Wednesday, June 15, 2011

Corbett’s foursomes win SV/Elkhorn Pro-Am

36-hole tournament May 31-June 1

Doyle Corbett's Sun Valley foursomes walked away with the Pro-Am Team titles of the Sun Valley Resort/Elkhorn Golf Club Pro Men's 36-hole tournament May 31-June 1.

It was a Rocky Mountain PGA Snake River Chapter event. The next local Rocky Mountain PGA tournament is Friday, Oct. 7 at Valley Club.

Format was four-person teams, one gross and one net per team. The Professional payout was based on a two-day total, while Amateur Sweeps and Team payouts were daily.

Corbett and playing partners Bob Dunn, Mike Pirzynski and Phil Doerflein shot 128 at Sun Valley Golf Course May 31 and won by a single stroke over Jeff Thomson's foursome from Boise. On June 1, Corbett played Elkhorn with Dunn, Doerflein and Steve Myers and won by three strokes, for $870.

Sun Valley pro Corbett tied for third place and Sun Valley's Dominick Conti was sixth in Professional Division ranks.

At Sun Valley, Lane Monroe tied for first place in the First Flight and Shawn Aicher was third gross in the Championship Flight. Here are results:

Professional Division

1—Ben Bryson (BanBury Golf Club, Boise) 141 and Jim Empey (Shadow Valley GC, Boise) 141, for $487.27 apiece. 3—Doyle Corbett (SV) 142 and Jeff Thomsen (Indian Lakes, Boise) 142, for $274.64 each. 5—Jon Potter (Idaho Falls CC) 144, for $141.75. 6—Dominick Conti (SV) 147, for $106.31.

At Sun Valley Resort

Pro-Am Team Division: 1—Sun Valley with Doyle Corbett (Bob Dunn, Mike Pirzynski, Phil Doerflein) 128. 2—Indian Lakes with Jeff Thomsen 129. 3—Idaho Falls with Jason Jacobsen 130. 4 (tie)—Twin Falls with Mike Hamblin, Twin Falls with Zachary Abels and BanBury with Ben Bryson, 131.

Championship Flight, gross: 1—Trent Cichos 72 and Gage Huft 72. 3—Shawn Aicher 73. 4—Mike Sadler 74. 5—Jay Sutton 75. Net: 1—Corky Federico 67. 2—Jerry Schwanberg 68 and Jim Toy 68. 4—Allan Howa 70 and Stan Kolby 70.

First Flight, gross: 1 (tie)—Lane Monroe 83 and Steve Zollinger 83. 3 (tie)—Doug McCarty 84 and Phil Syrdal 84. 5 (tie)—Gary Fawcett 88 and Russ Isbell 88. Net: 1—Eric Nelson 66. 2—Paul Morgan 69. 3—Steve Wybenga 72. 4—Tony Harward 73. 5 (tie)—Jim Johnson 75 and Rod Sears 75.

At Elkhorn Golf Club

Pro-Am Team Division: 1—Sun Valley with Doyle Corbett (Bob Dunn, Steve Myers, Phil Doerflein) 122. 2 (tie)—Shadow Valley with Jim Empey 125 and SpurWing CC with Brett Nagel 125. 4—Teton Lakes with Cam Garn 126. 5—Teton Lakes with Fred Luthy 127. 6—Jackpot GC with Brent Fleshman 128.

Championship Flight, gross: 1 (tie)—Jay Sutton 71 and Calvin Filmore 71. 3—Gage Huft 72. 4(tie)—Steve Myers 73 and Mike Sadler 73. Net: 1—Mike Bosma 63. 2—Scott Hays 67. 3—Corky Federico 68. 4 (tie)—Trent Cichos 69 and James Toy 69.

First Flight, gross: 1—Doug McCarthy 77. 2—Jim McGeachin 79. 3—Steve Zollinger 81. 4 (tie)—Jim Johnson 85 and Braden Luper 85. Net: 1 (tie)—Paul Morgan 66 and Rod Sears 66. 3 (tie)—Don Burgess 67 and Eb Nelson 67. 5—Eldon Fullmer 69.

 Local Weather 
Search archives:

Copyright © 2020 Express Publishing Inc.   Terms of Use   Privacy Policy
All Rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Express Publishing Inc. is prohibited. 

The Idaho Mountain Express is distributed free to residents and guests throughout the Sun Valley, Idaho resort area community. Subscribers to the Idaho Mountain Express will read these stories and others in this week's issue.