Wednesday, April 29, 2009

SVST riders make the most of winter

Awards presented, highlights recalled at banquet

During Wednesday’s banquet in Hailey, Sun Valley Snowboard Team program director Andy Gilbert (right) salutes D-teamers, from left, Clyde Montgomery, Emy McCune, Davis Olson, Cora Schneider and Beck Vontver.

The Sun Valley Snowboard Team held its annual awards banquet Wednesday, April 22 at Hailey's Wood River High School. Parents, riders, supporters and coaches celebrated the accomplishments and successes of the 2008-09 season.

Head Shred Andy Gilbert, the SVST program director, said, "All coaches and riders did an outstanding job in a season that saw a late start and limited training. The banquet was a reflection of that hard work and a great way to cap off another outstanding year."

Gilbert outlined the season highlights as:

Teaming with the Sun Valley Ski Education Foundation Freeski Team to hold three slopestyles at Hailey's Rotarun Ski Area and a day of halfpipe in conjunction with the Lane Parrish weekend on Baldy;

Twelve SVST riders qualifying for USASA Nationals in halfpipe (HP), slopestyle (SS) and boardercross (BX);

Eight top-15 finishes at nationals including Josie Bunce 6th SS, Ali Appleton 7th HP, Chase Josey 5th SS, Ryan Roemer 2nd BX, Kenny Ballou 3rd Open Class HP and SVSEF Olympic Development Team member Kaitlyn Farrington 1st in Open Class HP.

The rider Awards presented at Wednesday's banquet were:

D-Team Recognition: Emy McCune, Cora Schneider, Colton Cherry, Clyde Montgomery, Josh Whitlock, Beck Vontver and Davis Olson.

C-Team—MVPs: Taylor Figge and Josh Morell. Most Improved: Emily Seiller and Jack Whitlock.

A/B Teams—Road Warrior (extensive travel): Sam Strong. Most Improved: Cary Reinemann. Rookies of the Year: Ali Appleton and Chase Josey. Hellride award (ridiculous schedule): Kenny Ballou. Most Inspirational: Mal Prior. Mal was also awarded the SVSEF Academic Center Award as an outstanding student athlete.

Coach Recognition: Jon French, Jacob Tyler, Josh Keefer, Pat Lee, Zack Venzon, James Young and Billy Olson.

 Local Weather 
Search archives:

Copyright © 2021 Express Publishing Inc.   Terms of Use   Privacy Policy
All Rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Express Publishing Inc. is prohibited. 

The Idaho Mountain Express is distributed free to residents and guests throughout the Sun Valley, Idaho resort area community. Subscribers to the Idaho Mountain Express will read these stories and others in this week's issue.