Wednesday, August 8, 2012

What do our public officials make?

Budget-setting season puts salaries in spotlight

Express Staff Writer

Summer means budget-setting for municipalities throughout the Wood River Valley—and with budget-setting comes the sometimes-contentious matter of setting salaries for public employees.

Blaine County officials began that process last month, as they included a 1.5 percent adjustment to the salaries of all county employees (not including elected officials), in addition to possible performance-based increases.

Commissioners Angenie McCleary and Larry Schoen also agreed to set aside a pool of $90,000 for potential raises for elected officials in 2013. Amounts would be recommended by a citizen committee, and could include a $21,265 salary increase for each county commissioner.

Blaine County Human Resources Generalist Susan Potucek said that this recommendation would be made to the county no later than Aug. 21. But as the committee deliberates, other municipalities are setting their budgets—and salaries—as well.

According to city records, Ketchum and Sun Valley both appear to be looking at slight increases for staff. Ketchum Mayor Randy Hall and City Administrator Gary Marks on June 4 suggested a cost-of-living increase for employees but did not recommend an amount.

The Sun Valley budget does not include a proposed cost of living increase as it has for the past five years, but bases employee raises on a series of performance reviews.

Some Sun Valley employees also receive a housing allowance. Virginia Egger, interim executive assistant to the mayor, said on Monday that the allowances, which are $6,000 annually for the fire chief and $7,200 annually for the streets superintendent, are based on the high cost of living in the city as well as the requirement that these employees live within a set geographic area.

Bellevue City Clerk Dee Barton said that the city of Bellevue is not considering raises this year, and the tentative budget approved by the city of Hailey does not include increases.

However, employees and administrators of the Blaine County School District saw increases in June, with administrators receiving 5 percent bumps and employees receiving at least a 3 percent pay increase.

Listed below are the salaries for major public employees, elected officials and administrators. All salaries are based on the most current information available.

Blaine County

Commissioners Angenie McCleary, Tom Bowman and Larry Schoen: $56,266 each

Administrator Derek Voss: $138,040

Clerk JoLynn Drage: $76,966

Land Use and Building Services Director Tom Bergin: $73,175

Assessor Valdi Pace: $76,966

Treasurer Vicki Sisiam: $76,966

Prosecuting Attorney Jim Thomas: $117,766

Sheriff Gene Ramsey: $89,041

Wood River Fire & Rescue Chief Bart Lassman: $102,838

Wood River Fire and Rescue Assistant Chief Jeff Nevins: $87,691

City of Ketchum

Mayor Randy Hall: $36,720 (part-time)

City Council Members Baird Gourlay, Michael David, Nina Jonas and Jim Slanetz: $20,400 (part-time)

Administrator Gary Marks: $160,068

Treasurer/Clerk Sandy Cady: $86,724

Community and Economic Development Director Lisa Horowitz: $120,258

Ketchum Fire Chief Mike Elle: $111,840

Ketchum Assistant Fire Chief Robbie Englehart: $85,068

Ketchum Police Chief Steve Harkins: $76,067 (on contract with Blaine County)


City of Sun Valley

(amounts budgeted for 2012)

Mayor Dewayne Briscoe: $21,000 (part-time)

Council Members Bob Youngman, Michelle Griffith, Nils Ribi and Franz Suhadolnik: $12,000 each (part-time)

Administrator Sharon Hammer (no longer with city): $120,824

Clerk Kelly Ek (no longer with city): $57,592

Community Development Director Mark Hofman: $104, 932

Sun Valley Police Chief Cam Daggett: $114,276

Sun Valley Fire Chief Jeff Carnes: $113,156 (including housing allowance)

Sun Valley Fire Assistant Chief Ray Franco: $85,109

City of Hailey

Mayor Fritz Haemmerle: $18,960 (part-time)

Council Members Carol Brown, Martha Burke, Pat Cooley and Don Kiern: $9,600 (part-time)

Administrator Heather Dawson: $100,422

Clerk Mary Cone : $53,580

Community Development Director Micah Austin : $69,000

Hailey Fire Department Chief Mike Chapman: $76,232

Hailey Police Chief Jeff Gunter: $83,512

City of Bellevue

Mayor Chris Koch: $2,400 (part-time)

Council Members David Hattula, Amber Avila, Sara Burns, Barb Patterson, Larry Plott and Janet Duffy: $600 (part-time)

Clerk/Treasurer Dee Barton: $52,044

Development Services Director Craig Eckles: $61,872

Bellevue Marshall Larry Clark: $55,140 (on contract with Hailey)

Bellevue Fire Chief Greg Beaver: $18,449 (part-time)

Blaine County School District

Superintendent Lonnie Barber: $158,575

Assistant Superintendent John Blackman: $125,651

Business Manager Mike Chatterton: $114,579

Curriculum Director Patricia McLean: $107,830

Student Services Director Debi Gutknecht: $109,262

Technology Director Jerry Hutchins: $111,449

Bellevue Elementary School Principal Angie Martinez: $89,798

Hemingway Elementary School Principal Don Haisley: $104,491

Hailey Elementary School Principal Tom Bailey: $100,389

Woodside Elementary School Principal Brad Henson: $88,374

Carey School Principal John Peck: $107,520

Wood River Middle School Principal Fritz Peters: $107,452

Wood River High School Principal Peter Jurovich: $106,050

Mountain Rides

Executive Director Jason Miller: $92,768

Business Manager Wendy Crosby: $54,496

Maintenance Manager Rod Domke: $67,600

Operations Manager Jim Finch: $62,192

About Comments

Comments with content that seeks to incite or inflame may be removed.

Comments that are in ALL CAPS may be removed.

Comments that are off-topic or that include profanity or personal attacks, libelous or other inappropriate material may be removed from the site. Entries that are unsigned or contain signatures by someone other than the actual author may be removed. We will take steps to block users who violate any of our posting standards, terms of use or any other policies governing this site. Use of this system denotes full acceptance of these conditions. Please review the full rules governing commentaries and discussions. You are fully responsible for the content that you post.

The comments below are from the readers of and in no way represent the views of Express Publishing, Inc.

You may flag individual comments. You may also report an inappropriate or offensive comment by clicking here.

Flagging Comments: Flagging a comment tells a site administrator that a comment is inappropriate. You can find the flag option by pointing the mouse over the comment and clicking the 'Flag' link.

Flagging a comment is only counted once per person, and you won't need to do it multiple times.

Proper Flagging Guidelines: Every site has a different commenting policy - be sure to review the policy for this site before flagging comments. In general these types of comments should be flagged:

  • Spam
  • Ones violating this site's commenting policy
  • Clearly unrelated
  • Personal attacks on others
Comments should not be flagged for:
  • Disagreeing with the content
  • Being in a dispute with the commenter

Popular Comment Threads

 Local Weather 
Search archives:

Copyright © 2020 Express Publishing Inc.   Terms of Use   Privacy Policy
All Rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Express Publishing Inc. is prohibited. 

The Idaho Mountain Express is distributed free to residents and guests throughout the Sun Valley, Idaho resort area community. Subscribers to the Idaho Mountain Express will read these stories and others in this week's issue.