Wednesday, February 23, 2011

Fresh snow, happy faces for Arkoosh Cup

Alpine racing at Rotarun

Enjoying the new Rotarun snow at Saturday’s Arkoosh Cup are, from left, Sage Curtis and Sylvia Cogen. Photo by Willy Cook

Rotarun Ski Area organizers were delighted to have 91 children running gates Saturday, Feb. 19 to celebrate the 45th Arkoosh Cup at Rotarun Ski Area west of Hailey. It was a snowy day, great for skiing.

The event was established in 1966 as a way to thank the Arkoosh family for "the magnificent asset they provided our community," said Joan Davies of the Rotarun Ski Club. This year, Rotarun Ski Club donated trophies to the top racers in classes.

Among those attending traveling all the way from Utah was Pete Richards, youngest of eight children of Art and Theresa Richards. Rotarun's mountain is named after the late Hailey dentist and longtime Rotarun booster Art Richards.

Arkoosh Cup trophy winners for the fastest 11-12 year-old boy and girl went to Katelyn Rathfon (27.90 seconds) and Yuri McClure (26.03). There were 47 girls and 44 boys.

Top results by class:

Girls 4-and-under: 1—Berkeley Canfield 27.75. 2—Natalie Gowe 31.21. 3—Lowie Watkins 35.41. 4—Huntley Nabors 41.03.

Also: Inez Kraynick 41.09 and Marina Monschke 41.61.

Boys 4-and-under: 1—Abel Marx 28.55. 2—Sacha Stern 30.03. 3—T.J. Campbell 34.94. 4—Tyler Shipley 1:28.97.

Girls 5-6: 1—Hannah Ferris 20.65. 2—Jessica Blackburn 20.75. 3—Mattigan Monschke 22.34. 4—Charlotte Davis-Jeffers 25.44. 5—Tatum Minor 26.75.

Also: Saba Grossman 27.75, Kelby Whitehead 28.90, Olive Gilbert 30.88, Laura Daves 31.28, Tenney Barrow 37.56 and Ava Schweiger 37.44.

Boys 5-6: 1—Leo Molter 23.36. 2 (tie)—Jesse Keefe 24.13 and Anton Holter 24.13. 3 (tie)—Willy White 24.47 and Lucas Carlson 24.47. 4—Russell Stumph 24.84.

Girls 7-8, Non-Ski Team: 1—Sage Curtis 19.66. 2—Lily Dean 31.35.


Boys 7-8, Non-Ski Team: 1—Ethan Marx 21.15. 2—Nathan Gowe 21.78. 3—Axel Diehl 22.16. 4—John Weekes 24.41. 5—Slater Whitehead 25.22.

Girls 7-8, Ski Team: 1—Marit Kaiser 21.62. 2—Gillian Simcoe 23.88. 3—Sage Holter 24.66. 4—Cate Ritzel 25.16. 5—Anja Schweiger 26.43.

Also: Lola Street 27.88 and Indie Vernoy 35.57.

Boys 7-8, Ski Team: 1—Josh Blackburn 19.03. 2—Buey Grossman 19.19. 3—Charlie Snyder 19.30. 4—Shaw Dean 20.47. 5—Fletcher Stumph 20.54.

Also: Andrew O'Connor 23.06, Connor Campbell 23.41, Skye Leininger 25.15, Logan Wojcik 25.40 and Angus Gilbert 35.84.

Girls 9-10, Non-Ski Team: 1—Samantha White 38.34. 2—Hanna Blackwell 39.03. 3—Julia Erlanger 50.15.

Boys 9-10, Non-Ski Team: 1—Jedson Waters 34.78. 2—Toby Molter 36.73. 3—Hunter Barrow 42.37.

Girls 9-10, Ski Team: 1—Molly Milgard 27.78. 2—Libby Kaiser 28.57. 3—Madison Ferris 29.65. 4—Allison Rathfon 29.75. 5—Kaia Jensen 30.44.

Also: Sylvia Cogen 30.63, (Lauren) Giselle Harmon 37.80 and Lucca Vernoy 39.46.

Boys 9-10, Ski Team: 1—Hunter Diehl 31.94. 2—Jackson Swenke 33.62. 3—Peter Morawitz 33.77. 4—Beck Ritzel 34.28. 5—Alex Daves 35.78.

Also: Jack Wojcik 36.19 and Aidan Burchmore 37.79.

Girls 11-12, Ski Team: 1—Katelyn Rathfon 27.90. 2—Pilar Pennell 28.41. 3—Poppy Vorse 28.44. 4—Royce Rheinschild 28.78. 5—Sage Rheinschild 29.50.

Also: Riley Revallier 29.69 and Isabella Welsh 31.28. DNF—Hallie McPherson.

Boys 11-12, Ski Team: 1—Yuri McClure 26.03. 2—Will Snyder 26.15. 3—Wyatt Smith 26.59. 4—John Blackburn 27.25. 5—Noah Leininger 28.37.

Also: Matt O'Connor 31.57, Keegan Webber 32.37 and Cooper Dart 35.13.

 Local Weather 
Search archives:

Copyright © 2020 Express Publishing Inc.   Terms of Use   Privacy Policy
All Rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Express Publishing Inc. is prohibited. 

The Idaho Mountain Express is distributed free to residents and guests throughout the Sun Valley, Idaho resort area community. Subscribers to the Idaho Mountain Express will read these stories and others in this week's issue.