Wednesday, April 11, 2012

A vintage version of the Janss Pro-Am

Janss Pro-Am event director Kate Berman, smiling here at Saturday’s awards dinner in the Sun Valley Inn Limelight Room, pulled off another wildly successful fundraiser for the Sun Valley Ski Education Foundation.

The Sun Valley Ski Education Foundation's 15th annual Janss Pro-Am Classic last week turned out to be a great success even before a stunning announcement during Saturday's awards dinner in the Limelight Room of Sun Valley Inn.

SVSEF honorary board member Rufus Brown and his wife Liz Brown revealed they would donate $250,000 to the foundation. SVSEF officials said the donation will go into the Endowment Fund and be spread over a 10-year period.

The overwhelming generosity of the Browns was the icing on the cake of a wonderful three days of ski racing and socializing in Sun Valley. Many others stepped up and made donations at the dinner.

Event director Kate Berman said, "With 30 teams, making it our second biggest Janss ever, this weekend was huge!

"The opening Pro Party at Michel's Christiania Olympic Bar was a hit as always and the weekend just continued with dancing at Whiskey Jacques American Harvest Classic Martini Party, Saturday's dinner at the Limelight Room and of course, the racing.

"We couldn't have had better weather and more exciting teams with themes like Vintage Board Games, Hot Tub Time Machine, Sun Valley Serenade, Grumpy Old Men & the Frenchman and Freestyle or No Style.

"This annual weekend of fun, skiing, racing and parties went off without a hitch and lived up to its reputation as the best weekend on snow."

One of the SVSEF's most successful fundraisers was title-sponsored by investment bank Stifel Nicolaus Weisel.

Berman said, "We had a great influx of young pros like Paul McDonald, Jilyne Higgins, Scott Macartney, Shane Cordeau and Ben Verge. They joined our devoted pros like Christin Cooper, Mark Tache, Steve Porino and Zach Crist.

"These pros and the 30 teams, including many first-time participants, definitely made the weekend. We couldn't have done it without them, our massive corps of volunteers, donors, team sponsors and event sponsors."

Proceeds from the Janss Pro Am help support 450 youth members of the SVSEF alpine, snowboard, freestyle and cross-country teams. The high school student-athletes who are part of the program posted a winter GPA of 3.35, and they achieved many competition awards.

"The success of this weekend is an indication of the strong and vibrant organization we have grown into and of our community that supports our young athletes and opportunities for them to reach their potential in so many healthy ways," according to Berman.

See more photos in next week's Local Life edition.

Top overall teams were:

First place—Sawtooth/Roosevelt Winos with pro Heather Flood Daves, junior pro Loni Unser and Cameron Leady, Donna Doan, Warwick Phillips and Keri Desler.

Second place—Seattle Lumberjacks with pro Libby Ludlow, junior pro Colin Waycott, Richard Waycott, Tim McGee, Paul Carson and David Higley.

Third place—I Ski with pro Hank Minor, junior pro Jake Blackburn, Ryan Dean, Brick Blackburn, Tyler Ferris and Wes Powell.

Fourth place—Superheroes/Clear Rock Capital with pro Chris Puckett, junior pro William Everitt, Jack Gilligan, Peter Hustis, James Everitt and Renee Faltings.

Other awards

Best Crash: Hank Minor and Royce Rheinschild.

Race Rookies: Donna Doan and Richard Waycott.

Fastest Pros: 2004 national slalom champion Paul McDonald from Dartmouth College and Crystal Mountain Alpine Club, and Sun Valley Ski Academy recruiting director Jonna Mendes, a four-time national champ from South Lake Tahoe.

The Speed Cup was based on raw speed from handicapped runs on first day. Winners:

1—Team Retro with pro Nick Maricich, junior pro Wyatt Minor, Kipp Nelson, Robin Sarchett, Steve Brown and Matt Murphy.

2—I Ski with pro Hank Minor, junior pro Jake Blackburn, Ryan Dean, Brick Blackburn, Tyler Ferris and Wes Powell.

3—10th Mountain Division with pro Steve Porino, junior pro Lexi Black, Heather Black, Claire Abbe, Sarah Mazzola and Brett Jacobson.

Once again, the teams did a bang-up job of dressing for the occasion, this year's theme "Vintage." Here are winners for the Best Costume prizes:

First place, costumes—Vintage Games/Main St. Market with pro Langely McNeal, junior pro Samantha Busby, Kim Taylor, Karen Holzman, Bedford Nabors and Janie Reynolds Eagan.

Second place, costumes—10th Mountain Division with pro Steve Porino, junior pro Lexi Black, Heather Black, Claire Abbe, Sarah Mazzola and Brett Jacobson.

Third place, costumes—Gender Benders with pro Danica Patrick (Karoline Droege), junior pro Lindsey Vonn (Sage Rheinschild), Billie Jean King (Trina Peters), Susan Butcher (Vicki Wiseman), Babe Zaharias (Kathryn McNeal) and Julie Krone (Carol Mutzel).

Honorable mention—Honeymooners and Tinseltown/Ketchum Chiropractic with pro Bob LaPoint, junior pro Lily Fitzgerald, Tom West, Julie Daniels-West, Alison Orr, Chris Orr and Rocket.

About Comments

Comments with content that seeks to incite or inflame may be removed.

Comments that are in ALL CAPS may be removed.

Comments that are off-topic or that include profanity or personal attacks, libelous or other inappropriate material may be removed from the site. Entries that are unsigned or contain signatures by someone other than the actual author may be removed. We will take steps to block users who violate any of our posting standards, terms of use or any other policies governing this site. Use of this system denotes full acceptance of these conditions. Please review the full rules governing commentaries and discussions. You are fully responsible for the content that you post.

The comments below are from the readers of and in no way represent the views of Express Publishing, Inc.

You may flag individual comments. You may also report an inappropriate or offensive comment by clicking here.

Flagging Comments: Flagging a comment tells a site administrator that a comment is inappropriate. You can find the flag option by pointing the mouse over the comment and clicking the 'Flag' link.

Flagging a comment is only counted once per person, and you won't need to do it multiple times.

Proper Flagging Guidelines: Every site has a different commenting policy - be sure to review the policy for this site before flagging comments. In general these types of comments should be flagged:

  • Spam
  • Ones violating this site's commenting policy
  • Clearly unrelated
  • Personal attacks on others
Comments should not be flagged for:
  • Disagreeing with the content
  • Being in a dispute with the commenter

Popular Comment Threads

 Local Weather 
Search archives:

Copyright © 2024 Express Publishing Inc.   Terms of Use   Privacy Policy
All Rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Express Publishing Inc. is prohibited. 

The Idaho Mountain Express is distributed free to residents and guests throughout the Sun Valley, Idaho resort area community. Subscribers to the Idaho Mountain Express will read these stories and others in this week's issue.