc.

You may flag individual comments. You may also report an inappropriate or offensive comment by clicking here.

Flagging Comments: Flagging a comment tells a site administrator that a comment is inappropriate. You can find the flag option by pointing the mouse over the comment and clicking the 'Flag' link.

Flagging a comment is only counted once per person, and you won't need to do it multiple times.

Proper Flagging Guidelines: Every site has a different commenting policy - be sure to review the policy for this site before flagging comments. In general these types of comments should be flagged:

  • Spam
  • Ones violating this site's commenting policy
  • Clearly unrelated
  • Personal attacks on others
Comments should not be flagged for:
  • Disagreeing with the content
  • Being in a dispute with the commenter

Popular Comment Threads

 Local Weather 
Search archives:

Copyright © 2020 Express Publishing Inc.   Terms of Use   Privacy Policy
All Rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Express Publishing Inc. is prohibited. 

The Idaho Mountain Express is distributed free to residents and guests throughout the Sun Valley, Idaho resort area community. Subscribers to the Idaho Mountain Express will read these stories and others in this week's issue.