Wednesday, March 28, 2012

Hobson kids greet Spring Break in gates

Sun Valley Ski Education Foundation alpine ski teamers wound up their season Saturday, March 24 joining the 35th annual Hobson Memorial races—this year's edition on Baldy's Cozy ski run. There were 75 racers for the day.

Overall Hobson Memorial trophy winners were J4 (ages 11-12) racer Sage Rheinschild among the girls with a time of 19.22 seconds, and J2 (ages 15-16) boy Kipling Weisel among the boys at 17.87 seconds.

Besides Rheinschild and Weisel, class winners in the best of two runs race format were Trenor Gould, Olivia Wentzell, Noah Leininger, Bennett Snyder and Shaw Dean, Lily Fitzgerald and Madison Ferris, Joe Goitiandia and Marit Kaiser.

Hobson awards went to members of the "C Home" team and "Development Team." They were:

"C Home" awards—Coaches Awards: Laine Allison, Anja Jensen and Jackson Swenke. Most Improved: Miriam Gilman, Aidan Burchmore and Matt O'Connor. MVPs: Kaia Jensen and Peter Morawitz.

"Development Team" awards—Coaches Awards: Laci Jermunson, Elle Mann, Ethan Hunt and James Carlson. Most Improved: Elgyn Monge, Katelyn Moreland, Gillian Simcoe, Carson Clark, Connor Campbell and Jesse Keefe.

Howard Dean Awards—Zoe Bacca, Lily Enos, Shaw McCoubrey and Axel Hattrup.

2012 Hobson Memorial results

March 24, 2012 at Baldy's Cozy ski run, the 35th annual Hobson Memorial for Sun Valley Ski Education Foundation kids. There were 75 participants, 43 girls and 32 boys. Results are listed by finishing place in seconds and hundredths, best time of two runs counting.


(ages 7-8)

1—Marit Kaiser 22.24. 2—Anhwei Kirk 22.98. 3—Hannah Ferris 25.38. 4—Tatum Minor 25.47. 5—Lily Dean 26.10. 6—Zoe Bacca 26.87. 7—Lily Enos 27.47. 8—Maddigan Monschkes 27.50. 9—Laci Jermunson 27.80. 10—Taylor Duerr 29.16. 11—Gillian Simcoe 29.53. 12—Amanda Brown 30.13. 13—Katelyn Moreland 30.55. 14—Elgyn Monge 31.45.


1—Joe Goitiandia 24.73. 2—Ben Goitiandia 24.83. 3—Shaw McCoubrey 25.87. 4—Skye Leininger 27.09. 5—Jesse Keefe 27.84. 6—Tommy Moreland 29.43. 7—Carson Clark 30.14. 8—Charlie Price 32.46. 9—Ben Wise 36.71.


(ages 9-10)

1—Lily Fitzgerald and Madison Ferris 19.72 (Gretchen Fraser Award). 3—Alli Rathfon 21.06. 4—Sage Curtis 21.90. 5—Anja Jensen 22.54. 6—Lucca Vernoy 22.91. 7—Emma MacGuffie 23.41. 8—Anja Schweiger 24.61. 9—Molly Kucher 25.71. 10—Elle Mann 26.77. 11—Adela Pennell 26.93. 12—Jill Frost 27.79. 13—Nysa Wood 29.67.



1—Bennett Snyder and Shaw Dean 20.92 (Pete Patterson Award). 3—Charlie Snyder 22.62. 4—Alex Daves 23.20. 5—Aidan Burchmore 25.38. 6—Wyatt Minor 45.99.


(ages 11-12)

1—Sage Rheinschild 19.22 (Kathleen Harriman Mortimer Award). 2—Katelyn Rathfon 19.51. 3—Pilar Pennell and Libby Kaiser 20.29. 5—Lucy More 21.11. 6—Kaia Jensen 22.05. 7—Katherine Lemma 22.10. 8—Sydney Davis 25.75. 9—Aloe Orison 26.70.


1—Noah Leininger 20.10 (Billy Kleine Award). 2—Ethan Daves 20.51. 3—Tobias Verheijen 20.60. 4—Mac Mizer 20.73. 5—Will Griffith 45.99.


(ages 13-14)

1—Olivia Wentzell 19.25 (Bonnie Russell Award). 2—Haley Cutler 19.37. 3—Lexi Black 19.52. 4—Royce Rheinschild 19.58. 5—Margot Griffith 19.88. 6—Lori Linser 20.31. 7—Isabella Welsh 21.54.


1—Trenor Gould 18.33 (Smith Goggle Award). 2—Will Snyder 18.40. 3—Jay Fitzgerald 18.44. 4—Griffin Curtis 18.78. 5—Emmett Say 18.88. 6—Michael Levy 19.20. 7—Taylor Cooper 23.45. 8—Drake Vernoy 23.65.


(ages 15-16)

No Christin Cooper Award presented.


1—Kipling Weisel 17.87 (Pete Lane Award). 2—Tanner Josey 19.17. 3—Cole Caulkins 22.59.


(ages 17-19)

No Susan Corrock Trophy awarded.


No Darrock Crookes Trophy awarded.


Overall fastest boy and girl

Sage Rheinschild and Kipling Weisel

About Comments

Comments with content that seeks to incite or inflame may be removed.

Comments that are in ALL CAPS may be removed.

Comments that are off-topic or that include profanity or personal attacks, libelous or other inappropriate material may be removed from the site. Entries that are unsigned or contain signatures by someone other than the actual author may be removed. We will take steps to block users who violate any of our posting standards, terms of use or any other policies governing this site. Use of this system denotes full acceptance of these conditions. Please review the full rules governing commentaries and discussions. You are fully responsible for the content that you post.

The comments below are from the readers of and in no way represent the views of Express Publishing, Inc.

You may flag individual comments. You may also report an inappropriate or offensive comment by clicking here.

Flagging Comments: Flagging a comment tells a site administrator that a comment is inappropriate. You can find the flag option by pointing the mouse over the comment and clicking the 'Flag' link.

Flagging a comment is only counted once per person, and you won't need to do it multiple times.

Proper Flagging Guidelines: Every site has a different commenting policy - be sure to review the policy for this site before flagging comments. In general these types of comments should be flagged:

  • Spam
  • Ones violating this site's commenting policy
  • Clearly unrelated
  • Personal attacks on others
Comments should not be flagged for:
  • Disagreeing with the content
  • Being in a dispute with the commenter

Popular Comment Threads

 Local Weather 
Search archives:

Copyright © 2020 Express Publishing Inc.   Terms of Use   Privacy Policy
All Rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Express Publishing Inc. is prohibited. 

The Idaho Mountain Express is distributed free to residents and guests throughout the Sun Valley, Idaho resort area community. Subscribers to the Idaho Mountain Express will read these stories and others in this week's issue.