Friday, July 6, 2012

SV All-Mountain bike winners are crowned

For Ride Sun Valley Bike Festival

Ketchum’s Reid Pletcher rides in the Men’s Category 2/3 race of Tuesday’s Fat Tire Criterium in Ketchum. It was a USA Cycling-sanctioned C level race, part of the 2012 Sun Valley All-Mountain Challenge. Photo by David N. Seelig

With all three races in the books, the class winners were crowned Tuesday night for the Sun Valley All-Mountain Challenge of the second annual Ride Sun Valley Bike Festival.

Final event was the BNSF/Avex Fat Tire Criterium on Tuesday night starting and finishing near Sun Valley Visitor Center in downtown Ketchum.

The All-Mountain Challenge also incorporated Saturday's Galena Grinder/Whit Henry Memorial mountain bike race north of Ketchum, plus Sunday's Shimano Super Duper fat tire downhill on Baldy.

Class winners were:

- Pro Men and Women: David Harrison and Rebecca Rusch.

- Juniors: Brody Buchwalter and Luma Randolph.

- Men Category 1: Scott Robinson and Dave Bell (tie).

- Women Cat. 1: Simone Kastner.

- Men Cat. 2: Miles Fink-Debray.

- Women Cat. 2: Sandi Hagel.

- Men Cat. 3: Brett Jacobson.


Fat Tire Criterium results

Forty-four cyclists competed in the USA Cycling-sanctioned classes of Tuesday's Fat Tire Criterium in Ketchum. Here are results for the 30-minute races that featured cash prizes topping off at $1,250 per class:

- Pro Men: 1—Carl Decker 25:54. 2—Brandon Gritters 26:06. 3—Todd Wells 26:06. 4—Robert Marion 26:06. 5—Brendon Davids 26:06. 6—Braden Kappius 26:41.

1 lap and 2 lap: Tobin Ortenblad, Michael Pastore, Tanner Hurst, David Harrison, Chase Dickens, Gerald Drummond, Darren Lightfield, Jon Freckelton, Michael Zanetti, Scott Robinson, Jason Siegle, Colby Pastore, Dillen Maurge, Chris Carlson and Riley Howard.

- Pro Women: 1—Kelli Emmett 21:13.18. 2—Rebecca Rusch 21:13.56. 3—Jena Greaser 21:14.09. 4—Muffy Ritz 21:14.11.

1 lap: Corinne Prevot, Luma Randolph, Becky Schroeder and Simone Kastner.

- Men Cat. 2/3: 1—Miles Fink-Debray 26:11. 2—Ryan Ottare 26:17. 3—Kenny Paul 27:06.

1 lap: Reid Pletcher, Brad Walker, Jarid Karinen, Brody Buchwalter, Cam Smith and Ian McMahon.

- Masters Men: 1—Michael Pastore 26:40. 2—Chris Carlson 26:41. 3—Mark Sevenoff 26:41.

1 lap: Dave Bell, Chris Kastner and Jason Webb.

About Comments

Comments with content that seeks to incite or inflame may be removed.

Comments that are in ALL CAPS may be removed.

Comments that are off-topic or that include profanity or personal attacks, libelous or other inappropriate material may be removed from the site. Entries that are unsigned or contain signatures by someone other than the actual author may be removed. We will take steps to block users who violate any of our posting standards, terms of use or any other policies governing this site. Use of this system denotes full acceptance of these conditions. Please review the full rules governing commentaries and discussions. You are fully responsible for the content that you post.

The comments below are from the readers of and in no way represent the views of Express Publishing, Inc.

You may flag individual comments. You may also report an inappropriate or offensive comment by clicking here.

Flagging Comments: Flagging a comment tells a site administrator that a comment is inappropriate. You can find the flag option by pointing the mouse over the comment and clicking the 'Flag' link.

Flagging a comment is only counted once per person, and you won't need to do it multiple times.

Proper Flagging Guidelines: Every site has a different commenting policy - be sure to review the policy for this site before flagging comments. In general these types of comments should be flagged:

  • Spam
  • Ones violating this site's commenting policy
  • Clearly unrelated
  • Personal attacks on others
Comments should not be flagged for:
  • Disagreeing with the content
  • Being in a dispute with the commenter

Popular Comment Threads

 Local Weather 
Search archives:

Copyright © 2020 Express Publishing Inc.   Terms of Use   Privacy Policy
All Rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Express Publishing Inc. is prohibited. 

The Idaho Mountain Express is distributed free to residents and guests throughout the Sun Valley, Idaho resort area community. Subscribers to the Idaho Mountain Express will read these stories and others in this week's issue.