Wednesday, June 8, 2011

Players named to All-Great Basin ball teams

Twin Falls, Jerome dominate picks

State 4A baseball champion Twin Falls dominated the top picks of the 2011 Great Basin Conference All-Star prep baseball team announced last week.

The Jerome Tigers, third-place finishers in the 2011 State 4A softball tournament and two-time champs of the GBC, took the top honors on the All-Great Basin softball team.

First-team players from Hailey's Wood River High were Alex Padilla and Jake Freeman in baseball, and Mercedes Powell, Madison Gove, Ali Levy and Josie Dawson in softball.

Baseball GBC "Player of the Year" was Twin Falls pitcher Cy Sneed, who threw two complete games as the Bruins (23-5) captured their first state baseball title in 21 years by a 5-2 score over Kuna (21-6) May 21.

"Coach of the Year" was Tim Stadelmeir of Twin Falls, and "Pitcher of the Year" was Casey Christiansen of Great Basin tournament champ Minico.

The softball "Player of the Year" was Canyon Ridge pitcher Karly Hudelson. "Pitcher of the Year" Colby Argyle and "Coach of the Year" Adam Reynolds led Jerome (19-8) to third place in the State 4A tournament 5-3 over Twin Falls (17-12). Emmett won the state title 2-0 over Columbia.

Here are All-Star teams, with abbreviations WR (Wood River), TF (Twin Falls), Jer (Jerome), Min (Minico), Canyon Ridge (CR) and Burley (B).



First team: Brylee Bartlett (TF catcher), Kylee Kuest (CR first base), Mercedes Powell (WR second base), Crystal Luna (Jer third base), Tiffany Joyce (Min shortstop), Madison Gove (WR outfield), Alex Schamber (CR outfield), Taylor Molt (Jer outfield), Lauren Shotwell (CR pitcher), Jaquelyn Corr (TF pitcher), Ali Levy (WR pitcher), Rainey Dyreson (TF designated player) and Josie Dawson (WR utility).

Second team: Jenna Seamons (Jer catcher), Sydney Tidwell (WR first base), Krissie Coats (Min second base), Courtney Cunningham (CR third base), Paige Jackman (Jer shortstop), Breeann Bingham (Min outfield), Jade Byce (TF outfield), Madison Traveller (TF outfield), Jacoby Saras (B pitcher), Emma Stephens (CR pitcher), Megan Hinojos (TF designated player) and Jessica Praegitzer (Jer utility).

Honorable mention: Taylor Gove (WR), Hunter Thompson (WR), Hanna Munns (Min), Allie Johnson (TF), Brooke Burnside (TF), Alexis McClure (Jer) and Kimberly Bollinger (CR).


First team: Kody Moon (B catcher), Jake Mills (B first base), Cody McBride (TF second base), Taylor Carson (B third base), Jackson Kunz (B shortstop), Alex Padilla (WR outfield), Suede Denker (Min outfield), K.C. Redder (Min outfield), Jake Freeman (WR pitcher), Jordy Garrard (Jer pitcher), Scott Speer (CR pitcher), Zayne Slotten (TF designated hitter) and T.J. Ellis (TF utility).

Second team: Jayson Welker (TF catcher), Sager Nevarez (Min first base), D.J. Worthington (Jer second base), Brandon Bradshaw (CR third base), Tyler Wolters (TF shortstop), Josh Schroder (CR outfield), Casey Merritt (TF outfield), Ryan Fuchs (TF outfield), Zach Israel (WR pitcher), Garrett Basham (CR pitcher), Kayleb Price (CR pitcher), Tanner Holyoak (Jer designated hitter) and Brett Mitchell (Jer utility).

Honorable mention: Kevin Jensen (WR), Tucker Donnelly (TF), Joe Ferrin (B), Jon Cron (CR), Connor Stubblefield (CR), Zach Thibault (Jer) and Andrew Frank (Min).

 Local Weather 
Search archives:

Copyright © 2020 Express Publishing Inc.   Terms of Use   Privacy Policy
All Rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Express Publishing Inc. is prohibited. 

The Idaho Mountain Express is distributed free to residents and guests throughout the Sun Valley, Idaho resort area community. Subscribers to the Idaho Mountain Express will read these stories and others in this week's issue.