Friday, August 27, 2010

Vote for “Sportswoman of the Year”

Vonn, Nichols are skiers on list

Olympic champion Lindsey Vonn of Vail, Colo. and Paralympic double gold medalist Alana Nichols of Farmington, N.M. have been nominated for the prestigious 2010 Sportswoman of the Year honor, presented by the Women's Sports Foundation.

The winner is determined by online popular vote. Cast a vote at Voting ends at midnight Tuesday, Aug. 31. You can vote for only one of the 10 "Individual Sport" women. Winners will be revealed Oct. 12.

Vonn won two medals in the 2010 Winter Olympics, a gold in downhill and a bronze in super G. She won her third consecutive World Cup overall and downhill titles. Earlier this summer, Vonn collected ESPY awards as Female Athlete of the Year and Female Olympic Athlete of the Year, becoming the first skier in U.S. history to capture each honor.

Nichols' season included a four-medal haul in Vancouver with gold in downhill and giant slalom, plus silver in super G and bronze in super combined. Also a Paralympic gold medalist for wheelchair basketball, Nichols is the first U.S. woman to earn gold in summer and winter Paralympics.

The other eight nominees are Torah Bright of Australia (sailing), Rebecca Bross (gymnastics), Yu-Na Kim of South Korea (figure skating), Kelly Kulick (bowling), Ai Miyazato of Japan (golf), Sanya Richards (track and field), Anna Tunnicliffe (sailing) and Serena Williams (tennis).

 Local Weather 
Search archives:

Copyright © 2021 Express Publishing Inc.   Terms of Use   Privacy Policy
All Rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Express Publishing Inc. is prohibited. 

The Idaho Mountain Express is distributed free to residents and guests throughout the Sun Valley, Idaho resort area community. Subscribers to the Idaho Mountain Express will read these stories and others in this week's issue.