Wednesday, November 30, 2011

Carey, Lions pile up top picks in All-Sawtooth

Dietrich’s Astle voted top coach

Carey senior Baley Barg, shown here gaining yardage after his interception in the 1A Division 2 championship game Nov. 18 in Pocatello, made the All-Sawtooth Conference first team as an end, punter and defensive back. Photo by David N. Seelig

State 1A Division 2 eight-man football finalists Carey School and Lighthouse Christian Academy amassed top picks in the All-Sawtooth Conference football team selected Monday, Nov. 21 after the conclusion of the Idaho High School Activities Association state football finals.

Carey (11-1), the 2011 state runner-up, boasted first-team North Division picks in junior Jordan Dilworth, senior Charlie Rivera, senior Baley Barg, senior Dillon Cenarrusa, junior Glen Andrews and junior Garrett Lee.

Newly-crowned state champion Lighthouse Christian of Twin Falls (10-3) had first-team South Division honorees in Gabe Heath, Brad Wall, Kade Evans and Logan Vander Stelt.

Coaches of the Year were Doug Astle of North Division runner-up Dietrich and John van Vliet of Lighthouse Christian. Dietrich (5-4) averaged nearly 40 points a game and earned its third straight state playoff berth and fifth in six years—losing at Castleford 44-38 in the quarterfinals.

Here are the selections:


Coach of the Year—Doug Astle (Dietrich).

Quarterback—First team: Jordan Dilworth (Carey). Second team: Brody Astle (Dietrich). Honorable mention: Dustin Rosenkrance (Mackay) and Jeff Henson (Richfield).

Running backs—First team: Jakob Howard (Dietrich) and Charlie Rivera (Carey). Second team: Gray Weber (Dietrich) and Caden Betzer (Mackay). Honorable mention: Chance Chavez (Carey) and Morgan Johnson (Mackay).

Center—First team: Eddie Alvarado (Dietrich). Second team: Francisco Gamino (Carey). Honorable mention: Eric Beezly (Richfield).

Guards—First team: Arturo Vargas (Dietrich) and Glen Andrews (Carey). Second team: Colton Hanson (Dietrich) and Garrett Lee (Carey).

Ends—First team: Andru Howard (Dietrich) and Baley Barg (Carey). Second team: Jack Cenarrusa (Carey) and Ricky Godin (Richfield).

Punter—First team: Baley Barg (Carey). Second team: C. McCammon (North Valley Academy).


Defensive line—First team: Garrett Lee (Carey) and Arturo Vargas (Dietrich). Second team: Francisco Gamino (Carey) and Martin Becali (Richfield). Honorable mention: Colton Hanson (Dietrich).

Defensive ends—First team: Dillon Cenarrusa (Carey) and Glen Andrews (Carey). Second team: Tucker Farr (Clark County) and Hazen Weber (Dietrich). Honorable mention: Andru Howard (Dietrich).

Linebacker—First team: Gray Weber (Dietrich) and Charlie Rivera (Carey). Second team: Caden Betzer (Mackay) and Chayce Bramwell (Clark County). Honorable mention: Chance Chavez (Carey), Jakob Howard (Dietrich) and Morgan Johnson (Mackay).

Defensive backs—First team: Baley Barg (Carey) and Brody Astle (Dietrich). Second team: Jack Cenarrusa (Carey) and Dustin Rosenkrance (Mackay). Honorable mention: Cooper Astle (Dietrich) and Zak Wood (Richfield).

Kicker—First team: Ben Robles (Richfield). Second team: Luis Garcia (Carey). Honorable mention: Arturo Vargas (Dietrich) and James McHan (North Valley Academy).


Coach of the Year—John van Vliet (Lighthouse Christian).

Quarterback—First team: Mitch Howard (Castleford). Second team: Logan Bosma (Lighthouse Christian). Honorable mention: B. Messmer (Jackpot, Nev.) and Ty Teton (Sho-Ban).

Running backs—First team: Gabe Heath (Lighthouse Christian) and Humberto Pacheco (Murtaugh). Second team: Ty Zimmers (Castleford) and C. Robinson (Rockland). Honorable mention: Dylan Van Esch (Lighthouse Christian), Destry Weekes (Castleford), Merrill Hall (North Gem) and Devin Devine (Sho-Ban).

Center—First team: Logan VanderStelt (Lighthouse Christian). Second team: A. Kirby (Rockland). Honorable mention: L. Miramontes (Jackpot, Nev.), Cody Banes (Murtaugh) and Riley Reynolds (Castleford).

Guards—First team: Kade Evans (Lighthouse Christian) and Quentin Van Pelt (North Gem). Second team: Samoa Etelu (Castleford) and E. Sanchez (Jackpot, Nev.). Honorable mention: Tyson Wilkins (Murtaugh).

Ends—First team: Brad Wall (Lighthouse Christian) and Cody Hansen (Castleford). Second team: Kendall Lloyd (North Gem) and P. Perez (Jackpot, Nev.). Honorable mention: Troy Banes (Murtaugh).

Punter—First team: Daren Hester (Jackpot, Nev.). Second team: Merrill Hall (North Gem). Honorable mention: Devin Devine (Sho-Ban) and Eli Spillet (Rockland).


Defensive line—First team: Samoa Etelu (Castleford) and C. Hidalgo (Rockland). Second team: Trentan Lessley (Lighthouse Christian) and Andre Briggs (Lighthouse Christian). Honorable mention: Everado Sanchez (Jackpot, Nev.) and Danny Pine (Sho-Ban).

Defensive ends—First team: Destry Weekes (Castleford) and Kendall Lloyd (North Gem). Second team: Donnie Aardema (Lighthouse Christian) and Loren Rector (Castleford). Honorable mention: D. Duba (Rockland), Devin Devine (Sho-Ban) and J. Plancenscia (Jackpot, Nev.).

Linebackers—First team: Merrill Hall (North Gem) and P. Perez (Jackpot, Nev.). Second team: Dillon Wilson (Lighthouse Christian) and Cody Hansen (Castleford). Honorable mention: Weston Thompson (North Gem), Tanner Allred (Castleford), C. Robinson (Rockland) and Darven Jake (Sho-Ban).

Defensive backs—First team: Austin Stanger (Murtaugh) and Mitch Howard (Castleford). Second team: Philip DeMello (Lighthouse Christian) and Tyler McClain (North Gem). Honorable mention: Ty Zimmers (Castleford), K. Kunkel (Castleford), Eli Berndt (Lighthouse Christian) and Ty Teton (Sho-Ban).

Kicker—First team: Johnny Martinez (Jackpot, Nev.). Second team: Riley Reynolds (Castleford).

About Comments

Comments with content that seeks to incite or inflame may be removed.

Comments that are in ALL CAPS may be removed.

Comments that are off-topic or that include profanity or personal attacks, libelous or other inappropriate material may be removed from the site. Entries that are unsigned or contain signatures by someone other than the actual author may be removed. We will take steps to block users who violate any of our posting standards, terms of use or any other policies governing this site. Use of this system denotes full acceptance of these conditions. Please review the full rules governing commentaries and discussions. You are fully responsible for the content that you post.

The comments below are from the readers of and in no way represent the views of Express Publishing, Inc.

You may flag individual comments. You may also report an inappropriate or offensive comment by clicking here.

Flagging Comments: Flagging a comment tells a site administrator that a comment is inappropriate. You can find the flag option by pointing the mouse over the comment and clicking the 'Flag' link.

Flagging a comment is only counted once per person, and you won't need to do it multiple times.

Proper Flagging Guidelines: Every site has a different commenting policy - be sure to review the policy for this site before flagging comments. In general these types of comments should be flagged:

  • Spam
  • Ones violating this site's commenting policy
  • Clearly unrelated
  • Personal attacks on others
Comments should not be flagged for:
  • Disagreeing with the content
  • Being in a dispute with the commenter

Popular Comment Threads

 Local Weather 
Search archives:

Copyright © 2020 Express Publishing Inc.   Terms of Use   Privacy Policy
All Rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Express Publishing Inc. is prohibited. 

The Idaho Mountain Express is distributed free to residents and guests throughout the Sun Valley, Idaho resort area community. Subscribers to the Idaho Mountain Express will read these stories and others in this week's issue.