Wednesday, November 14, 2012

Cutthroat soccer teams take final bows

Longtime coach Bob Brock honored

The Community School saluted its fall soccer athletes and tipped its hat to longtime Cutthroat coach Bob Brock during Sunday’s annual soccer banquet at Elkhorn Restaurant.

Brock, assistant emeritus coach for many years through the 2012 season, preceded current coach Richard Whitelaw at the Cutthroat helm and compiled an 86-39-6 coaching record in eight seasons from 1984-91.

The Amherst College graduate and Community School Director of College Counseling won a State 3A championship in 1986 with the 14-1-0 Cutthroat squad. Brock took the Cutthroats to state for eight straight years with a 13-11-0 record in the meet, and added four league titles to his resume.

Brock received the Most Inspirational boys’ award at Sunday’s awards fete.

For the girls, Most Inspirational was Erin Hennessy. The girls’ Coaches Awards went to Ella Marks, Taylor Figge and Ellie Swanson.

Chosen as the Most Valuable Players were Zach Lindahl for the boys and Jordan Fitzgerald for the girls. Boys’ team captains were Lindahl and Ben Kanellitsas.

Ellie Swanson earned special recognition for Career Scoring Record, for her 75 goals in four seasons from 2009-12.

Most Improved were Sydney Hagenbuch for the girls, and Cole Caulkins, Logan Shipley and Sam Rogers for the boys. The boys’ Factor Award went to Calder Zarkos. Mason Noyes had the “Goal of the Year.” Top goal scorers were Ben Kanellitsas and Cameron Jenner.


HDSC All-Conference teams

Ten Community School soccer players were recognized as members of the 2012 High Desert Soccer Conference All-League teams when voting took place during the Nov. 7 end-of-season league meeting.

Each player selected receives a medal. The State 3A tournament boys’ champion Gooding Senators and State 3A girls’ tournament runner-up Community School Cutthroats dominated each team.

( Girls—Community School: Ellie Swanson, Jordan Fitzgerald, Hannah Dies, Katie Feldman, Erin Hennessy and Lilly Jenner.

Bliss: Maria Marez, Estefany Altamirano, Sky Gennette, Cassie Villavicencio and Lupita Villavicencio.

Filer: Anna Williams, Brooke Wissenbach and Shelby Moyle.

Buhl: Rith Loza and Maria Montgomery.

Gooding: Emma Frederickson.

Wendell: Kirstin Wert.

( Boys—Community School: Zach Lindahl, Ben Kanellitsas, Cameron Jenner and Christopher Nalen.

Gooding: Angel Garcia, Frederico Mendez, Jesse Cardenas, Ivan Sarabia and Arturo Reyes.

Buhl: Alvaro Peralta, Juan Perez, Kevin Hernandez and Eddie Verduzco.

Wendell: Jose Vielmas, Jorge Diaz and Ismael Martinez.

Filer: Stephen Ippolito.

Bliss: Rueben Juarez.

About Comments

Comments with content that seeks to incite or inflame may be removed.

Comments that are in ALL CAPS may be removed.

Comments that are off-topic or that include profanity or personal attacks, libelous or other inappropriate material may be removed from the site. Entries that are unsigned or contain signatures by someone other than the actual author may be removed. We will take steps to block users who violate any of our posting standards, terms of use or any other policies governing this site. Use of this system denotes full acceptance of these conditions. Please review the full rules governing commentaries and discussions. You are fully responsible for the content that you post.

The comments below are from the readers of and in no way represent the views of Express Publishing, Inc.

You may flag individual comments. You may also report an inappropriate or offensive comment by clicking here.

Flagging Comments: Flagging a comment tells a site administrator that a comment is inappropriate. You can find the flag option by pointing the mouse over the comment and clicking the 'Flag' link.

Flagging a comment is only counted once per person, and you won't need to do it multiple times.

Proper Flagging Guidelines: Every site has a different commenting policy - be sure to review the policy for this site before flagging comments. In general these types of comments should be flagged:

  • Spam
  • Ones violating this site's commenting policy
  • Clearly unrelated
  • Personal attacks on others
Comments should not be flagged for:
  • Disagreeing with the content
  • Being in a dispute with the commenter

Popular Comment Threads

 Local Weather 
Search archives:

Copyright © 2020 Express Publishing Inc.   Terms of Use   Privacy Policy
All Rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Express Publishing Inc. is prohibited. 

The Idaho Mountain Express is distributed free to residents and guests throughout the Sun Valley, Idaho resort area community. Subscribers to the Idaho Mountain Express will read these stories and others in this week's issue.