Wednesday, December 2, 2009

Conrad, Monjaras named top Great Basin coaches

Tanner Dredge chosen as “Player of the Year”

Wood River High School first-year soccer coaches Jenni Conrad and Luis Monjaras have been named "Coaches of the Year" in the six-school Great Basin Conference.

And Wolverine junior striker Tanner Dredge (33 goals season, a school-record 86 career goals) has been selected as the Great Basin offensive "Player of the Year."

Conrad and Monjaras guided their teams to the State 4A tournament where the WRHS girls and boys won State 4A Sportsmanship trophies. The girls (16-4-1) captured their sixth straight conference title. The boys (14-5-3) earned their first state trip since 2005.

Great Basin soccer and volleyball teams were announced Nov. 24 after a league meeting.


Co-Players of the Year: Tanner Dredge (WRHS) on offense and T.J. Surrage (Jerome) on defense.

First team: K.T. Martinez, Taylor Hayes and Teagen Palmer (WRHS); Claire Goss, Erin Grubbs-Imhoff and Alexin Clark (Twin Falls); Kaylee Legault, Madison Roemer and Melinda Martinez (Minico); Aubree Callen and Melissa Mendoza (Jerome); Bonnie Detwiler (Canyon Ridge); and Aubree Vale (Burley).

Second team: Maddie Bates, Lucy Paisley and Madison Gove (WRHS); McKenzie Johnson, Anne Kent and Stephanie Peck (Twin Falls); Vicki Vega, Sara Somsen-Fowler and Araciel Santana (Minico); Anna Levdanskiy and Rosa Bravo (Jerome); Emily Grindstaff (Canyon Ridge); Gelyn Pauly and Vanessa Cantu (Burley).

Honorable mention: Sloan Storey, Ashley Hesteness and Megan Morrell (WRHS); Brooke Wagner, Isabel VonZastrow and Madison Worst (Twin Falls); Makenzie Haynes and Rosario Tellez (Minico); Hadley Biagiotti, Paulina Lara and Leslie Sedano (Jerome); Laken Mullin (Canyon Ridge); Emily Sansom and Caitlyn Bennett (Burley).


Co-Players of the Year: Uriel "Woody" Anguiano (Burley) and Sergio Martinez (Jerome).

First team: Colter Brehmer, Morgan Pike, Cody Phelps and Hector Lopez (WRHS); Roman Vasquez, Gabriel Pulido and Jaime Eudave (Jerome); Colton Stott, Chris DeLaCruz and Nathaniel Goss (Twin Falls); Jorge Carillo, Gavin Smith and Omar Rojas (Minico); Inicce Alejo, Jesse Partida and Dunia Emmanuel (Canyon Ridge); Brent Lee and Karch Hinckley (Burley).

Second team: Luis "Freddy" Tamayo, Spyder Turco, Zack Freeman, Bryan Donoso and Felipe Raygoza (WRHS); Jovany Ortiz, Salvador Mercado and Sergio Madrigal (Jerome); Steven Sanchez, Dustin Hegstrom and Ruben Flores (Twin Falls); Eddie Lopez, Adrian Mendoza and Roberto Olivares (Minico); Ricardo Lopez, Nigel Cvencek and Humberto Magana (Canyon Ridge); Taylor Whitehead, Alex Magana and Gustavo Castaneda (Burley).

Honorable mention: Charlie Evans and Alexander MacMillan (WRHS); Miguel Nalasco and Eduardo Ruiz (Jerome); Ryan Geist and Ramon Ortega (Twin Falls); Jose Rodriguez, Dylan Winmill and Tony Lopez (Minico); Suren Thapa and Frankie Arroyo (Canyon Ridge); Nate Searle and Logan Searle (Burley).

The following awards were presented at Wood River's team banquet held Tuesday, Dec. 1 in Hailey:

Most Valuable Player: Morgan Pike. Most Inspirational: Cody Phelps. Most Improved: Alexander MacMillan. All-Around Player: "Freddy" Tamayo.

Most Goals and Outstanding Forward: Hector Lopez. Outstanding Midfielder: Bryan Donoso. Outstanding Defender: Colter Brehmer.

Call of Duty Award: Trevor Brand, Zack Freeman, Nathan Moses, Jeffrey Espejo, Liam Jablonski, Rex Kelly and Ben Stout.


The Twin Falls Bruins coached by former Wood River High School basketball star B.J. Price collected the main Great Basin Conference honors. Price and Kris Peterson were named "Coach" and "Co-Coach" of the Year. "Player of the Year" was junior Cheltzie Williams, Twin Falls.

Wood River seniors Monica Garceau made the first team and Grace Lagodich earned second-team status.

First team: Ariel Medina (Twin Falls), Hayli Worthington and Breonna Phillips (Minico), Teresa Wayment (Burley), Monica Garceau (WRHS) and Melissa Marsing (Jerome).

Second team: Allie Johnson and Mallory Jund (Twin Falls), Brook Johnson (Canyon Ridge), Carrie Thibault (Jerome), Grace Lagodich (WRHS) and Kendra Bailey (Minico).

Honorable mention: Jessica Hamilton and Ellen Johnson (WRHS), Jamie Halford (Burley), Chelsea Hepworth (Minico), Alyssa Long (Canyon Ridge) and Sierra Chapple (Twin Falls).

 Local Weather 
Search archives:

Copyright © 2021 Express Publishing Inc.   Terms of Use   Privacy Policy
All Rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Express Publishing Inc. is prohibited. 

The Idaho Mountain Express is distributed free to residents and guests throughout the Sun Valley, Idaho resort area community. Subscribers to the Idaho Mountain Express will read these stories and others in this week's issue.