Wednesday, February 25, 2009

Sunny Basolo and Monroe gates have kids flying

And smiling on a Sun Valley weekend

Sun Valley’s William Harder rides to first place in Saturday’s Monroe Cup slalom. Photo by Willy Cook

Little kids flew through Baldy's slalom and giant slalom gates last weekend during the Intermountain Division's North Series Monroe Cup and Lonnie Basolo Memorial tech races for 176 kids ages 8-13.

The Sun Valley Ski Education Foundation and Hailey Ski Team sponsored the two-day event for mostly J4 and J5 (ages 9-12) racers from Idaho, Wyoming and Utah. Nearly 70 Sun Valley and Hailey Ski Team kids lined up at the starts on a sunny weekend at Sun Valley.

Basolo was a 1984 Wood River High School graduate and Hailey Ski Team racer who died March 19, 1986 in a ski accident at the bottom of Baldy's Flying Squirrel ski run. He was 19. The race in his memory was first held in 1988 on Dollar Mountain and has been enjoyed by countless Intermountain kids ever since.

Local kids captured 21 podiums—10 gold medals, five silvers and six bronzes in their age classes.

Double gold medalists were J3 (ages 13-14) Lane Coulthard along with J5s Kyle Maxwell and Abby Norton. Winning single golds in their classes were J3 Whitney Engelmann, J4 William Harder, J6s Molly Milgard and Jake Blackburn.

Sun Valley's William Harder clocked the fastest Monroe Cup boys' slalom time Saturday by over two seconds on the longer, 38-gate Hemingway course. Harder was second overall to Garrett Lodge of Bogus Basin in Sunday's 26-gate Basolo GS that had 86 finishers on Hemingway.

Jackson Hole's J4 Breezy Johnson ran away with the Basolo GS by 3.71 seconds over Megan Murphy of Sun Valley on Sunday on Hemingway. Johnson also breezed to a 3.09-second Monroe SL win on the 38-gate Hemingway course.

Sun Valley's J5s Abby Norton and Kyle Maxwell captured the Monroe Cup SL for the younger kids on a shorter, 32-gate Cozy run Saturday. Local placings by race and age class:

Basolo Memorial giant slaloms

J3 (13-14) boys: 1—Lane Coulthard.

J3 girls: 4—Whitney Engelmann. DQ—Marlow Mizer.

J4 (ages 11-12) boys: 2—William Harder. 4—Austin Savaria. 5—Taylor Cooper. 8—Will Long. 9—Emmett Say. 11—Tanner Josey. 12—Griffin Curtis. 13—Jay Fitzgerald. 18—Michael Levy. 20—Jack Rizzo. 25—Thomas Gillespie. 30—Samuel Brown. 31—Carson Jones-Wilkins. 33—Gil Viesturs. 34—Gavin Shipley. DQ—Alexis Gonzalez.

J4 girls: 2—Megan Murphy. 3—Hannah Dies. 4—Haley Cutler. 6—Josie Allison. 7—Jordan Fitzgerald. 11—Madison Milgard. 12—Samantha Busby. 13—Lena Perenchio. 14—Julia Vorsteveld. 15—Katie Feldman. 16—Alexandra Black. 17—Marcia Smith. 23—Moyo Tian. 27—Galena Hansen. 30—Chloe Francois. 31—Loni Unser. 32—Madison Watts. DQ—Jackie O'Reilly.

J5 (9-10) boys: 1—Kyle Maxwell. 3—Yuri McClure. 5—Will Snyder. 6—Wyatt Smith. 9—Kobe Tamura. 10—Kristian DeWolfe. 17—John Blackburn. 18—Hayden Cowden. 19—Clay Cutler. 23—Cooper Dart. 26—William Lind. 28—Trenton Gerew. 29—Noah Leinginger. 30—Keene Morawitz. 31—Travis Flynt. 37—Tobias Verheijen. 38—Travis Wilkinson.

J5 girls: 1—Abby Norton. 3—Katelyn Rathfon. 6—Poppy Vorse-Whittier. 7—Sage Rheinschild. 14—Margot Griffith. 18—Lauren Cord. 21—Pilar Pennell. 22—Hallie MacPherson. 24—Grace Cherp. 26—Tayte Kelly. 27—Royce Rheinschild.

J6 (7-8) boys: 4—Jake Blackburn.

J6 girls: 1—Molly Milgard.

Monroe Cup slaloms

J3 (13-14) boys: 1—Lane Coulthard.

J3 girls: 1—Whitney Engelmann. DQ—Marlow Mizer.

J4 (ages 11-12) boys: 1—William Harder. 2—Tanner Josey. 7—Emmett Say. 9—Jay Fitzgerald. 13—Jack Rizzo. 15—Thomas Gillespie. 16—Will Long. 17—Michael Levy. 19—Samuel Brown. 24—Carson Jones-Wilkins. DQ—Griffin Curtis. DNF—Gavin Shipley, Austin Savaria and Taylor Cooper.

J4 girls: 3—Haley Cutler. 5—Hannah Dies. 7—Katie Feldman. 11—Moyo Tian. 12—Jordan Fitzgerald. 13—Lena Perenchio. 14—Loni Unser. 15—Chloe Francois. 19—Marcia Smith. DNF—Samantha Busby. DQ—Madison Watts, Megan Murphy, Galena Hansen, Madison Milgard, Josie Allison, Julie Vorsteveld and Jackie O'Reilly.

J5 (9-10) boys: 1—Kyle Maxwell. 2—Yuri McClure. 3—Will Snyder. 4—Wyatt Smith. 9—Hayden Cowden. 10—Kobe Tamura. 12—Trenton Gerew. 15—Clay Cutler. 16—Noah Leinginger. 19—Kristian DeWolfe. 23—Cooper Dart. 27—Tobias Verheijen. 30—Travis Wilkinson. DQ—John Blackburn and William Lind.

J5 girls: 1—Abby Norton. 2—Katelyn Rathfon. 5—Pilar Pennell. 6—Margot Griffith. 8—Royce Rheinschild. 12—Tayte Kelly. 20—Grace Cherp. DNF—Olivia Weisel. DQ—Poppy Vorse-Whittier, Lauren Cord, Hallie MacPherson and Sage Rheinschild.

J6 (7-8) boys: 1—Jake Blackburn.

J6 girls: 3—Molly Milgard.

 Local Weather 
Search archives:

Copyright © 2021 Express Publishing Inc.   Terms of Use   Privacy Policy
All Rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Express Publishing Inc. is prohibited. 

The Idaho Mountain Express is distributed free to residents and guests throughout the Sun Valley, Idaho resort area community. Subscribers to the Idaho Mountain Express will read these stories and others in this week's issue.