Wednesday, December 24, 2008

Jerome dominates All-Great Basin West grid picks

High school honors in football

The State 4A runner-up Jerome Tigers dominated the 2008 Fourth District All-Great Basin Conference West 4A football team released last week before the Christmas holiday.

"Coach of the Year" was Jerome's Gary Krumm, who took a Tiger program that was 0-9 in 2005 and turned it around with a 9-3 season and a berth in the State 4A championship game. The Hillcrest Knights of Idaho Falls (11-1) defeated Jerome 55-35 in the championship contest.

"Defensive Player of the Year" was Jerome's Jordan Reed. The "Offensive Player of the Year" was Minico's Skylar "Poke" Morgan.

Minico (9-2) won its fourth consecutive Great Basin Conference West title with a 42-28 home win over Jerome during the regular season, but Jerome avenged that loss with a 41-38 victory at Rupert in the State 4A semi-final game Nov. 14.

Jerome placed eight offensive players on the first team and six on the defensive first unit. Minico had three offensive players on the first team and six defenders on first team.

Burley (1-8) and Wood River (1-7) rounded out the four-team league.

Making second team for coach Mike Glenn's Wood River Wolverines were Sean Bunce (running back), Greg Wakefield (wide receiver), Cody Chandler (offensive line), Francisco Enriquez (defensive line), Clayton Jenson and Tyler Peters (inside linebackers) and Michale Brunker (defensive back).

The selections follow:


Quarterback—First team: Jake Lammers (Jerome). Second team: Chris Joyce (Minico).

Running back—First team: Ross Hillier and Cameron Stauffer (Jerome). Second team: Sean Bunce (WR) and Jared Byington (Burley).

Wide receiver—First team: Gus Callen and Kris Bos (Jerome), and Landon Barnes (Minico).

Second team: Greg Wakefield (WR), Kace Redder (Burley) and Zach Ingraham (Jerome).

Tight end—First team: Kevin Williams (Jerome). Second team: Jared Judd (Burley).

Offensive line—First team: Jordan Nesbit and Tyson Grisenti (Minico), Brian Wickham and Andy McDowell (Jerome), and Steve Patterson (Burley).

Second team: Cody Chandler (WR), Roy Benavidez (Minico), Richard Gibson and Russell Ciocca (Jerome), and Bryson Cole (Burley).


Defensive line—First team: Kyle Novis and Randell Wickham (Jerome), Bill Blauer (Burley) and Nathan Barclay (Minico).

Second team: Francisco Enriquez (WR), Pedro Jimenez (Burley), Brian Wickham (Jerome) and Trent Raff (Minico).

Outside linebacker—First team: Garrett Lyons (Burley) and Matthew Fassett (Minico). Second team: Zach Leavitt and Chris Cook (Jerome).

Inside linebacker—First team: Milton Hernandez and Cody McCoy (Jerome), and Joey Chavez (Minico).

Second team: Clayton Jenson and Tyler Peters (WR), and Steven Patterson (Burley).

Defensive back—First team: Devon Molitor and Zach Ingraham (Jerome), and David Griffin (Minico).

Second team: Michale Brunker (WR), Jake Hruza (Minico) and Jaram Jones (Burley).

Special teams

Punter—First team: Coltin Johnson (Minico). Second team: Kris Bos (Jerome).

Placekicker—First team: Coltin Johnson (Minico). Second team: Sergio Mendoza (Jerome).

Return specialist—First team: Teegan Bingham (Burley). Second team: Landon Barnes (Minico).

Honorable mention

From Wood River: Luke McNees and Rafael Barriga.

From Jerome: Aaron Jackson, Wade Bennett and Eric Novis. From Minico: Shad Hubsmith. From Burley: Nestor Casmona, Adrian Quiroz, Brian Guerrero, Greg Andreason and Kordell Koepnick.

 Local Weather 
Search archives:

Copyright © 2021 Express Publishing Inc.   Terms of Use   Privacy Policy
All Rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Express Publishing Inc. is prohibited. 

The Idaho Mountain Express is distributed free to residents and guests throughout the Sun Valley, Idaho resort area community. Subscribers to the Idaho Mountain Express will read these stories and others in this week's issue.