Wednesday, July 1, 2009

Top golfers pull trigger in Valley Club shootout

Tight Valley Club golf outcome

It took a shootout for The Valley Club to settle its 14th annual Member/Member tournament Friday and Saturday, June 26-27.

Pulling the trigger best as overall champions in the shootout were Jack Dies and Dick Shelton. The women's winners were Jane Hansen and Carolyn Benson.

In all, golfers played 36 holes using a Better Ball format Friday and a Chicago points system Saturday.

Men's flight winners and runner-ups went into a shootout to determine the winners. Marc Reinemann and Paul Willis came in as the runner-up team. In third place were Latham Williams and Phil Hebert.

The best score from either of the two flights determined the women's overall winners. Hansen and Benson carded a fine score of 31 points. Happy Hawn and Suzanne Williams finished in the runner-up position with a total of 24 points. Results:

Men's flights

Overall champions: Jack Dies and Dick Shelton ($125 each).

Runner-up team: Marc Reinemann and Paul Willis ($75 each).

Third place: Latham Williams and Phil Hebert ($50 each).

Butch Cassidy Flight: 1 (tie)--Latham Williams and Phil Hebert, Jeff Mansoor and Ron Fields 2 points ($130 each). 3 (tie)--John Baker and Rich Fabiano, Todd Conklin and James Somers --3 points ($30 each).

Wyatt Earp Flight: 1—Jack Dies and Richard Shelton 7 points ($155 each). 2—Kurt Funkhouser and Richard Albright --1 point ($105 each). 3 (tie)--Rob McGowan and Jim Milgard, Dan Murphy and Mike O'Neil --9 points ($30 each).

Jesse James Flight: 1—Scott Rogers and Ken McCain 5 points ($155 each). 2--Marc Reinemann and Phil Hebert --2 points ($105 each). 3 (tie)--Jerry Boas and Steve Malkmus, Hunter Vogel and John Kelly --3 points ($30 each).

Billy The Kid Flight: 1—Chris Stephens and Chet Stephens 11 points ($155 each). 2—Harold Tollerup and Dick St. Clair 4 points ($105 each). 3—Dick Wetherell and Peter Gaasland 3 points ($60 each).

Doc Holliday Flight: 1—Nacho Lozano and Bob Cook 15 points ($155 each). 2—Greg Swink and Jeff Rust 14 points ($105 each). 3—Dale Jones and Allan Snyder 1 point ($60 each).

Women's flights

Overall champions: Jane Hansen and Carolyn Benson.

Runner-up team: Happy Hawn and Suzanne Williams.

Annie Oakley Flight: 1—Happy Hawn and Suzanne Williams 24 points ($155 each). 2—Jan Wygle and Sue Woodyard 22 points ($105 each). 3—Joan O'Neil and Adrian Norris 20 points ($60 each).

Belle Starr Flight: 1—Jane Hansen and Carolyn Benson 31 points ($155 each). 2 (tie)—Barbara Tollerup and Karen Sawyer, Joanne Wetherell and Gundl Haskell 22 points ($82.50 each).

 Local Weather 
Search archives:

Copyright © 2021 Express Publishing Inc.   Terms of Use   Privacy Policy
All Rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Express Publishing Inc. is prohibited. 

The Idaho Mountain Express is distributed free to residents and guests throughout the Sun Valley, Idaho resort area community. Subscribers to the Idaho Mountain Express will read these stories and others in this week's issue.