Wednesday, February 27, 2013

Tommy Bailey’s places for WRHS at state wrestling

Season-ending meet in Pocatello

Tommy Bailey Photo by Roland Lane

Senior Tommy Bailey (41-9 season) captured sixth place in the 152-pound class Saturday to lead the 11-wrestler Wood River High School wrestling team during the 56th annual State 4A Wrestling Championships sponsored by the Idaho High School Activities Association at Holt Arena in Pocatello.

Making his fourth trip to state, Bailey won his first two matches by 1:41 pin and 6-3 decision and then lost a heartbreaking 1-0 semi-final decision to eventual 152-pound champion Jacom Stacey (30-8), a sophomore from Bonneville of Idaho Falls. Bailey injury-defaulted his final match.

Two other Wolverines injury-defaulted from the two-day tournament—seniors Chris Carnes (1-2 state, 35-11 season) at 285 and Storm Anderson (1-2 state, 36-6 season) at 170.

Yet junior Cooper Bailey (26-13) went 2-2 for four team points at 132 pounds and freshman Ryan Anderson (32-11) was 2-2 for four points at 106. Storm Anderson, Tim Boyle (25-21 at 120), Cooper Bailey and Jared Anderson (19-16 at 132) were making their third trips to the state tournament.

Wood River went 8-23 in its matches at state and tied Jerome for 18th place out of 24 4A schools with 24 points. Columbia of Nampa, the State 4A team champion from 2009-11 and second to Kuna last year, out-pointed Kuna this time around by a 306.5 to 267 count.

Centennial of Boise won its first State 5A team title since 2007 by a 318.5 to 232 margin over Post Falls. Weiser won its second straight 3A championship and fifth overall 227.5 to 182.5 over Fruitland. And Declo captured its third consecutive 2A team title and fourth overall 176.5 to 156 over Melba.

Check today’s Web site for full Wolverine state results.

- 98 pounds—WRHS freshman Colby Castle (0-2 state, 13-18 season). Mykel Ostrom (Caldwell) won 1:00 pin over Castle (WR); Dexter Parker (Century) won 2:18 pin over Castle (WR).

- 106—Freshman Ryan Anderson (2-2 state, 4 team points, 32-11 season). Justin Wright (Lakeland) won 5-4 over Ryan Anderson (WR); Ryan Anderson (WR) won 2:15 pin over Victor Velasquez (Canyon Ridge) 2:15; Ryan Anderson (WR) won 11-6 over Scott Danner (Nampa) 11-6; Kieton Keller (Preston) won 10-2 major decision over Ryan Anderson (WR).

- 113—Junior Kaleb Guisasola (0-2 state, 21-20 season). Tyson Hendricks (Lakeland) won 0:48 pin over Guisasola (WR); Coby Contreras (Kuna) won 13-11 over Guisasola (WR).

- 120—Senior Tim Boyle (0-2 state, 25-21 season). Wyatt Bingham (Minico) won 1:20 pin over Boyle (WR); Devin Porter (Preston) won 2:06 pin over Boyle (WR).

- 132—Senior Jared Anderson (0-2 state, 19-16 season). Thomas Gonzalez (Skyview) won 14-11 over Jared Anderson (WR); Alex LeBlanc (Canyon Ridge) won 10-2 major decision over Jared Anderson (WR).

- 132—Junior Cooper Bailey (2-2 state, 4 team points, 26-13 season). Cooper Bailey (WR) won 9-3 over Dusty Jones (Kuna); Kam Reddish (Columbia) won 3:35 pin over Cooper Bailey (WR); Cooper Bailey (WR) won 9-1 major decision over Alex LeBlanc (Canyon Ridge); Chase Lemons (Bonneville) won 9-3 over Cooper Bailey (WR).

- 152—Senior Tom Bailey (2-3 state, 41-9 season, 9 team points, 6th place). Tom Bailey (WR) won 1:41 pin over Angus Roeper (Emmett); Tom Bailey (WR) won 6-3 over Brooks Ney (Caldwell); Jacom Stacey (Bonneville) won 1-0 over Tom Bailey (WR); Tanner Beck (Columbia) won by injury default over Tom Bailey (WR); Ruben Pulido (Blackfoot) won by injury default over Tom Bailey (WR).

- 170—Senior Storm Anderson (1-2 state, 36-6 season, 3 team points). Storm Anderson (WR) won 13-2 major decision over Erick Silva (Preston); Killian Estes (Lakeland) won injury default over Storm Anderson (WR); Braxton Egbert (Bonneville) won injury default over Storm Anderson (WR).

- 182—Sophomore Jackson Toothman (0-2 state, 17-19 season). Joseph Maicke (Jerome) won 1:17 pin over Toothman (WR); Chris Lampkins (Caldwell) won 0:54 pin over Toothman (WR).

- 195—Senior Thomas Heiden (0-2 state, 33-8 season). Landon Hatch (Twin Falls) won 3:52 pin over Heiden (WR); Josh Deal (Mountain Home) won 5-3 overtime over Heiden (WR).

- 285—Senior Chris Carnes (1-2 state, 4 team points, 35-11 season). Carnes (WR) won 2:45 pin over Lucio Carrillo (Jerome); Jayden Vassell (Moscow) won 3-1 overtime over Carnes (WR); Jonathan Littlejohn (Blackfoot) won by injury default over Carnes (WR).


About Comments

Comments with content that seeks to incite or inflame may be removed.

Comments that are in ALL CAPS may be removed.

Comments that are off-topic or that include profanity or personal attacks, libelous or other inappropriate material may be removed from the site. Entries that are unsigned or contain signatures by someone other than the actual author may be removed. We will take steps to block users who violate any of our posting standards, terms of use or any other policies governing this site. Use of this system denotes full acceptance of these conditions. Please review the full rules governing commentaries and discussions. You are fully responsible for the content that you post.

The comments below are from the readers of and in no way represent the views of Express Publishing, Inc.

You may flag individual comments. You may also report an inappropriate or offensive comment by clicking here.

Flagging Comments: Flagging a comment tells a site administrator that a comment is inappropriate. You can find the flag option by pointing the mouse over the comment and clicking the 'Flag' link.

Flagging a comment is only counted once per person, and you won't need to do it multiple times.

Proper Flagging Guidelines: Every site has a different commenting policy - be sure to review the policy for this site before flagging comments. In general these types of comments should be flagged:

  • Spam
  • Ones violating this site's commenting policy
  • Clearly unrelated
  • Personal attacks on others
Comments should not be flagged for:
  • Disagreeing with the content
  • Being in a dispute with the commenter

Popular Comment Threads

 Local Weather 
Search archives:

Copyright © 2020 Express Publishing Inc.   Terms of Use   Privacy Policy
All Rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Express Publishing Inc. is prohibited. 

The Idaho Mountain Express is distributed free to residents and guests throughout the Sun Valley, Idaho resort area community. Subscribers to the Idaho Mountain Express will read these stories and others in this week's issue.