Wednesday, November 16, 2011

Soccer awards aplenty for Wood River, Community School

WRHS’s Paisley named defensive player of year

Wood River High School dealt out its yearly awards for the girls and boys soccer teams on Nov. 9.

The Wood River girls team (9-3-2 overall, 7-1-2 league), which finished second in the Great Basin Conference (West), made it to the state tournament.

In the Great Basin Conference, Wood River senior defender Lucy Paisley was named Defensive Player of the Year.

Senior midfielders Erin Murphy and Sloan Storey were named to the Great Basin Conference First Team.

Senior defender Maddie Bates was named to the Second Team and sophomore forward Haley Montgomery was named as an honorable mention.

The Wood River boys didn't fall short of post-season awards, either.

Senior goalkeeper Dylan Carey and junior midfielder Trevor Brand were named to the Great Basin Conference First Team.

Sophomore midfielder Stephen Pfeiffer, senior defender Nathan Moses and junior defender Zach Freeman were named to the All-Conference Second Team.

Junior forward Liam Jablonski and senior defender Luis Lopez were named as honorable mentions.

Wood River head coach Luis Manjaras also gave out team awards.

Carey took home the MVP award on the team for his remarkable season at goalkeeper. Brand was named Defender of the Year while Jabonski was named Midfielder of the Year.

Manjaras named sophomore Zac Miculski Forward of the Year and Moses was named Inspirational Player of the Year.

Most Improved Player went to three players this year: sophomores Eron Bates and Andrew Graves and junior Cole Caminiti.

Senior defender Jefferey Espejo, Martin Gotlander and junior Alex Lopez were named to the Spirit & Character Award.

All-Around Player was awarded to Pfeiffer and senior Rex Kelly.

Freeman and Lopez were given the Coaches Award and freshmen Jon Scott, Sage Kelly and Kyle Weller were given the Call of Duty Award.

Cutthroats give out awards

The Community School Cutthroat boys' soccer team (12-5-2 overall, 8-2-1 league) gave out its awards on Nov. 8, according to coach Richard Whitelaw. The Cutthroats won the consolation round in the soccer state tournament.

Seniors Tom Crosby, Colin Waycott, Cassidy Carson and junior Zach Lindahl were named to the 3A High Desert All-Conference First Team.

Senior Will Brokaw was the year's top goal scorer with 12 goals on the year. Brokaw was also given the Goal of the Year for his excellent goal versus Buhl in the district tournament.

Senior Tim Kanellitsas was named Most Improved and senior Tom Crosby was named Most Inspirational.

The state tournament MVP went to Carson, and the season's MVP went to Crosby. Waycott was given the Factor Award.

The Community School girls team (16-5-1 overall, 12-2-1 league) finished the season in third place in the 3A Idaho State Soccer Tournament.

Senior Hailey Rheinschild, sophomores Jordan Fitzgerald, Hannah Dies and Katie Feldman were named to both the 3A All-State team and the All-Conference team.

Junior Ellie Swanson was also named to the All-Conference team. Swanson was the team's scoring leader with 59 goals on the year.

Freshman Sara Runkel and Haylay Murach were named Most Improved while senior Josie Bunce was named Most Inspirational.

The Coaches Award went to Feldman and Dies, while Fitzgerald was named team MVP.

About Comments

Comments with content that seeks to incite or inflame may be removed.

Comments that are in ALL CAPS may be removed.

Comments that are off-topic or that include profanity or personal attacks, libelous or other inappropriate material may be removed from the site. Entries that are unsigned or contain signatures by someone other than the actual author may be removed. We will take steps to block users who violate any of our posting standards, terms of use or any other policies governing this site. Use of this system denotes full acceptance of these conditions. Please review the full rules governing commentaries and discussions. You are fully responsible for the content that you post.

The comments below are from the readers of and in no way represent the views of Express Publishing, Inc.

You may flag individual comments. You may also report an inappropriate or offensive comment by clicking here.

Flagging Comments: Flagging a comment tells a site administrator that a comment is inappropriate. You can find the flag option by pointing the mouse over the comment and clicking the 'Flag' link.

Flagging a comment is only counted once per person, and you won't need to do it multiple times.

Proper Flagging Guidelines: Every site has a different commenting policy - be sure to review the policy for this site before flagging comments. In general these types of comments should be flagged:

  • Spam
  • Ones violating this site's commenting policy
  • Clearly unrelated
  • Personal attacks on others
Comments should not be flagged for:
  • Disagreeing with the content
  • Being in a dispute with the commenter

Popular Comment Threads

 Local Weather 
Search archives:

Copyright © 2019 Express Publishing Inc.   Terms of Use   Privacy Policy
All Rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Express Publishing Inc. is prohibited. 

The Idaho Mountain Express is distributed free to residents and guests throughout the Sun Valley, Idaho resort area community. Subscribers to the Idaho Mountain Express will read these stories and others in this week's issue.