Friday, February 4, 2011

Five Star defends Debra Doom hockey title

At Jackson Hole

     For the second consecutive year, the Ketchum Five Star women’s hockey team claimed the championship at the annual Debra Doom Cup tournament in Jackson, Wyo. Jan. 30.

     In B+ pool play on Saturday, Five Star skated to 1-1 ties against Missoula and Jackson Hole on goals by Lisa Wood (Erin Griffith/Jody Zarkos) and Laci Watkins.

     Needing a win and a shutout against Boise Sunday morning to earn the right to play in the championship game, Ketchum did just that.

     Backstopped by a stalwart 32-save performance by goalie Denae Commons, Five Star put Boise on its heels, with the second line of Griffith, Wood and Zarkos scoring on its first shift.

     Annie O’Sullivan pocketed the puck from Sara Schroeder to make it 2-0 in the second, and Schroeder bagged an empty-net score to finish off the Wildfire 3-0 and advance to the finals against Missoula.

     Well matched, both teams had five shots in the first period and eight in the second, but two of Ketchum’s chances found the back of the net with O’Sullivan and Zarkos (Griffith) putting the puck through the five-hole.

     Missoula scored with 5:15 remaining in the game, but the defensive pairs of Watkins/Lacie Hernandez and Kris Josey/Tess O’Sullivan clamped down to preserve a 2-1 victory.

     Most Valuable Player Commons finished with 72 saves in the five-team meet with a shutout and just three goals allowed. Rounding out the winning squad were Tristan Gralenski, Jini Griffith, Dotty Sarchett and Erika Greenberg.

     Gunnar Whitehead stepped up and coached the team in place of Nicole Altese.

     In the A bracket, Team Utah defeated Jackson Hole Passers for the title. The Sun Valley Sunsets went 0-3. The Sun Valley Twisters gained valuable experience in the B2 bracket, compiling an 0-3 record as well.

     Scoring in their 6-1, 4-1 and 5-1 losses for the Sunsets were Wendy Speth, Merri Whitehead and Kipp Mills, with assists to Speth, Lucy Chubb, Edith Iler and Michele Hampton. Goalie Kirstin Weldin of Boise made 73 saves in three games.

     Other Sunsets were Sarah Benson, Jen Embree, Christl Holzl, Casey Kelly, Tizz Miller, Sheila Naghsh, Sara Schroeder and Annie O’Sullivan. Earning the jacket was Jody Zarkos.

     Normally a C Division team, the Twisters played up in the B2 bracket and dropped their games 3-1, 4-0 and 7-0. Jen Schultz scored the only goal, assisted by Kathlyne Scheidt. Goalie Linda McMahon made 86 saves on an impressive 100 shots and received the Most Valuable Player jacket.

 Local Weather 
Search archives:

Copyright © 2020 Express Publishing Inc.   Terms of Use   Privacy Policy
All Rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Express Publishing Inc. is prohibited. 

The Idaho Mountain Express is distributed free to residents and guests throughout the Sun Valley, Idaho resort area community. Subscribers to the Idaho Mountain Express will read these stories and others in this week's issue.