Friday, May 15, 2009

Top citizens, students enjoy day in the spotlight

Dozens of awards handed out at Wood River High School

Amy Tamayo and Nick Kavanagh are Senior Citizenship Award winners at Wood River High School. Courtesy photos by Felicia Bauer

With proud parents, family members and teachers looking on, students at Hailey's Wood River High School were honored Wednesday morning during the school's "Academic and Citizenship Awards 2009" recognition program.

Citizenship Awards were given to eight deserving high school students. Honored were male and female members of the senior, junior, sophomore and freshman classes. Students voted on Citizenship Awards.

Senior Citizenship Award honorees were Amy Tamayo and Nick Kavanagh, both for a second consecutive year.

Junior Citizenship selections were Stephanie Sloan for a third consecutive year and Chauncey McGraw for a second. Sophomore winners, also for a second straight year, were Jessica Hamilton and James Paris.

Freshmen Citizenship Award recipients were Kaitana Martinez and Sean Sutton.

High school principal John Blackman announced that this year's senior valedictorian is Ashleigh Share. Salutatorian is John (Jack) Reidy. Graduation is scheduled for May 27.

Also voted upon by students, the "You Make a Difference Awards" went to the following community members, school staff members and teachers for their contributions:

Community member, Kevin Stilling; classified staff, Katrina Kolman; and Wood River High School certified staff, J.C. Nemecek and Chet Olson.

Awards for outstanding four-year academic efforts were presented to Julia Bowman (English) along with Nick Kavanagh and Ashleigh Share (social studies). Winning the Jim Praegitzer Senior Math Award was Ashleigh Share.

The Parent Teacher Student Association (PTSA) presented Community Service Awards by gold (50 hours or more), silver (35) and bronze (25). Winners are:

Gold: Maddie Cordovano, Max Durtschi, Jill Feldhusen, Brendan Freund, Alison Freund, Jimmy Hague, Brita Gaeddert, Alex MacMillan, Jack Reidy, Greg Roos, Ally Siegel and John Siegel.

Silver: Sierra Brand, Kevin Jensen, Rex Kelly, Greg LeBlanc, Bill Rheinschild and Taylor Riviello.

Bronze: Keven Abbott, Taylor Coiner, Noelani Garing, Tori Pfaeffle and Crockett Stearns.

Those Advanced Placement students taking two or more courses at the AP level were:

Six courses: Ashleigh Share.

Five courses: Matt Gappmeyer.

Four courses: Rosalie Bauer, Julia Bowman, Brendan Freund, Tanya Greenwood, John Leavell and Chelsey Souligny.

Three courses: Zach Bjorkman, Madeleine Currie, Alison Freund, Haley Johnson, Jack Reidy and Amy Tamayo.

Two courses: David Dredge, Samantha Engel, Gene Fairbrother, Nicole Gillette, James Hague, Nina Hirner, Daniel Husband, Greg LeBlanc, Lyndsey Lascheck, Austin Moses, Ruby Nava, Hannah Odio, Taylor Riviello, Britton Stevenson, Elsa Sweek, Derek Williams and Russell Wilson.

Other class awards

Teachers announced further "Outstanding Student" awards by grade and subject:

Science—Outstanding senior: Bailey Ireland. Junior: Jacob Rodriguez. Sophomore: Joey Altermatt. Freshman: Ryan Buell.

Speech—Haley Johnson.

Debate—Davis Matthews.

English—4-Year senior: Julia Bowman. Seniors: Tanya Greenwood and Ashleigh Share. Juniors: Ryan Gelskey and Britton Stevenson. Sophomores: Claire Bowman and Alexandra Peck. Freshmen: Michaela Rodriguez and Jackson Long.

English as a Second Language (ESL)—Senior: Luis Gonzalez. Junior: Ana Moya. Sophomore: Gabriela Juarez. Freshmen: Esdras Santiago and Tehina Santiago.

Algebra I—Sara Garcia.

Algebra II—Ryan Buell.

Geometry—Kaitana Martinez.

Pre Calculus—Britton Stevenson.

Calculus—Gene Fairbrother.

Calculus II—Chelsey Souligny.

Statistics—Devan Annan.

Social Studies—4-Year Awards: Nick Kavanagh and Ashleigh Share. Advanced Placement U.S. History: Andrew Pfeiffer. AP Government: Rusty Williams. AP Economics: Lyndsey Lascheck. Outstanding Junior: R.J. Forgeon. Sophomore: James Paris. Freshman: Kaitana Martinez.

Latin—Jacob Rodriguez (Latin 2); and Elizabeth Fry (1).

German—Thomas Torres (German 3); Kenna Libke (2); and Britton Stevenson (1).

French—Karlee Stagg (French 3); Hunter Van Bramer (2); and Kiana Ehrmantraut (1).

Spanish—Kylie Anderson and Tanya Greenwood (Spanish 5); Becky Rosser (4); Brita Gaeddert (3); Emily Larson (2); and Kaitana Martinez (1).

Art—Senior: Racheal McGinnis. Junior: Delaney Willey. Sophomore: Sarah Brown. Freshman: Emily Parker. Picasso Award: Miranda Uhrig. Van Gogh Award: Elizabeth Dion.

Band, Orchestra and Choir—John Philip Sousa National Band Award to Vanessa Hendricks. Orchestra Award to Joey Altermatt. National School Choral Award to Madison Deffe.

Business Finance Academy—Senior: Mary VanZeipel. Junior: R.J. Forgeon.

Information Technology Academy—Senior: Alex Henning. Junior: Ryan Dean.

Family and Consumer Science—Haillie Taylor and Joey Richardson (teen living); Kathryn Caminiti (nutrition & foods); Becky Rosser (apparel & design); Madora Ooms and Cesar Carrillo (culinary arts); and Devan Annan (FCCLA).

Medical Technology Academy—Med Tech 2: Misha McGonigal. Med Tech 1: Gabriela Juarez.

Performing Arts Academy—Erin Burbank and Dixie Hoyt (Performing Arts 1 and 2); Didi McCarthy (Intro to Theater); Elizabeth Dion (Play Production); and Russell Wilson (Acting).

Residential Construction Academy—Senior: Luis Gonzalez. Junior: Zac Sjoberg.

Teaching Academy—Senior: Nicole Fisher.

Architectural and Mechanical Design—Senior: Zach Bjorkman. Junior: Rusty Williams. Sophomore: Kasey Kaminski. Freshman: Ryan Buell.

 Local Weather 
Search archives:

Copyright © 2023 Express Publishing Inc.   Terms of Use   Privacy Policy
All Rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Express Publishing Inc. is prohibited. 

The Idaho Mountain Express is distributed free to residents and guests throughout the Sun Valley, Idaho resort area community. Subscribers to the Idaho Mountain Express will read these stories and others in this week's issue.