Wednesday, September 11, 2013

Sunny day for 435 runners at SV Classic

WRHS senior Montgomery adds win

Wood Riverís Connor Hayes high-steps along the Sun Valley Classic course Friday. Photo by Roland Lane

     On a fine day for running, Wood River High School senior Haley Montgomery (22:27) won her second prep footrace in two weeks Friday.

     She breezed to a 45-second victory in Friday’s Sun Valley Classic 3.1-mile girls’ varsity event on the hilly Sagewillow Farms course in Elkhorn. Montgomery out-distanced runner-up Sadie Heindel (23:12), a Middleton senior.

     Wolverine senior Janel Passey (24:13) placed sixth and her sophomore sister Amanda Passey (24:34) was eighth helping Wood River (62 points) into third place in the girls’ 4A team ranks behind Jerome (40) and Twin Falls (60).

     Hosted by the Community School of Sun Valley and Hailey’s Wood River High, the two-lap challenge took place at 6,800-foot elevation and attracted 435 runners—275 from high school and 160 from middle school.

     Another local winner was Community School eighth-grader Henry Raff (9:24) in the 1.6-mile middle school race.

     Top runners and results for the Wood River High and Community School varsity and junior varsity runners in Friday’s event.

     For a complete listing including team finishes and middle school runners, check the Express Web site:


High school (5k)

     Boys’ 4A varsity: 1—Matthew Schenk (Twin Falls) 17:57. 12—Ty Reinemann (WR) 19:54. 28—Alexis Gonzalez (WR) 20:58. 30—Nelson Cantrell (WR) 21:11. 31—Connor Hayes (WR) 21:13. 34—Nathan Stouffer (WR) 21:44. 52—Asher Loomis (WR) 26:39 (52 runners).

     Girls’ 4A varsity: 1—Haley Montgomery (WR) 22:27. 6—Janel Passey (WR) 24:13. 8—Amanda Passey (WR) 24:34. 22—Amy Cantrell (WR) 25:57. 25—Loni Unser (WR) 26:17. 28—Hallie MacPherson (WR) 26:45  (47 runners).

     Boys’ 2A/1A varsity: 1—Billy Godfrey (Salmon) 18:40. 5—Nate Nasvik (CS) 19:41. 6—Nate Thomas (CS) 19:43 (16 runners).

     Girls’ 2A/1A varsity: 1—Morgan Smith (Salmon) 22:49. 5—Tara Burchmore (CS) 26:18. 7—Annika Landis (CS) 27:56 (8 runners).

     Boys’ 4A junior varsity: 1—Nathaniel Nordquist (Jerome) 19:30. 18—Sam Burns (WR) 22:27. 22—Wyatt Smith (WR) 22:48. 44—Joseph Anderson (WR) 25:28. 46—Jacob Halopoff (WR) 25:34. 56—Colby Castle (WR) 26:37. 58—Kenny Pratt (WR) 26:58. 61—Cooper Dean (WR) 27:10. 62—Beckett Dykhouse (WR) 27:16. 68—Cormac Heneghan (WR) 28:22. 75—Ryan Halopoff (WR) 36:35 (76 runners).

     Girls’ 4A junior varsity: 1—Kathleen Miraz (Middleton) 24:39. 9—Avery Closser (WR) 27:52. 10—Shelby Barnes (WR) 27:57. 24—Brooke Sundholm (WR) 29:59. 31—Alexandra Begley (WR) 32:13. 41—Yisel Reigle (WR) 34:16 (51 runners).

     Boys’ 2A/1A junior varsity: 1—Sebastian Salazar (Challis) 21:02. 5—Landon Schley (CS) 23:45. 9—Max Tanous (CS) 24:53. 15—Kiran Merchant (CS) 30:43 (16 runners).

     Girls’ 2A/1A junior varsity: 1—Melanie Weeks (Challis) 27:28. 4—Isabelle Kirk (CS) 28:47. 6—Sienna Polk (CS) 32:46. 9—Tess Burchmore (CS) 35:52 (9 runners).

     Boys’ 4A team, varsity: 1—Middleton 38. 2—Twin Falls 60. 3—Jerome 92. 4—Burley 113. 5—Canyon Ridge 117. 6—Mountain Home 128. 7—Wood River 135. 8—Minico 202.

     Girls’ 4A team, varsity: 1—Jerome 40. 2—Twin Falls 60. 3—Wood River 62. 4—Canyon Ridge 95. 5—Middleton 128. 6—Mountain Home 172. 7—Minico 177.

     Boys’ 2A/1A team, varsity: 1—Salmon 19. 2—Challis 36.

     Girls’ 2A/1A team, varsity: 1—Salmon 15.

     Boys’ 4A/3A team, junior varsity: 1—Twin Falls 33. 2—Middleton 68. 3—Jerome 69. 4—Burley 108. 5—Canyon Ridge 116. 6—Wood River 141. 7—Minico 187.

     Girls’ 4A/3A team, junior varsity: 1—Twin Falls 25. 2—Jerome 65. 3—Middleton 67. 4—Wood River 92. 5—Canyon Ridge 124.

     Boys’ 2A/1A team, junior varsity: 1—Challis 15.


Middle school (2.5k)

     Boys: 1—Henry Raff (CS) 9:24. 6—Dane Thompson (WR) 10:16. 9—Landon Nurge (WR) 10:30. 16—Johnny Hagenbuch (CS) 11:04. 18—Jaren Bothwell (CS) 11:08. 21—Owen Holt-Frank (WR) 11:18. 22—Charlie Stumph (CS) 11:29. 23—Carter Gerringa (WR) 11:31. 25—Easton Beck (WR) 11:45.45. 26—James Cantrell (WR) 11:45.67. 30—Christian Bothwell (CS) 11:53. 31—Buey Grossman (CS) 11:54. 41—Stephen Roth (WR) 12:32. 43—Alex Lafleur (CS) 12:44. 47—Jake Gorham (WR) 12:59. 49—Luke Dean (WR) 13:04.17. 50—Blake Harmon (CS) 13:04.38. 53—Collin L’Heureux (WR) 13:13. 55—Jorgen Lawrence (WR) 13:18. 57—Tyler Beck (WR) 13:30. 58—Luke Dahlen (WR) 13:36. 60—Cole Peterson (CS) 13:42. 63—Joe Hall (CS) 13:45. 66—Colby Nance (WR) 13:48. 68—Zack Olenick (WR) 13:59. 72—Elliot Sweek (WR) 14:03. 74—Sam Bingham (WR) 14:05. 77—Brian Heekin (CS) 14:16. 78—Jasper Mott (CS) 14:22. 81—Sam Fauth (WR) 14:39. 82—Matt O’Connor (CS) 14:44. 88—Fynn Nasvik-Dykhouse (WR) 16:13. 90—Sayler Beck (WR) 16:47. 91—Will Carney (WR) 18:19 (91 runners).

     Girls: 1—Kaitlyn Burgess (Salmon) 10:39. 3—Kirsys Campbell (WR) 10:47. 29—Karsyn Gerringa (WR) 13:29. 49—Ellie Gorham (WR) 15:50. 50—Miren Sanchez (CS) 16:02. 51—Anik Zarkos (CS) 16:13. 52—Malaunie Gerard (WR) 16:14. 62—Ali Barney (WR) 17:46. 63—Marina Vercelli (WR) 17:52. 64—Piper Diges (WR) 18:03 (69 runners).

     Boys’ team: 1—O’Leary 46. 2—Robert Stuart 49. 3—Wood River 74. 4—Community School 78. 5—Jerome 149. 6—Challis 157. 7—Dietrich 165.

     Girls’ team: 1—O’Leary 34. 2—Salmon 41. 3—Jerome 108. 4—Robert Stuart 111. 5—Wood River 126. 6—Challis 131.

About Comments

Comments with content that seeks to incite or inflame may be removed.

Comments that are in ALL CAPS may be removed.

Comments that are off-topic or that include profanity or personal attacks, libelous or other inappropriate material may be removed from the site. Entries that are unsigned or contain signatures by someone other than the actual author may be removed. We will take steps to block users who violate any of our posting standards, terms of use or any other policies governing this site. Use of this system denotes full acceptance of these conditions. Please review the full rules governing commentaries and discussions. You are fully responsible for the content that you post.

The comments below are from the readers of and in no way represent the views of Express Publishing, Inc.

You may flag individual comments. You may also report an inappropriate or offensive comment by clicking here.

Flagging Comments: Flagging a comment tells a site administrator that a comment is inappropriate. You can find the flag option by pointing the mouse over the comment and clicking the 'Flag' link.

Flagging a comment is only counted once per person, and you won't need to do it multiple times.

Proper Flagging Guidelines: Every site has a different commenting policy - be sure to review the policy for this site before flagging comments. In general these types of comments should be flagged:

  • Spam
  • Ones violating this site's commenting policy
  • Clearly unrelated
  • Personal attacks on others
Comments should not be flagged for:
  • Disagreeing with the content
  • Being in a dispute with the commenter

Popular Comment Threads

 Local Weather 
Search archives:

Copyright © 2020 Express Publishing Inc.   Terms of Use   Privacy Policy
All Rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Express Publishing Inc. is prohibited. 

The Idaho Mountain Express is distributed free to residents and guests throughout the Sun Valley, Idaho resort area community. Subscribers to the Idaho Mountain Express will read these stories and others in this week's issue.