Friday, October 21, 2011

Thinclads qualify for Eagle Island state meet

Fine efforts at district footraces

     High school cross country runners from Hailey’s WoodRiverHigh School and the Community School of Sun Valley came up with some strong efforts during Wednesday’s state-qualifying district runs in Twin Falls and Gooding.

     During the Great Basin Conference 5-kilometer (3.1-mile) run at Twin Falls Golf Club, WoodRiver didn’t manage to qualify its full teams for the State 4A cross country meet Oct. 29 at EagleIslandState Park west of Boise. But four individual runners made state.

     In addition, three CommunitySchool runners placed among the top runners in the 4th District 2A/1A footrace at Gooding Golf Course on an afternoon with perfect running conditions—cool temperatures, a dry course and light winds.

     State qualifiers are: From WRHS: Seniors Ben Stout and Corrine Smith, junior Chase England and freshman Alexis Gonzalez. And from CommunitySchool: Seniors Morgan Atkinson and Gray Riedinger and junior Maranda Stopol.

     Four-time state cross country qualifier Morgan Atkinson said, “I’m super stoked to get back to state.” Team captain Riedinger added about his fourth-place 18:14 time, “That was my personal record for the year so I feel I’m hitting it about right—go Cutthroats!”

     Senior Jade Atkinson of Wood River just missed qualifying for state as an individual. In all, there were 31 Wolverine runners in the 158-runner field.

     4A boys: 1—Erik Harris (Twin Falls) 15:29. 2—Ben Stout (WR) 16:28. 9—Alexis Gonzalez (WR) 17:16. 10—Chase England (WR) 17:17. 25—Ketchum Wilt (WR) 18:19. 27—Nate Thomas (WR) 18:27. 31—Ty Reinemann (WR) 18:42. 34—Andreas Morales (WR) 18:56. 35—Cameron Bingham (WR) 19:20. 36—Jake Adicoff (WR) 19:27. 39—Connor Hayes (WR) 19:36. 57—Jimmy Holcomb (WR) 21:01. 65—Nash Haratdegen (WR) 22:32. 66—Ostin Arters (WR) 22:33. 72—Chris Mourtizen (WR) 23:42. 73—Xavier Haemmerle (WR) 23:57. 76—Rodrigo Candila (WR) 24:10. 82—Andrew Ryason (WR) 33:16. Team standings (top 3 full teams to state): 1—Burley 39. 2—Twin Falls 51. 3—Jerome 65. 4—WRHS 73. 5—Minico of Rupert 154. 6—Canyon Ridge of Twin Falls 170.

     4A girls: 1—Mikesell Clegg (Jerome) 19:18. 4—Corrine Smith (WR) 20:16. 16—Jade Atkinson (WR) 22:10. 18—Janel Passey (WR) 22:14. 22—Dani McLaughlin (WR) 22:53. 26—Grace Gorham (WR) 23:14. 30—Mariah Stout (WR) 23:40. 34—Brooke Lawrence (WR) 23:59. 36—Kaitlyn Landis (WR) 24:09. 46—Avery Closser (WR) 25:08. 54—Marcia Smith (WR) 26:28. 56—Alexandria Begley (WR) 26:32. 67—Mateja Heinrich (WR) 29:12. 68—Lex Shapiro (WR) 29:14. 69—Karady Beck (WR) 29:21. Team standings (top 3 to state): 1—Jerome 32. 2—Twin Falls 40. 3—Canyon Ridge 76. 4—WRHS 85. 5—Minico 152. 6—Burley 156.

     2A/1A boys: 1—Trevor Anderson (Declo) 16:58. 2—Elisio Garcia (Gooding) 17:01. 3—Jacob Dalton(Dietrich 18:01. 4—Gray Riedinger (CS) 18:14. 19—Nate Nasvik (CS) 19:35. 24—Gunnar Ohlson (CS) 20:01. 41—Connor Smith (CS) 22:13. Team ranks (top 3 to state): 1—Declo 33. 2—Gooding 38. 3—Oakley 90.

     2A/1A girls: 1—Rachel Youren (Gooding) 19:53. 2—Sasha Kent (Richfield) 20:41. 3—Ellie Dalton(Dietrich) 21:05. 5—Maranda Stopol (CS) 22:12. 6—Morgan Atkinson (CS) 22:19. Team ranks (top team to state): 1—Gooding 21. 2—Valley 34.

About Comments

Comments with content that seeks to incite or inflame may be removed.

Comments that are in ALL CAPS may be removed.

Comments that are off-topic or that include profanity or personal attacks, libelous or other inappropriate material may be removed from the site. Entries that are unsigned or contain signatures by someone other than the actual author may be removed. We will take steps to block users who violate any of our posting standards, terms of use or any other policies governing this site. Use of this system denotes full acceptance of these conditions. Please review the full rules governing commentaries and discussions. You are fully responsible for the content that you post.

The comments below are from the readers of and in no way represent the views of Express Publishing, Inc.

You may flag individual comments. You may also report an inappropriate or offensive comment by clicking here.

Flagging Comments: Flagging a comment tells a site administrator that a comment is inappropriate. You can find the flag option by pointing the mouse over the comment and clicking the 'Flag' link.

Flagging a comment is only counted once per person, and you won't need to do it multiple times.

Proper Flagging Guidelines: Every site has a different commenting policy - be sure to review the policy for this site before flagging comments. In general these types of comments should be flagged:

  • Spam
  • Ones violating this site's commenting policy
  • Clearly unrelated
  • Personal attacks on others
Comments should not be flagged for:
  • Disagreeing with the content
  • Being in a dispute with the commenter

Popular Comment Threads

 Local Weather 
Search archives:

Copyright © 2019 Express Publishing Inc.   Terms of Use   Privacy Policy
All Rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Express Publishing Inc. is prohibited. 

The Idaho Mountain Express is distributed free to residents and guests throughout the Sun Valley, Idaho resort area community. Subscribers to the Idaho Mountain Express will read these stories and others in this week's issue.