Wednesday, September 15, 2010

Paris paces Wolverines to Shay XC title

207 runners at SV Invitational in Sagewillow

Wood River High School senior James Paris posted his first individual victory of 2010 leading the field of 70 boys' varsity runners during Thursday's Bob Shay Memorial Sun Valley Invitational 3.1-mile footrace.

Paris (17:15) out-legged last year's State 4A runner-up Erik Harris of Twin Falls, a junior (17:22) on the hilly Sagewillow Farms course. Wolverine boys (25 points) finished 1-3-5-7-9 for win the boys' team title 25-65 over the Twin Falls Bruins.

Other Wolverines in the top 10 were third-place senior Andrew Pfeiffer (17:39), fifth-place senior Alec England (18:20), seventh-place junior Ben Stout (18:35) and ninth-place soph Chase England (18:47).

Finishing 2-4-6 for The Community School in the 2A/1A boys' varsity race were Max Crissman (18:39), Nate Nasvik (20:22) and Gray Riedinger (21:08). Bryan John of Fairfield's Camas County High School (20:08) placed third.

Maranda Stopol of The Community School (22:41) was third in the 2A/1A girls' varsity event and Wood River's Corrine Smith (24:00) ended up 14th of 41 in the 4A/3A race.

There were 207 runners in 4A, 3A, 2A and 1A classes including 41 from Wood River, Community School and Camas. Next: The Rigby Invitational Friday, Sept. 17 for Wood River and the Kimberly Invitational Thursday for small schools.

Results from Sagewillow:

Boys' 4A/3A varsity team: 1—Wood River 25. 2—Twin Falls 65. 3—Jerome 82. 4—Burley 87 (8 teams). Girls' 4A/3A varsity: 1—Twin Falls 35. 2—Mountain Home 43. 3—Jerome 69. 4—Wood River 110 (6 teams).

Boys: 1—James Paris 17:15. 2—Erik Harris (TF) 17:22. 3—Andrew Pfeiffer 17:39. 5—Alec England 18:20. 7—Ben Stout 18:35. 9—Chase England 18:47. 22—Ketchum Wilt 20:15. 35—Jake Adicoff 21:27 (53 runners).

Girls: 1—Mackenzie Chojnacky (Jerome) 20:20. 14—Corrine Smith 24:00. 17—Montana Tucker 24:36. 21—Alison Town 26:32. 25—Brooke Lawrence 26:47. 38—Claire Bowman 29:45. 39—Laura Kunz 29:56. 41—Mariah Stout 30:58 (41 runners).

Boys' 2A/1A varsity team: 1—Gooding 15. Girls' 2A/1A varsity team: 1—Gooding 15.

Boys: 1—Mike McHan (Gooding) 18:19. 2—Max Crissman (TCS) 18:39. 3—Bryan John (Camas) 20:08. 4—Nate Nasvik (TCS) 20:22. 6—Gray Riedinger (TCS) 21:08. 9—Airik Donohoe (Camas) 22:05.16—George Simon (Camas) 25:20 (17 runners).

Girls: 1—Ellie Dalton (Dietrich) 22:09. 3—Maranda Stopol (TCS) 22:41. 4—Morgan Atkinson (TCS) 24:18. 6—Emily Williams (TCS) 24:53. 9—Sophia DeWolfe (TCS) 28:48 (14 runners).

Boys' 4A/3A junior varsity team: 1—Jerome 28. 2—Wood River 39. 3—Mountain Home 58. Girls' 4A/3A junior varsity team: 1—Twin Falls 16. 2—Wood River 53. 3—Jerome 66.

Boys: 1—Parley Pickett (Burley) 19:19. 2—Jacob Dalton (Dietrich) 20:30 (1st 2A/1A). 5—Walker Royston 21:25. 7—Ty Reinemann 21:29. 8—Miles Hendrix 21:43. 10—Drew Deffe 22:00. 22—Sean Sutton 24:59. 29—Matt Reidy 27:17. 33—Ian McKenzie 28:17. 40—Andrew Ryason 38:44 (40 runners).

Girls: 1—Lizzie Hegstrom (Twin Falls) 24:34. 5—Jade Atkinson 27:24. 9—Marcia Smith 28:02. 17—Megan Jones 29:25. 18—Kaitlyn Landis 29:31. 26—Alyse Northrup 32:41. 27—Desi Midby 32:49. 32—Ashton Lupton 33:58. 35—Rebecca Boushele 35:15. 36—Kylee Richmond 37:35 (38 runners).

 Local Weather 
Search archives:

Copyright © 2021 Express Publishing Inc.   Terms of Use   Privacy Policy
All Rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Express Publishing Inc. is prohibited. 

The Idaho Mountain Express is distributed free to residents and guests throughout the Sun Valley, Idaho resort area community. Subscribers to the Idaho Mountain Express will read these stories and others in this week's issue.