Wednesday, June 29, 2011

Arritola paces 39 runners on Dollar Trail Run

Harriman Trail Run set for Sept. 4

Stellar running weather greeted 39 participants of the second Dollar Mountain 10-kilometer Trail Run on a 6.24-mile course with 3,400-feet of elevation change Saturday.

With an 8 a.m. start, heat wasn't an issue, but the pace was hot for the lung-busting and challenging course.

For the second straight year U.S. Nordic Ski Team racer Morgan Arritola, 25, of Ketchum (52:31) took the overall victory with 45-year-old Ted Russell of Park City, Utah (52:42) right on her heels.

Proving their mountain running skills, locals Nicole DeYong (56:43) and Mali Noyes (58:08) captured the second and third female positions.

For the men, behind Russell, always a force in the mountains Miles Fink-Debray (53:32) was second with Ryan Yates (53:34) improving three minutes over 2010 to place third.

For Yates, the 10k was just a warm up because he ventured over to the Ketchum's Festival Meadows to compete in the Fight to Survive (Crossfit) challenge later Saturday.

Race director Brad Mitchell announced on his Web site that he has received U.S. Forest Service approval for the first Harriman Trail 10k Trail Run. It is scheduled for Sunday, Sept. 4, 2011 from Baker Creek to Galena Lodge north of Ketchum.

2011 Dollar Trail Run results

June 25, 2011, the second annual 10-kilometer (6.2 mile) trail run starting and finishing at The Community School in Sun Valley. Staged with the support of The Community School, Sun Valley Company, The Elephant's Perch and the Sun Valley Ski Education Foundation. A total 39 runners (21 men, 18 women). Finishing times in minutes and seconds, and hours, minutes and seconds, with age after a runner's name. Runners ranged in age from 16-66, average age 34.1.


1—Morgan Arritola, 25 52:31

2—Ted Russell, 45 52:42

3—Miles Fink-Debray, 23 53:32

4—Ryan Yates, 29 53:34

5—Richard Feldman, 42 53:42

6—Daniel Sundali, 19 55:00

7—Luke Costly, 16 55:16

8—Will Northrop, 41 55:59

9—Nicole DeYong, 28 56:43

10—Dave Knoop, 53 57:28

11—Scott Phelan, 20 57:34

12—Mike Lloyd, 32 58:06

13—Mali Noyes, 21 58:08

14—Alexa Turzian, 22 58:11

15—Will Spiller, 18 59:54

16—David Vanderpool, 25 1.00:11

17—Chris Mallory, 29 1.01:37

18—Abbie Harris, 28 1.03:27

19—Angenie McCleary, 34 1.03:53

20—Joanna Peters, 36 1.06:02

21—Carrie Heagney, 19 1.06:46

22—Al Pitt, 47 1.07:47

23—Erin Finnegan, 38 1.07:48

24—Tizz Miller, 43 1.07:59

25—Dave Fluetsch, 52 1.08:18

26—Laura Theis, 28 1.09:59

27—Erica Reinhold, 24 1.14:24

28—John Smith, 38 1.15:08

29—Laurie Fitzpatrick, 48 1.15:10

30—Ashley Hunter, 42 1.15:38

31—Mary Arrossa, 33 1.17:11

32—Yvette Hubbard, 45 1.17:23

33—Rich Arrossa, 30 1.17:25

34—Curt Erskine, 40 1.17:32

35—Monica Hebert, 43 1.21:34

36—John Lloyd, 66 1.24:06

37—Scott McCullough, 37 1.24:45

38—Sarah Buchanan, 24 1.30:14

39—Stuart Moser, 48 1.30:15


Ashley Hunter 5:26, Chris Mallory 4:00, Ryan Yates 2:54, Tizz Miller 0:24 and Joanna Peters 0:13. Richard Feldman had the exact same time as he clocked last year.

 Local Weather 
Search archives:

Copyright © 2020 Express Publishing Inc.   Terms of Use   Privacy Policy
All Rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Express Publishing Inc. is prohibited. 

The Idaho Mountain Express is distributed free to residents and guests throughout the Sun Valley, Idaho resort area community. Subscribers to the Idaho Mountain Express will read these stories and others in this week's issue.