Wednesday, June 3, 2009

Engel, Martin honored in GBW softball

All-League teams revealed

They started quietly but finished with an adrenaline rush, winning six straight games by a 35-4 margin down the 2009 homestretch and qualifying for the seventh state tournament berth in school annals.

And Wood River High School softball players earned the Hailey school's third 4A Great Basin Conference West tournament title in four years.

Wood River (16-12), fourth in the State 4A tournament, fittingly collected top honors when GBW All-Conference teams were named last week.

"Player of the Year" was Wood River senior pitcher Samantha Engel (16-11, 37-32 career), the school's all-time winningest pitcher who started and finished 27 of the 28 Wood River games this past spring.

"Coach of the Year" was Wood River coach Dale Martin, who has coached with WRHS softball since 1998 and been head coach for the past five years, with a 59-72 record.

First-team selections were:

Wood River—Samantha Engel, Angela Coleman, Alex Lindbloom and Josie Dawson.

Burley—Molly Mills, Shari Hoskins, Stacy Campbell and Carli Parish.

Jerome—Ashley Morrell, Nicole Valle and T.J. Surrage.

Minico—Tiffany Joyce, Teagan Winmill and Jenna Bingham.

Honorable mention picks:

Wood River—Taylor Gove and Madison Gove. Jerome—Colby Argyle. Burley—Courtney Scheer. Minico—Laura Hurtado.

All-Star baseball team

Senior Greg Wakefield of the Wood River High School baseball team made second-team All-Great Basin Conference West as a pitcher on the 2009 All-Star squad.

"Pitcher of the Year" was Minico sophomore Casey Christiansen, and "Player of the Year" was Chris Joyce, also of Minico. "Coach of the Year" was Minico's Ben Frank, who guided the Spartans (22-11) to their fifth straight GBW championship—and a State 4A title.

First-team selections were:

Pitchers—Casey Christiansen and Alex Moon of Minico, Logan Parker of Jerome.

Catchers—Alex Moon of Minico and Cameron Stauffer of Jerome.

First base—Kris Bos of Jerome.

Second base—Barak Frank of Minico.

Third base—Casey Christiansen of Minico.

Shortstop—Landon Barnes of Minico.

Outfielders—Pete Coats and Chris Joyce of Minico, and Logan Parker of Jerome.

Second-team picks were:

Pitchers—Landon Barnes of Minico, Jordy Garrard of Jerome and Greg Wakefield of Wood River.

Catcher—Cody Moon of Burley.

First base—Dylan Winmill of Minico.

Second base—D.J. Worthington of Jerome.

Third base—Tyler Goeckner of Jerome.

Shortstop—Kace Redder of Burley.

Outfielders—Nolan McDonald and Devin Molitor of Jerome, and John Cummings of Burley.

 Local Weather 
Search archives:

Copyright © 2021 Express Publishing Inc.   Terms of Use   Privacy Policy
All Rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Express Publishing Inc. is prohibited. 

The Idaho Mountain Express is distributed free to residents and guests throughout the Sun Valley, Idaho resort area community. Subscribers to the Idaho Mountain Express will read these stories and others in this week's issue.