Wednesday, May 29, 2013

Great Basin chooses top players on diamond

Prep All-Star softball, baseball

Wood River High School’s soft-ball team is looking forward to two more years with shortstop and leadoff hitter Ashley Hicks, who made this year’s Great Basin Conference second-team list for softball. Photo by Willy Cook

     The 4A Great Basin Conference prep baseball and softball leagues announced their 2013 All-Conference teams last week following the May 18 completion of state diamond meets.

     Hailey’s Wood River High School put two players on the first teams—Kori Paradis in softball and Nickolaus Brunker in baseball. Both are graduating seniors.

     Underclassmen from Wood River on second teams were junior Finn Isaacson, and sophomores Brittney Bradley and Ashley Hicks.

     Making honorable mention from Wood River were Tim Boyle, Ciceley Peavey, Sydney Tidwell and Lacy Harrington.

     Dominating the selections were GBC baseball champion Minico (19-9) and runner-up Twin Falls (21-9), and GBC softball titlist Twin Falls and runner-up Canyon Ridge. Those four teams had a tough time representing the league at state tournaments posting a combined 2-8 record at state.

     Here are the selections:


     Coaches of the Year—Lyle Hudelson (Canyon Ridge) and Jessica Pistole (Twin Falls).

     Player of the Year—Brinley Miller (Canyon Ridge senior).

     Pitcher of the Year—Megan Hinojos (Twin Falls junior).

     Catcher—First team: Cortney Nolan (Twin Falls junior). Second team: Kassidy Giles (Jerome sophomore).

     Pitcher—First team: Emma Stephens (Canyon Ridge senior). Second team: Brittney Bradley (WRHS sophomore).

     Infield—First team: Kayler Detmer (Canyon Ridge freshman), Kori Paradis (WR senior), Paige Jackman (Jerome senior) and Morgan Harshbarger (Twin Falls junior).

     Second team: Crystal Luna (Jerome senior), Jera Johnson (Twin Falls senior), Ashley Hicks (WRHS sophomore) and Heaven Marsh (Canron Ridge senior).

     Outfield—First team: Jessica Praegitzer (Jerome junior), Lynsey Hudelson (Canyon Ridge freshman) and Makenzie Swafford (Twin Falls junior).

     Second team: Courtney Ellis (Twin Falls junior), Breeann Bingham (Minico senior) and Kylee Barker (Canyon Ridge senior).

     Designated hitter—First team: Megan Lounsbury (Twin Falls senior. Second team: Nichole Williams (Burley senior).

     Utility—First team: Henley Blick (Canyon Ridge senior). Second team: Lyndzie Parker (Jerome sophomore).

     Honorable mention—From WRHS, Ciceley Peavey (sophomore), Sydney Tidwell (senior) and Lacy Harrington (sophomore); from Rupert, Shaylee Gilchrist (Minico freshman); from Jerome, junior Madi Moore, junior Aspen Grove, freshman Courtney Argyle and sophomore Leslie Ploss; from Canyon Ridge, junior Kayla Thompson; from Twin Falls, senior Morgan Stanger.


     Coach of the Year—Jared Price (Minico).

     Player of the Year—Casey Merritt (Twin Falls senior) for a second straight year.

     Pitcher of the Year—Michael Garcia (Twin Falls senior).

     Catcher—First team: Nick Brunker (WRHS senior). Second team: Zach Thibault (Jerome junior).

     Pitchers—First team: Kaleb Price (Canyon Ridge senior), Shay Chandler (Minico senior) and Damon Jones (Twin Falls senior). Second team: Dom Baker (Jerome junior), Brayden Winmill (Minico senior) and Jacob Newton (Canyon Ridge senior).

     First base—First team: Damon Jones (Twin Falls senior). Second team: Chandler McArthur (Jerome senior).

     Second base—First team: Tyler Walters (Twin Falls junior). Second team: Austin Bobrowski (Jerome junior).

     Third base—First team: Daniel Freiburger (Minico sophomore). Second team: Thomas Corr (Twin Falls senior).

     Shortstop—First team: Andrew Frank (Minico senior). Second team: Braden Stutzman (Twin Falls sophomore).

     Outfield—First team: Kevin Bos (Jerome senior), John Hohnhorst (Twin Falls senior) and Tanner Anderson (Minico senior). Second team: Finn Isaacson (WRHS junior), Dieon Ortega (Jerome junior) and Stetzen Wrigley (Minico senior).

     Designated hitter—First team: Tanner Harper (Minico sophomore). Second team: Lee Johnson (Twin Falls senior).

     Utility—First team: Jackson Kunz (Burley senior). Second team: Gunner Gridley (Jerome junior).

     Honorable mention—Tim Boyle (WRHS senior); AJ Rierden (Jerome senior); Jason Byce (Twin Falls senior); Jack Darrington (Burley senior); and Trae Bishop (Canyon Ridge senior).



About Comments

Comments with content that seeks to incite or inflame may be removed.

Comments that are in ALL CAPS may be removed.

Comments that are off-topic or that include profanity or personal attacks, libelous or other inappropriate material may be removed from the site. Entries that are unsigned or contain signatures by someone other than the actual author may be removed. We will take steps to block users who violate any of our posting standards, terms of use or any other policies governing this site. Use of this system denotes full acceptance of these conditions. Please review the full rules governing commentaries and discussions. You are fully responsible for the content that you post.

The comments below are from the readers of and in no way represent the views of Express Publishing, Inc.

You may flag individual comments. You may also report an inappropriate or offensive comment by clicking here.

Flagging Comments: Flagging a comment tells a site administrator that a comment is inappropriate. You can find the flag option by pointing the mouse over the comment and clicking the 'Flag' link.

Flagging a comment is only counted once per person, and you won't need to do it multiple times.

Proper Flagging Guidelines: Every site has a different commenting policy - be sure to review the policy for this site before flagging comments. In general these types of comments should be flagged:

  • Spam
  • Ones violating this site's commenting policy
  • Clearly unrelated
  • Personal attacks on others
Comments should not be flagged for:
  • Disagreeing with the content
  • Being in a dispute with the commenter

Popular Comment Threads

 Local Weather 
Search archives:

Copyright © 2020 Express Publishing Inc.   Terms of Use   Privacy Policy
All Rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Express Publishing Inc. is prohibited. 

The Idaho Mountain Express is distributed free to residents and guests throughout the Sun Valley, Idaho resort area community. Subscribers to the Idaho Mountain Express will read these stories and others in this week's issue.