Friday, June 22, 2012

Feldman’s course record paces hill climbers

Evening ride up Trail Creek Summit

Town to Summit race winner Richard Feldman of Ketchum (left) leads Wednesday night’s bicycle racers along Sun Valley Road just outside of Ketchum. Photo by Roland Lane

Ketchum's Richard Feldman, 43, smashed his own course record by slicing more than two minutes off his winning Town to Summit Hill Climb finishing time from 2011.

Feldman (42:20) was 25 seconds faster than 24-year-old runner-up Miles Fink-Debray (42:45) as the pair duplicated their 1-2 finish from last June.

And Hailey's Brad Walker, 30, was the workhorse of the evening. Walker placed third overall in Wednesday night's 12.4-mile bike ride up Trail Creek Summit and then went to Hailey to finish fourth in his class in the Wood River Cup short track mountain bike race.

Town to Summit race organizer Bob Rosso said, "There were perfect weather conditions for 36 brave men and women who powered uphill from start to finish.

"It was a roll-out mass start at the Perch going all the way to the very top of Trail Creek Road. The finish at Summit Creek included 2.5 miles of dirt and rocks. It was exciting."

Co-sponsored by The Elephant's Perch and Durance Cycles, the Wednesday ride ushered in what should be an exciting stretch of bike racing and activities in weeks ahead.

Here are Wednesday's race results for the 36 bikers:

Town to Summit results

June 20, 2012 on the 12.4-mile course from downtown Ketchum to Trail Creek Summit, sponsored by The Elephant's Perch of Ketchum. There were 36 finishers—32 men and 4 women. Age range was 12-72. Finishing times in minutes and seconds, and hours, minutes and seconds—age after a racer's name.



1—Richard Feldman, 43 42:20

2—Miles Fink-Debray, 24 42:45

3—Brad Walker, 30 44:34

4—Dan Daigh, 59 45:43

5—Steve Butler, 51 46:38

6—Bill McCann, 42 48:12

7—Brent Hanson, 49 48:22

8—Greg Casals, 44 48:27

9—Will Hovey, 42 48:33

10—Jedd Young, 30 50:21

11—Jon Holmquist, 59 50:22

12—Grady Burnett, 51 50:26

13—Scott Grill, 53 50:34

14—Walter Gilbert, 37 50:49

15—Eli Kranefuss, 15 51:06

16—John Tormey, 46 51:11

17—Kyle Rafford, 44 51:38

17—Ray Liermann, 56 51:38

19—Pat Schott, 47 52:07

20—Mark Sills, 57 52:33

21—Billy Collins, 48 52:44

22—Eric Kafka, 41 53:57

23—Erin Finnegan, 39 55:10

24—Jim Walker, 58 55:50

25—Roger Mankus, 54 56:56

26—Lee Kranefuss, 51 57:37

27—Kathy Morell, 51 59:10

28—Kristin Farrell, 47 59:28

29—John Swyers, 72 59:45

30—Matt Osteen, 28 1.01:03

30—Dan Lalugal, 58 1.01:03

32—Cole Casperson, 201.01:18

33—Henry Raff, 12 1.03:06

34—Kathy Walker, 54 1.06:52

35—Jeff Leamon, 43 1.10:39

36—David Taylor, 56 1.11:09


Henry Raff 16:40, Dan Daigh 4:46, Walter Gilbert 4:42, Miles Fink-Debray 3:13, Grady Burnett 2:39, Richard Feldman 2:20, Billy Collins 1:50 and Jon Holmquist 1:33.

About Comments

Comments with content that seeks to incite or inflame may be removed.

Comments that are in ALL CAPS may be removed.

Comments that are off-topic or that include profanity or personal attacks, libelous or other inappropriate material may be removed from the site. Entries that are unsigned or contain signatures by someone other than the actual author may be removed. We will take steps to block users who violate any of our posting standards, terms of use or any other policies governing this site. Use of this system denotes full acceptance of these conditions. Please review the full rules governing commentaries and discussions. You are fully responsible for the content that you post.

The comments below are from the readers of and in no way represent the views of Express Publishing, Inc.

You may flag individual comments. You may also report an inappropriate or offensive comment by clicking here.

Flagging Comments: Flagging a comment tells a site administrator that a comment is inappropriate. You can find the flag option by pointing the mouse over the comment and clicking the 'Flag' link.

Flagging a comment is only counted once per person, and you won't need to do it multiple times.

Proper Flagging Guidelines: Every site has a different commenting policy - be sure to review the policy for this site before flagging comments. In general these types of comments should be flagged:

  • Spam
  • Ones violating this site's commenting policy
  • Clearly unrelated
  • Personal attacks on others
Comments should not be flagged for:
  • Disagreeing with the content
  • Being in a dispute with the commenter

Popular Comment Threads

 Local Weather 
Search archives:

Copyright © 2020 Express Publishing Inc.   Terms of Use   Privacy Policy
All Rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Express Publishing Inc. is prohibited. 

The Idaho Mountain Express is distributed free to residents and guests throughout the Sun Valley, Idaho resort area community. Subscribers to the Idaho Mountain Express will read these stories and others in this week's issue.