Wednesday, April 18, 2012

Sharks get last bite of Hutch Cup

B+, B League final games

The Sharks won the Hutch Cup B+ League ice hockey tournament Sunday at Sun Valley Skating Center. Players, from left, are Greg Townley, Ben Talmadge, Crugar Thomas, Nic Thomas, captain Jen Embree (with trophy), Gary Norbom, Baird Gourlay, Chris Roberts, goalie Karen Morrison and Bags Brokaw. Courtesy photo

Captain Jen Embree's No. 6-seeded Sharks recreational ice hockey team came all the way back and won the Hutch Cup B+ League tournament title Sunday by a close 3-2 margin over the No. 3 Aardvarks at Sun Valley Skating Center.

After a scoreless first period, Chris Peterson of the Aardvarks and Chris Roberts of the Sharks traded goals in the second. Goals by Roberts and Cruger Thomas moved the Sharks ahead 3-1 in the third period. John Riley's goal for the Aardvarks drew captain Eric Wingard's team a little closer.

The top-seeded Vipers emerged as winners of the six-team tournament consolation game Sunday with a 5-4 decision over the No. 5 Islanders.

John Baker and Tyler Jeffers-Davis each scored twice for the Vipers and Scott Seaward added a single goal. For the Islanders, Will Hemmings tallied two goals, Eddie Grimes one and Todd Avison one.

Prior to Sunday's B+ consolation and title contests, the four-team B League staged its final games of the campaign.

The Wild blanked the Blues 4-0 in the B League championship with Edith Wiedemann winning Most Valuable Player. In the consolation game, it was Racers 6-5 over Flyers.

About Comments

Comments with content that seeks to incite or inflame may be removed.

Comments that are in ALL CAPS may be removed.

Comments that are off-topic or that include profanity or personal attacks, libelous or other inappropriate material may be removed from the site. Entries that are unsigned or contain signatures by someone other than the actual author may be removed. We will take steps to block users who violate any of our posting standards, terms of use or any other policies governing this site. Use of this system denotes full acceptance of these conditions. Please review the full rules governing commentaries and discussions. You are fully responsible for the content that you post.

The comments below are from the readers of and in no way represent the views of Express Publishing, Inc.

You may flag individual comments. You may also report an inappropriate or offensive comment by clicking here.

Flagging Comments: Flagging a comment tells a site administrator that a comment is inappropriate. You can find the flag option by pointing the mouse over the comment and clicking the 'Flag' link.

Flagging a comment is only counted once per person, and you won't need to do it multiple times.

Proper Flagging Guidelines: Every site has a different commenting policy - be sure to review the policy for this site before flagging comments. In general these types of comments should be flagged:

  • Spam
  • Ones violating this site's commenting policy
  • Clearly unrelated
  • Personal attacks on others
Comments should not be flagged for:
  • Disagreeing with the content
  • Being in a dispute with the commenter

Popular Comment Threads

 Local Weather 
Search archives:

Copyright © 2020 Express Publishing Inc.   Terms of Use   Privacy Policy
All Rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Express Publishing Inc. is prohibited. 

The Idaho Mountain Express is distributed free to residents and guests throughout the Sun Valley, Idaho resort area community. Subscribers to the Idaho Mountain Express will read these stories and others in this week's issue.