Wednesday, November 21, 2012

WRHS boys collect soccer awards

For fall season

     Great Basin Conference “Coach of the Year” Luis Monjaras presided over the season-ending awards party of the Wood River High School boys’ soccer program Friday night at the Sun Valley Brewing Company’s restaurant in Hailey.

     Monjaras paid tribute to his 14-2-4 varsity that placed third in the State 4A tournament—highest-ever state finish for Wood River at the 4A level—and allowed only 11 goals in 20 games including 13 shutouts.

     He singled out his six seniors, but also expressed confidence in the 14 or 15 juniors expected to return as the foundation of the 2013 Wolverines.

     Saluting his outstanding defense, Monjaras gave Most Valuable Defender awards to nine players—Eron Bates, Jon Scott, Miguel Velasco, Trevor Brand, Zack Freeman, goalkeeper Max Mauldin, Chandler Gifford, Chase Hutchinson and Keegan Heneghan.

     He included bench players as well as the starting defenders because “it didn’t change the dynamics of the defense when the guys came in from the bench,” the coach said.

     MVP forward was senior Alex Lopez (9 goals, 7 game winners), who led the team in scoring. MVP midfielder was junior Andrew Graves.

     Coaches Awards to players who were useful at several positions went to juniors Stephen Pfeiffer, Alberto Salinas and Zac Miczulski. Most Improved was junior Drew Morse. The Loren Hart Memorial Award was presented to junior Eron Bates. And senior Zack Freeman was Most Inspirational.

     Great Basin Conference “Player of the Year” Trevor Brand, Wood River’s MVP for the season, led an All-Conference unit from Hailey that included first-teamer Freeman, Lopez, Graves, Bates, Pfeiffer and Salinas.

     Fourth-year head junior varsity coach Dan Vandenheuvel saluted his 7-5-2 squad that opened the season with four losses and one tie and proceeded to show “a lot of improvement,” he said.

     Most Valuable Player was co-captain Yuri McClure, a freshman midfielder. Defensive MVPs were junior Daniel Owens and freshman Carter Ros. Offensive MVPs were freshman Danny Graves and junior Austin Smith.

     The “Spirit Award” went to freshman Mikey Levy. And Most Improved was freshman Emmitt Stevens.

About Comments

Comments with content that seeks to incite or inflame may be removed.

Comments that are in ALL CAPS may be removed.

Comments that are off-topic or that include profanity or personal attacks, libelous or other inappropriate material may be removed from the site. Entries that are unsigned or contain signatures by someone other than the actual author may be removed. We will take steps to block users who violate any of our posting standards, terms of use or any other policies governing this site. Use of this system denotes full acceptance of these conditions. Please review the full rules governing commentaries and discussions. You are fully responsible for the content that you post.

The comments below are from the readers of and in no way represent the views of Express Publishing, Inc.

You may flag individual comments. You may also report an inappropriate or offensive comment by clicking here.

Flagging Comments: Flagging a comment tells a site administrator that a comment is inappropriate. You can find the flag option by pointing the mouse over the comment and clicking the 'Flag' link.

Flagging a comment is only counted once per person, and you won't need to do it multiple times.

Proper Flagging Guidelines: Every site has a different commenting policy - be sure to review the policy for this site before flagging comments. In general these types of comments should be flagged:

  • Spam
  • Ones violating this site's commenting policy
  • Clearly unrelated
  • Personal attacks on others
Comments should not be flagged for:
  • Disagreeing with the content
  • Being in a dispute with the commenter

Popular Comment Threads

 Local Weather 
Search archives:

Copyright © 2020 Express Publishing Inc.   Terms of Use   Privacy Policy
All Rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Express Publishing Inc. is prohibited. 

The Idaho Mountain Express is distributed free to residents and guests throughout the Sun Valley, Idaho resort area community. Subscribers to the Idaho Mountain Express will read these stories and others in this week's issue.