Friday, January 2, 2009

Express Athletes of the Year

This is the 32nd time the Express has named an “Athlete of the Year.” Selected have been 16 women and 17 men.



2008—Brad Mitchell, ultra marathon runner

2007—Mike Sinnott, cross-country ski captain of Dartmouth’s NCAA championship ski team

2006—Rebecca Rusch, adventure athlete, endurance mountain biker

2005—Jeff Bolton, WRHS grad and All-America football player at Montana State Univ.

2004—Vilnis Nikolaisons, Sun Valley Suns hockey star from Latvia

2003—Kitty Marcroft, ultra marathon runner

2002—Adrienne Leugers, nine-time Baldy Hill Climb women’s winner

2001—Kelly Wardell, the world’s best bareback bronc rider

2000—Sondra Van Ert, 10-time national snowboard champion and 2000 Grand Prix alpine winner

1999—Steve Born, RAAM cross-country bicycle racer

1998—Muffy Davis, slalom bronze medalist at the 1998 Paralympics

1997—Bob Sarchett, Masters alpine skier and softball player

1996—Greg Taylor, seven-time Ironman Triathlon finisher

1995—Aleene Gibson, cross-country bicyclist

1994—Picabo Street, 1994 Olympic women's downhill silver medalist

1993—Muffy Ritz, RAAM cross-country bicycle racer

1992—Gabriele Andersen, world-class runner and cross-country skier.

1991—Dave Fauth, baseball and softball player.

1990—Ruthie Matthes, world-class bicycle racer.

1989—Charley French, masters' champion triathlete.

1988—E.J. Holcomb, Great American Ski Chase queen.

1987—Katrin Tobin, world-class bicycle racer, and brother Michael Tobin, Pike's Peakclimber.

1986—Jerry Engelbert, world champion powerlifter.

1985—Jane (Magoo) McGloin, Ketchum's sunny sports enthusiast.

1984—Loren Adkins, nationally-ranked bicyclist, skier and hill climber in the 75-79 age class.

1983—Monte Brothwell, Idaho's top marathon runner.

1982—Lisa Bernhagen, state champion prep track and field performer.

1981—Tom Schnebeck, Bald Mountain Rugby Football Club player.

1980—Carol Levine, alpine ski racer and softball player.

1979—Phil Hoene, Sun Valley Suns hockey centerman.

1978—Dr. Lynn "Buck" Levy, pacesetting marathon runner.

1977—Christin Cooper, promising U.S. Ski Team alpine racer.


 Local Weather 
Search archives:

Copyright © 2021 Express Publishing Inc.   Terms of Use   Privacy Policy
All Rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Express Publishing Inc. is prohibited. 

The Idaho Mountain Express is distributed free to residents and guests throughout the Sun Valley, Idaho resort area community. Subscribers to the Idaho Mountain Express will read these stories and others in this week's issue.