Friday, June 12, 2009

28 Gates foursomes play golf for kids

Junior golf a winner from Sunday’s round

Chuck Flight golfers were, from left, the foursome of Barrett Molter, Mike Pirzynski, Mark Belanger and James Young.

Last Sunday's 12th annual Chuck Gates Memorial Golf Tournament at Sun Valley Golf Course was a great success, organizer Roger Roland said.

Not only did the 112 golfers enjoy a rare break in the Wood River Valley's wet spring weather, Roland said they raised a good deal of money for local youth golf programs, considering the tough economy.

Chuck Gates Youth Endowment president Roland said the tournament committee donated 10 sets of youth golf clubs and a dozen putters to Sun Valley Golf Course, and also gave $1,200 to the Atkinson Park golf program run by the Ketchum Recreation Department.

New this year was a silent auction featuring a signed Davis Love III golf club, a Hawaii vacation and a restaurant package. Popular Idaho golf pro Joe Malay gave a noontime demonstration that was a hit with the younger golfers.

In all, nearly $95,000 has been raised over 12 years for the Gates Endowment, including a few sizable donations over the past year, Roland said.

Low-gross winners with 57 at Sun Valley in the low handicap Chuck Flight were Tom Ferries, Mike Neary, Mark Osmer and Shawn Aicher.

Men's long-drive winner was Joel Evans (hole #9). Women's long-drive winner was Jennifer Harper (#1). Closest-to-the-pin prizes went to John Kearney Jr. (#6/#10), Dallas Hall (#4), Pat Davies (#4), Joan O'Neil (#6) and Happy Hawn (#10).

The tournament is named for Chuck "C" Gates, who died Dec. 6, 1997, in Nevada at the age of 51. A passionate golfer, Gates started Ketchum's first radio station, KRMR, and was a co-founder of the Idaho Mountain Express newspaper.

Here are Sunday's results:

Chuck Flight (14 teams)

1st gross—Tom Ferries, Mike Neary, Mark Osmer and Shawn Aicher with 57 gross-47 net.

2nd gross—Dave Hausmann, Dave Gittens, Andrew Hebert and Phil Hebert with 59 gross-52 net.

1st net—Joe Malay, Zach Lindahl, Jonathan Hobbs and Danny Sundali with 57 gross-45 net.

2nd net—Mark Brown, Keith Larson, Richard Kraatz and Bruce Miller with 60 gross-47 net.

3rd net—Dave Penn, Tim McDermott, Cliff Neely and Matt Kauffman with 62 gross-50 net.

4th net—Gile Williams, Chuck Ferries, Bill Morrison and Rob Hogan with 62 gross-50 net.

Other Chuck teams were:

Dan Tucker, Jim Bradford, Joe Bergl and John Majors with 61 gross-50 net;

Mike Pirzynski, Mark Belanger, James Young and Barrett Molter with 61 gross-51 net;

Charles Evans, Joel Evans, Wray Farmin and Mike Wirth 63 gross-51 net;

Ryan Still, Lori Johnston, Shaun Murray and David Nixon with 63 gross-52 net;

Scott Syms, Winston Purkiss, Aaron Thompson and Kelly Dowding with 64 gross-53 net;

Jeff Petersen, Aimee Evans, Chance McCroskey and Cody Richmond with 65 gross-53 net;

Marion Monge, Nancy Ferries, Karen Shorts and Norm Shorts 68 gross-55 net;

Gerry Ryan, Dallas Hall, Bob Morrison and Fritz Hoffman 68 gross-55 net.

Gates Flight (14 teams)

1st net—Bill Gehrke, Marsha Rankin, John Reinholt and Brendan Dennehy with 58 gross-44 net.

2nd net—Bob Buchanan, Spyder Stevens, Chris Perkins and Ron Wentzell with 62 gross-47 net.

3rd net—Mike Connelly, Shaun Mahoney, Kevin Cincotta and Walter Littenberg with 58 gross-48 net.

4th net—Bob Dunn, Rick Satava, Peggy Simpson and Franny Hjort with 64 gross-48 net.

Other Gates teams:

Jackie Damerel, Janet Hale, Tom Hale and Doug D'Andrea with 66 gross-48 net;

Janet Appleton, Glenn Thomas, Tim Appleton and Mark Anderson with 65 gross-49 net;

John Kearney Jr., Kirk Mason, Kyle Richmond and Tyler Spence 66 gross-50 net;

Happy Hawn, Jolie Dunn, Jennifer Harper and Jill Rubin with 67 gross-51 net;

Mike O'Neil, Joan O'Neil, Steve Malkmus and Pat Davies 66 gross-52 net;

Roger Roland, Olin Glenne, Mikie Geron and Alysia May with 68 gross-52 net;

Kristin Derrig, Gary Moser, Matt Mahoney and Dave Klemer 69 gross-52 net;

Jim McElveen, Jill Roland, Jill Brennan and Charlie Wister with 71 gross-54 net;

Barbara Gehrke, Knox Barclay, Linda Haavik and Barry Luboviski 73 gross-52 net;

Patrick Simpson, Karen Simpson, Kelly Allison and Glen Allison 75 gross-55 net (prize for most strokes).

 Local Weather 
Search archives:

Copyright © 2021 Express Publishing Inc.   Terms of Use   Privacy Policy
All Rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Express Publishing Inc. is prohibited. 

The Idaho Mountain Express is distributed free to residents and guests throughout the Sun Valley, Idaho resort area community. Subscribers to the Idaho Mountain Express will read these stories and others in this week's issue.