Wednesday, July 1, 2009

Wood River Cup wraps its run on Hailey track

Sun greets 69 racers as five-week series ends

It was a family kind of night last Wednesday for the Wood River Cup finale at Hailey Community Bike Park. Photo by David N. Seelig

After weeks of rain and threatening skies, it was a sun-splashed evening Wednesday, June 24 for the final races of the eighth annual Wood River Cup short track mountain bike racing series west of Hailey.

Nearly 70 bikers of all ages came out for the double-points night with 200 points going to the category winners. Winning their races were Billy Olson, Rebecca Rusch, Greg Bearce, Sara Schroeder, Ryan Roemer, Cade Street and Sydney Shepard.

Those winning series titles included Olson, Rusch, Cameron Lloyd, Schroeder, Steve Edsall, Tory Canfield, Roemer, Haley Montgomery, Clyde Montgomery and Shepard.

Here are final series totals:

Pro/Expert Men, Cat. A: 1—Billy Olson 450 points. 2—Pat Schott 415. 3—Marc Driver 385. 4—Troy Quesnel 380. 5—Lee Roquet 370. 6—Daryl Price 345. 7—Nat Campbell 335. 8—Reid Pletcher 300. 9—Sam Young 260. 10—Erik Ruggeri 259. 11—Chad Howard 258. 12—Todd Byle 253. 13—Eric Rector 237. 14—Chris Gardner 235. 15—Jim Santa 222. 16—Matt McNeal 206. 17—Scott Robinson and Zack Vestal 190. 19—Herberth Corrales 163. 20—Greg Martin 157. 21—Kyle Rafford 145. 22—Josh Berry 139. 23—Greg Randolph 133. 24—Adrian Montgomery 130. 25—Austin Bourret (junior) 124. 26—Reed Melton 104. 27—John Tormey 92. 28—Dave Harrison 85. 29—Nate Scales 82. 30—Steve Hess 78. 31—Eric Carlson 70. 32—Jedd Young 42. 33—Michael Herlinger and Corey Smith 41. 35—Jon McCuskey and Scott Montgomery 39. 37—Dan Taborsky 38.

Pro/Expert Women, Cat. A: 1—Rebecca Rusch 500 points. 2—India Wysong 480. 3—Janelle Connors 445. 4—Cameron Randolph 430. 5—Liv Jensen 420. 6—Susan Robinson 145. 7—Casey Hochmuht 75.


Sport Men, Cat. B: 1—Cameron Lloyd 480 points. 2—Rich Hardy 440. 3—Chris Corwin 415. 4—Greg Bearce 375. 5—Brian Kreisen 325. 6—Nicol Wheeler 290. 7—Herberth Corrales 285. 8—Lance Levy 225. 9—Steve Edsall 222. 10—Scott Montgomery 145. 11—Chris Kastner 140. 12—Matt McNeal and Josh Glick 100. 14—Chris Pilaro, Jim Santa and Chris Gardner 95. 17—Kevin Kruse 90. 18—Chris Christensen 75. 19—Rory Lynch (junior) 70. 20—Lenny Joseph 65.

Sport Women, Cat. B: 1—Sara Schroeder 495 points. 2—Georgie Montgomery 480. 3—Kris Josey 415. 4—Ashley McQueen 370. 5—Anne Marie Gardner 345. 6—Simone Kastner 240. 7—Mia James 205. 8—Nicole Beahm Campbell 170. 9—Laura Furtado 140. 10—Julie Perry 120. 11—Tory Canfield and Vanessa Thompson 80.

Beginner Men, Cat. C: 1—Steve Edsall, Josh Berry and Reid Pletcher, and Baba Street 100 points apiece.

Beginner Women, Cat. C: 1—Tory Canfield, Hannah Ragsdale and Annie Byerly 100 points each. 4—Colleen Hayes 95.

Junior Beginner Boys: 1—Ryan Roemer 390 points. 2—Tanner Josey 375. 3—Chase Josey 365. 4—Illiah Pfau and Alex Mungall 255. 6—Walter Kreisen 150. 7—Will Harder 100.

Junior Beginner Girls: 1—Haley Montgomery 100 points.

Shimano Youth Series Boys (10-12): 1—Clyde Montgomery 490 points. 2—Cade Street 485. 3—Illiah Pfau 445. 4—Cooper Roquet 420. 5—Taylor Koth 250. 6—Krystofer Sorrell 200. 7—Michael Hayes 155. 8—Henry Raff 150. 9—Leo Corrales 130. 10—Jay Fitzgerald 100. 11—Sam Hebert 85. 12—Joseph Anderson 80. 13—John Blackburn 70. 14—Walter Kreisen 65.

Shimano Youth Series Girls (10-12): 1—Sydney Shepard and Luma Randolph 195 points apiece. 3—Emerson McCune and Grace Cherp 100.

 Local Weather 
Search archives:

Copyright © 2021 Express Publishing Inc.   Terms of Use   Privacy Policy
All Rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Express Publishing Inc. is prohibited. 

The Idaho Mountain Express is distributed free to residents and guests throughout the Sun Valley, Idaho resort area community. Subscribers to the Idaho Mountain Express will read these stories and others in this week's issue.