Friday, May 20, 2011

Top scholars, citizens are honored at WRHS

Academic awards at high school assembly

Top: Jessica Hamilton Senior Citizenship Award winner Above: Hunter Van Bramer Senior Citizenship Award winner

     Proud parents, family members and teachers congratulated students at Hailey’s WoodRiverHigh School who were honored Tuesday during the school’s "Academic and Citizenship Awards 2011" program.

     Citizenship Awards were given to eight deserving students. Honored were male and female members of the senior, junior, sophomore and freshman classes. Students voted on Citizenship Awards.

     Senior Citizenship honorees were Jessica Hamilton for a fourth consecutive year and Hunter Van Bramer.

     Junior Citizenship Award selections were Kaitana Martinez for a third straight year and Sean Sutton. Sophomore winners, both chosen for the second straight year, were Nicole Pratt and Tim Boyle.

     Freshman Citizenship recipients were Mary Petzke and Chase Hutchinson.

     High school principal Peter Jurovich announced this year’s senior valedictorians are James Paris and Andrew Pfeiffer. The salutatorians are Kylee Richmond and Alexander Bates. Graduation is scheduled for Friday, June 3.

     Joey Altermatt earned accolades for becoming a National Merit Scholar. Achieving perfect attendance was Katlyn Matthews for a second straight year along with Christian De La Cruz and Kalen Moffett.

     Awards for outstanding four-year academic efforts were presented to Claire Bowman (English) along with Kevin Jensen and Alexandra Peck (Social Studies). Winning the Jim Praegitzer Senior Math Award was Joey Altermatt.

     The Parent Teacher Student Association (PTSA) gave Community Service Awards in the gold category (50 hours or more). Winners were Megan Kehrer, Nicole Pratt, Kaili Smith and Esteban Palencia.


Other class awards

     Teachers announced further “Outstanding Student” awards by grade and subject:

     Science—AP Biology: Andrew Pfeiffer. AP Physics: Louvier Gomez. Overall Senior Science Winner: James Paris. Chemistry Junior: Gus Kimball. Biology Sophomore: Brooke Lawrence. Physical Science Freshman: Matt Reidy.

     Social Studies—4-Year Awards: Kevin Jensen and Alexandra Peck. Advanced Placement U.S.History: Adam Brown. AP Government: Kaitana Martinez. AP Economics: Lucy Paisley. Outstanding Senior: Kathryn Caminiti. Junior: Luca Del  Signore. Sophomore: Sydney Tidwell. Freshmen: Haley Montgomery and Liam Niedrich.

     Senior Projects—John Crotty, Patrick Shipp, Tory Lakey, Megan Reidy and Nicolas Howard.

     Speech—Lucas DelSignore.

     Debate—Miles Hendrix.

     Algebra I—Sabrina Bourgette.

     Algebra II—Alison Gasenica.

     Geometry—Karla Aguayo.

     Pre Calculus—Kaitana Martinez.

     Calculus—Cheyenne Swanson and Andrew Pfeiffer.

     Statistics—Sam Strong.

     Jim Praegitzer Senior Math Award—Joey Altermatt.

     English—4-Year senior: Claire Bowman. Outstanding Seniors: Jordan Nevins and Erica Evans. Juniors: Lucy Paisley and Ryan Buell. Sophomores: Brooke Lawrence and Gus Kimball. Freshmen: Chase Hutchinson, Matt Reidy, Brenda Carrillo and Lisa Hart.

     English as a Second Language (ESL)—Outstanding Senior: Yocelin Chavez Vasquez. Junior: Yosilin Manturano. Sophomores: My Mai Dung and Alex Lopez.

     Dual Immersion—Outstanding Freshman: Elana King-Nakaoka.

     Latin—Jordan Nevins (Latin 3); Brooke Lawrence (Latin 2); and Annie Ashfield (Latin 1).

     German—Catherine Henry (German 2); and Drake Arial (1).

     French—Jose Ruiz (French 3); Dash Stethem (2); and Laura Kunz (1).

     Spanish—Outstanding Senior: Jessica Guy. Also: Kylee Richmond (Spanish 4); Laura Kunz (3); Jake Adicoff (2); and Eron Bates (1).

     Studio Art—Outstanding Senior: Michele Krankkala. Junior: Barrett Brown. Sophomore: Syringa Hansen. Freshman: Wyatt Caccia. Picasso Award: Jordan Nevins.

     Ceramics—Outstanding Senior: Brandon Wade. Junior: Rex Kelly. Sophomore: Lauren Malone. Freshman: Lisa Hart.

     Band, Orchestra and Choir—John Philip Sousa National Band Award to Scott Randall. Orchestra Award to Hunter Thompson and Christian Gonzalez. National School Choral Awards to Alex Padilla and Mariah Davis.

     Business Finance Academy—Academic Excellence: Davis Hague and Hunter Thompson.

     Information Technology—Outstanding Senior: Chris Ellis. Junior: Sara Garcia.


     Family and Consumer Science

Augusta Catherin-Sauer (teen living); Lucy Paisley (nutrition & foods); Clara Rodriquez (apparel & design); Maricruz Baltazar, Daniella Salinas and Sheridan Velazquez (culinary arts).

     Medical Technology—Med Tech 2: SavannahFredricks. Med Tech 1: David Maxwell.

     Sports Medicine—Outstanding Senior: Dylan Peterson. Junior: Kaitana Martinez. Sophomore: Tommy Bailey.

     Performing Arts—David Fox and Sarah Hope (Performing Arts 2); Drake Arial (Performing Arts 1); Amarah Ruhter (Intro to Theater); Jamie Colver (Play Production); and Mariah Davis (Acting).

     Residential Construction—Outstanding Senior: Zach Thomas. Junior: Conner Bennett. Sophomore: Jose Antonio Blanco.

     Teaching—Outstanding Student: Dalia Carrillo.

     Architectural and Mechanical Design—Outstanding Students: John Bartoletta and Tanner Dredge.

 Local Weather 
Search archives:

Copyright © 2020 Express Publishing Inc.   Terms of Use   Privacy Policy
All Rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Express Publishing Inc. is prohibited. 

The Idaho Mountain Express is distributed free to residents and guests throughout the Sun Valley, Idaho resort area community. Subscribers to the Idaho Mountain Express will read these stories and others in this week's issue.