Friday, October 4, 2013

Prep runners tour the Snake River canyon

WRHS, Cutthroats at Dani Bates footrace

Community School senior Nate Nasvik, shown here finishing at the Sun Valley Classic foot-race in Elkhorn Sept. 6, was the top Cutthroat boy at Wednesday’s Dani Bates Invitational with an 18:16 time for 3.1 miles. Photo by Roland Lane

     Many of Idaho’s top high school cross country runners and hopefuls for the future were in the Dani Bates Invitational field of 816 varsity and junior varsity runners Wednesday afternoon at Canyon Springs Golf Course in Twin Falls.

     Hailey’s Wood River High School sent 31 runners led by senior Haley Montgomery and junior Alexis Gonzalez, and the Community School of Sun Valley had 12 in the mix paced by varsity leaders Nate Nasvik, Nate Thomas and Tara Burchmore.

     The boys’ overall winner on the 3.1-mile course was Pocatello junior Elijah Armstrong (15:35), who owns Idaho’s top time this fall of 15:19 at the Bob Firman meet. Pocatello put three boys in the top five and won the team title over Highland of Pocatello.

     Rarely does a small school runner win a varsity race when large and small Idaho schools of every classification converge.

     But Gooding senior Rachel Youren (19:07) did just that Wednesday. She posted a season-best time in capturing the Dani Bates girls’ varsity race by nearly 18 seconds. Youren was the 2A/1A state champion in 2011. Her 19:07 time Wednesday was just five seconds behind the time she clocked in Lewiston last fall in placing second in the State 3A girls’ footrace.

     Idaho Falls (65) nipped Soda Springs (78) for the girls’ title.

     Wood River assistant coach Kari Haugen and head coach Heather Miller were impressed with the team’s progress at the Dani Bates. They said, “This is a great course to set a personal record and we had perfect weather to do that.”

     Dani Bates top results and local runners, many with personal bests and time improvements:

     Girls’ varsity: 1—Rachel Youren (Gooding) 19:07. 22—Haley Montgomery (WR) 20:38. 52—Janel Passey (WR) 21:34. 65—Amy Cantrell (WR) 22:08. 82—Amanda Passey (WR) 22:30. 118—Tara Burchmore (CS) 23:37. 142—Hallie MacPherson (WR) 24:35. 143—Avery Closser (WR) 24:39. 152—Annika Landis (CS) 25:29. 159—Reyna Kelly (WR) 26:31 (172 runners). Team: 1—Idaho Falls 65. 13—Wood River 347 (23 schools).

     Boys’ varsity: 1—Elijah Armstrong (Pocatello) 15:35. 60—Alexis Gonzalez (WR) 17:55. 76—Nate Nasvik (CS) 18:16. 78—Nate Thomas (CS) 18:18.27. 79—Nathan Stouffer (WR) 18:18.72. 96—Nelson Cantrell (WR) 18:37. 117—Irvin Gonzalez (WR) 19:06. 123—Connor Hayes (WR) 19:10. 136—Sam Burns (WR) 19:33 (191 runners). Team: 1—Pocatello 48. 17—Wood River 464 (29 schools).

     Girls’ junior varsity: 1—Brook Chilton (Century) 20:43. 63—Shelby Barnes (WR) 24:52. 72—Alyssa Diamond (CS) 25:02. 79—Brooke Sundholm (WR) 25:27. 88—Alyson Cavallo (WR) 25:39. 117—Sophia DeKlotz (CS) 26:25.15. 118—Sienna Polk (CS) 26:25.88. 154—Alexandra Begley (WR) 27:54. 161—Yisel Reigle (WR) 28:13. 178—Brooke Allen (CS) 28:52. 182—Chloe Lichtenberg (WR) 29:07. 184—Tess Burchmore (CS) 29:20. 201—Isabel Kirk (CS) 34:07 (206 runners) Team: 1—Soda Springs 35. 15—Wood River 420. 17—Community School 477 (17 schools).

     Boys’ junior varsity: 1—Reese Oakey (Idaho Falls) 17:56. 30—Cameron Bingham (WR) 19:13. 57—Wyatt Smith (WR) 19:47. 88—Landon Schley (CS) 20:30. 97—Kenny Pratt (WR) 20:40. 132—Asher Loomis (WR) 21:28. 152—Jacob Halopoff (WR) 21:54. 156—Cooper Dean (WR) 22:02. 159—Joseph Anderson (WR) 22:11. 170—Evan Hesselbacher (WR) 22:29. 172—Beckett Dykhouse (WR) 22:33. 191—Cormac Heneghan (WR) 23:09. 215—Colby Castle (WR) 25:29. 221—Kiran Merchant (CS) 26:16. 237—Ryan Halopoff (WR) 33:01 (238 runners). Team: 1—Idaho Falls 32. 14—Wood River 369 (19 schools).

About Comments

Comments with content that seeks to incite or inflame may be removed.

Comments that are in ALL CAPS may be removed.

Comments that are off-topic or that include profanity or personal attacks, libelous or other inappropriate material may be removed from the site. Entries that are unsigned or contain signatures by someone other than the actual author may be removed. We will take steps to block users who violate any of our posting standards, terms of use or any other policies governing this site. Use of this system denotes full acceptance of these conditions. Please review the full rules governing commentaries and discussions. You are fully responsible for the content that you post.

The comments below are from the readers of and in no way represent the views of Express Publishing, Inc.

You may flag individual comments. You may also report an inappropriate or offensive comment by clicking here.

Flagging Comments: Flagging a comment tells a site administrator that a comment is inappropriate. You can find the flag option by pointing the mouse over the comment and clicking the 'Flag' link.

Flagging a comment is only counted once per person, and you won't need to do it multiple times.

Proper Flagging Guidelines: Every site has a different commenting policy - be sure to review the policy for this site before flagging comments. In general these types of comments should be flagged:

  • Spam
  • Ones violating this site's commenting policy
  • Clearly unrelated
  • Personal attacks on others
Comments should not be flagged for:
  • Disagreeing with the content
  • Being in a dispute with the commenter

Popular Comment Threads

 Local Weather 
Search archives:

Copyright © 2020 Express Publishing Inc.   Terms of Use   Privacy Policy
All Rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Express Publishing Inc. is prohibited. 

The Idaho Mountain Express is distributed free to residents and guests throughout the Sun Valley, Idaho resort area community. Subscribers to the Idaho Mountain Express will read these stories and others in this week's issue.